We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Don't close your eyes: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017
Language:
English
Description
"A juicy, powerful read featuring twin sisters who have drifted apart, and the shocking family secrets that bind them--for readers of The Woman in Cabin 10 and I Let You Go When the past knocks, someone must answer. In a bustling suburban neighborhood in Manchester, England, sits an unassuming house. There is no sign of life behind the unwashed windows, but Robin Marshall is inside. Driven by fears and obsessions, racked by anxiety, Robin is frantically pushing her body through punishing workouts, eating little, haunted by what happened to her family when she was a girl. Robin's only connection to the outside world is through her rear windows and the lives she spies upon in the apartment house across the way. Then a stranger starts pounding on her door. Sarah Marshall is Robin's twin, estranged from her sister after their parents' betrayal and a violation at the hands of a man she should have been able to trust. Sarah has recently lost custody of the child she loves more than anything and has set off on her own, hoping that somewhere in England she can find Robin, the braver twin, the rock star, the survivor, the savior. These two young women, polar opposites, cannot go on unless they reckon with the past. While Sarah, slowly unraveling, searches for her sister's hiding place, Robin sees another life hanging in the balance in the lighted windows across the street. It is a life only Robin can save--as long as she never looks away. In a novel that is stunning in its twists, shocks, and gripping psychological suspense, two sisters find themselves on the razor's edge of sanity. Untold secrets, a ghastly lie, and suffocating guilt hold them back. Only one astounding act can set them free. And one last revelation will leave readers gasping in surprise. Advance praise for Don't Close Your Eyes "[A] smartly plotted psychological thriller. [Holly] Seddon skillfully pieces together the now-estranged twins' lives. Plenty of last-minute bombshells await."--Publishers Weekly Praise for Holly Seddon's Try Not to Breathe "A razor-sharp, fast-paced plot and wonderfully complex characters. Not since The Girl on the Train have I been so captivated by a work of suspense."--Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of I Know a Secret "Delivers the high-quality thrills and intriguing characters that readers demand in the best of psychological thrillers."--Associated Press "A fast-paced debut about long-buried secrets and tangled truths."--Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author of Where They Found Her "Try not to breathe, try not to make plans, try not to commit to anything in fact till you have finished [Holly Seddon's] debut novel, because we must warn you now--you'll be fully hooked from page one."--Glamour (U.K.) "Fascinating. Seddon's storytelling skills are strong and the book is engrossing."--Kirkus Reviews "A brilliant, beautifully written thriller."--Augusten Burroughs, New York Times bestselling author of Running with Scissors "This gripping thriller about family and redemption will keep readers engaged to the very end."--Publishers Weekly"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781101885895
9780525492290
9781101885901
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDdaff538e-3687-b339-fe1c-15b0ada364c1
Grouping Titledon t close your eyes
Grouping Authorholly seddon
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-08-12 02:08:30AM
Last Indexed2022-08-12 02:50:01AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Seddon, Holly
author_display
Seddon, Holly
available_at_catalog
Elk Grove
Isleton
South Natomas
detailed_location_catalog
Elk Grove
Isleton
South Natomas
display_description
"A juicy, powerful read featuring twin sisters who have drifted apart, and the shocking family secrets that bind them--for readers of The Woman in Cabin 10 and I Let You Go When the past knocks, someone must answer. In a bustling suburban neighborhood in Manchester, England, sits an unassuming house. There is no sign of life behind the unwashed windows, but Robin Marshall is inside. Driven by fears and obsessions, racked by anxiety, Robin is frantically pushing her body through punishing workouts, eating little, haunted by what happened to her family when she was a girl. Robin's only connection to the outside world is through her rear windows and the lives she spies upon in the apartment house across the way. Then a stranger starts pounding on her door. Sarah Marshall is Robin's twin, estranged from her sister after their parents' betrayal and a violation at the hands of a man she should have been able to trust. Sarah has recently lost custody of the child she loves more than anything and has set off on her own, hoping that somewhere in England she can find Robin, the braver twin, the rock star, the survivor, the savior. These two young women, polar opposites, cannot go on unless they reckon with the past. While Sarah, slowly unraveling, searches for her sister's hiding place, Robin sees another life hanging in the balance in the lighted windows across the street. It is a life only Robin can save--as long as she never looks away. In a novel that is stunning in its twists, shocks, and gripping psychological suspense, two sisters find themselves on the razor's edge of sanity. Untold secrets, a ghastly lie, and suffocating guilt hold them back. Only one astounding act can set them free. And one last revelation will leave readers gasping in surprise. Advance praise for Don't Close Your Eyes "[A] smartly plotted psychological thriller. [Holly] Seddon skillfully pieces together the now-estranged twins' lives. Plenty of last-minute bombshells await."--Publishers Weekly Praise for Holly Seddon's Try Not to Breathe "A razor-sharp, fast-paced plot and wonderfully complex characters. Not since The Girl on the Train have I been so captivated by a work of suspense."--Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of I Know a Secret "Delivers the high-quality thrills and intriguing characters that readers demand in the best of psychological thrillers."--Associated Press "A fast-paced debut about long-buried secrets and tangled truths."--Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author of Where They Found Her "Try not to breathe, try not to make plans, try not to commit to anything in fact till you have finished [Holly Seddon's] debut novel, because we must warn you now--you'll be fully hooked from page one."--Glamour (U.K.) "Fascinating. Seddon's storytelling skills are strong and the book is engrossing."--Kirkus Reviews "A brilliant, beautifully written thriller."--Augusten Burroughs, New York Times bestselling author of Running with Scissors "This gripping thriller about family and redemption will keep readers engaged to the very end."--Publishers Weekly"--
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
daff538e-3687-b339-fe1c-15b0ada364c1
isbn
9780525492290
9781101885895
9781101885901
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2022-08-12T09:50:01.356Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Seddon, H.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Elk Grove
Isleton
South Natomas
primary_isbn
9781101885895
publishDate
2017
publisher
Ballantine Books
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
Random House Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Family secrets -- Fiction
Mystery fiction
Psychological fiction
Suspense fiction
Twin sisters -- Fiction
title_display
Don't close your eyes : a novel
title_full
Don't Close Your Eyes A Novel
Don't close your eyes : a novel / Holly Seddon
title_short
Don't close your eyes
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Family secrets
Fiction
Literature
Suspense
Thriller
Twin sisters

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:c8cb010d-abd8-48a0-bda6-6004368a4dfc-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:83896e9b-5765-4afe-ad08-a325b358ee91-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b2486383x.i7633000xElk GroveFICTION Seddon, H.1falsefalseOn Shelfelkag
ils:.b2486383x.i76329975South NatomasFICTION Seddon, H.1falsefalseOn Shelfnatag
ils:.b2486383x.i76330011IsletonFICTION Seddon, H.1falsefalseOn Shelfislag

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:c8cb010d-abd8-48a0-bda6-6004368a4dfceBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2017
overdrive:83896e9b-5765-4afe-ad08-a325b358ee91eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2017
ils:.b2486383xBookBooksFirst editionEnglishBallantine Books2017322 pages ; 25 cm

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:c8cb010d-abd8-48a0-bda6-6004368a4dfc-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:83896e9b-5765-4afe-ad08-a325b358ee91-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b2486383x.i7633000xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b2486383x.i76329975On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b2486383x.i76330011On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911