Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Don't close your eyes: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description
"A juicy, powerful read featuring twin sisters who have drifted apart, and the shocking family secrets that bind them--for readers of The Woman in Cabin 10 and I Let You Go When the past knocks, someone must answer. In a bustling suburban neighborhood in Manchester, England, sits an unassuming house. There is no sign of life behind the unwashed windows, but Robin Marshall is inside. Driven by fears and obsessions, racked by anxiety, Robin is frantically pushing her body through punishing workouts, eating little, haunted by what happened to her family when she was a girl. Robin's only connection to the outside world is through her rear windows and the lives she spies upon in the apartment house across the way. Then a stranger starts pounding on her door. Sarah Marshall is Robin's twin, estranged from her sister after their parents' betrayal and a violation at the hands of a man she should have been able to trust. Sarah has recently lost custody of the child she loves more than anything and has set off on her own, hoping that somewhere in England she can find Robin, the braver twin, the rock star, the survivor, the savior. These two young women, polar opposites, cannot go on unless they reckon with the past. While Sarah, slowly unraveling, searches for her sister's hiding place, Robin sees another life hanging in the balance in the lighted windows across the street. It is a life only Robin can save--as long as she never looks away. In a novel that is stunning in its twists, shocks, and gripping psychological suspense, two sisters find themselves on the razor's edge of sanity. Untold secrets, a ghastly lie, and suffocating guilt hold them back. Only one astounding act can set them free. And one last revelation will leave readers gasping in surprise. Advance praise for Don't Close Your Eyes "[A] smartly plotted psychological thriller. [Holly] Seddon skillfully pieces together the now-estranged twins' lives. Plenty of last-minute bombshells await."--Publishers Weekly Praise for Holly Seddon's Try Not to Breathe "A razor-sharp, fast-paced plot and wonderfully complex characters. Not since The Girl on the Train have I been so captivated by a work of suspense."--Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of I Know a Secret "Delivers the high-quality thrills and intriguing characters that readers demand in the best of psychological thrillers."--Associated Press "A fast-paced debut about long-buried secrets and tangled truths."--Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author of Where They Found Her "Try not to breathe, try not to make plans, try not to commit to anything in fact till you have finished [Holly Seddon's] debut novel, because we must warn you now--you'll be fully hooked from page one."--Glamour (U.K.) "Fascinating. Seddon's storytelling skills are strong and the book is engrossing."--Kirkus Reviews "A brilliant, beautifully written thriller."--Augusten Burroughs, New York Times bestselling author of Running with Scissors "This gripping thriller about family and redemption will keep readers engaged to the very end."--Publishers Weekly"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781101885895
9780525492290
9781101885901
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDdaff538e-3687-b339-fe1c-15b0ada364c1
Grouping Titledon t close your eyes
Grouping Authorholly seddon
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-09-16 02:30:25AM
Last Indexed2021-09-16 03:07:33AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781101885895

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorHolly Seddon
author_displaySeddon, Holly
available_at_catalogIsleton
Martin Luther King Jr.
Rio Linda
detailed_location_catalogIsleton
Martin Luther King, Jr.
Rio Linda
display_description"A juicy, powerful read featuring twin sisters who have drifted apart, and the shocking family secrets that bind them--for readers of The Woman in Cabin 10 and I Let You Go When the past knocks, someone must answer. In a bustling suburban neighborhood in Manchester, England, sits an unassuming house. There is no sign of life behind the unwashed windows, but Robin Marshall is inside. Driven by fears and obsessions, racked by anxiety, Robin is frantically pushing her body through punishing workouts, eating little, haunted by what happened to her family when she was a girl. Robin's only connection to the outside world is through her rear windows and the lives she spies upon in the apartment house across the way. Then a stranger starts pounding on her door. Sarah Marshall is Robin's twin, estranged from her sister after their parents' betrayal and a violation at the hands of a man she should have been able to trust. Sarah has recently lost custody of the child she loves more than anything and has set off on her own, hoping that somewhere in England she can find Robin, the braver twin, the rock star, the survivor, the savior. These two young women, polar opposites, cannot go on unless they reckon with the past. While Sarah, slowly unraveling, searches for her sister's hiding place, Robin sees another life hanging in the balance in the lighted windows across the street. It is a life only Robin can save--as long as she never looks away. In a novel that is stunning in its twists, shocks, and gripping psychological suspense, two sisters find themselves on the razor's edge of sanity. Untold secrets, a ghastly lie, and suffocating guilt hold them back. Only one astounding act can set them free. And one last revelation will leave readers gasping in surprise. Advance praise for Don't Close Your Eyes "[A] smartly plotted psychological thriller. [Holly] Seddon skillfully pieces together the now-estranged twins' lives. Plenty of last-minute bombshells await."--Publishers Weekly Praise for Holly Seddon's Try Not to Breathe "A razor-sharp, fast-paced plot and wonderfully complex characters. Not since The Girl on the Train have I been so captivated by a work of suspense."--Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of I Know a Secret "Delivers the high-quality thrills and intriguing characters that readers demand in the best of psychological thrillers."--Associated Press "A fast-paced debut about long-buried secrets and tangled truths."--Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author of Where They Found Her "Try not to breathe, try not to make plans, try not to commit to anything in fact till you have finished [Holly Seddon's] debut novel, because we must warn you now--you'll be fully hooked from page one."--Glamour (U.K.) "Fascinating. Seddon's storytelling skills are strong and the book is engrossing."--Kirkus Reviews "A brilliant, beautifully written thriller."--Augusten Burroughs, New York Times bestselling author of Running with Scissors "This gripping thriller about family and redemption will keep readers engaged to the very end."--Publishers Weekly"--
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
iddaff538e-3687-b339-fe1c-15b0ada364c1
isbn9780525492290
9781101885895
9781101885901
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:c8cb010d-abd8-48a0-bda6-6004368a4dfc-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:83896e9b-5765-4afe-ad08-a325b358ee91-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b2486383x.i7633000xMartin Luther King, Jr.FICTION Seddon, H.1falsefalseOn Shelfkinag
ils:.b2486383x.i76329975Rio LindaFICTION Seddon, H.1falsefalseOn Shelfrioag
ils:.b2486383x.i76330011IsletonFICTION Seddon, H.1falsefalseOn Shelfislag
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-09-16T10:07:33.547Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Seddon, H.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogIsleton
Martin Luther King Jr.
Rio Linda
primary_isbn9781101885895
publishDate2017
publisherBallantine Books,
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
Random House Publishing Group
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:c8cb010d-abd8-48a0-bda6-6004368a4dfceBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2017
overdrive:83896e9b-5765-4afe-ad08-a325b358ee91eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2017
ils:.b2486383xBookBooksFirst edition.EnglishBallantine Books, 2017.322 pages ; 25 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:c8cb010d-abd8-48a0-bda6-6004368a4dfc-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:83896e9b-5765-4afe-ad08-a325b358ee91-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b2486383x.i7633000xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b2486383x.i76329975On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b2486383x.i76330011On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
subject_facetFamily secrets -- Fiction
Mystery fiction
Psychological fiction
Suspense fiction
Twin sisters -- Fiction
title_displayDon't close your eyes : a novel
title_fullDon't Close Your Eyes A Novel
Don't close your eyes : a novel / Holly Seddon
title_shortDon't close your eyes
title_suba novel
topic_facetFamily secrets
Fiction
Literature
Suspense
Thriller
Twin sisters