Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The luster of lost things

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"A fablelike debut for readers of Mark Haddon's The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and Rebecca Makkai's The Borrower, in which a boy with an uncanny ability to find lost objects must embark on his most important search yet in order to save his mother's enchanted dessert shop, the only place he's ever called home. There's only one place in the world that lonely twelve-year-old Walter Lavender Jr. feels at home: The Lavenders, his mother's unusual West Village dessert shop, where meringues scud through displays like clouds, marzipan dragons breathe actual fire, and the airy angel food cake can make customers pounds lighter. When the mysterious and magical Book at the heart of the shop vanishes and a landlord threatens closure, it's up to Walter to find the Book and save the shop. Despite--or because of--a communication disorder that renders him speechless and friendless, Walter has a special ability to find lost things. In fact, the only thing he's failed to find is his father, a pilot lost in a presumed plane crash at sea before Walter was born. Accompanied by Milton, his best friend and overweight golden retriever, Walter's quest will take him around and under New York City, into subway tunnels and soaring over Central Park, from bottle collecting in Chinatown to racing through the Met, and introduce him to the extraordinary and forgotten people of this fantastical city. Along the way he will discover his voice and learn what it means to truly be found"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780735210783
9780735210806
9781524775780
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDd0d9bbc0-7966-e32e-7d87-0525105a4ed4
Grouping Titleluster of lost things
Grouping Authorsophie chen keller
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-23 02:27:19AM
Last Indexed2020-09-23 03:41:21AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorSophie Chen Keller
author_displayKeller, Sophie Chen
available_at_catalogElk Grove
North Natomas
detailed_location_catalogArcade
Elk Grove
McKinley
North Natomas
display_description"A fablelike debut for readers of Mark Haddon's The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and Rebecca Makkai's The Borrower, in which a boy with an uncanny ability to find lost objects must embark on his most important search yet in order to save his mother's enchanted dessert shop, the only place he's ever called home. There's only one place in the world that lonely twelve-year-old Walter Lavender Jr. feels at home: The Lavenders, his mother's unusual West Village dessert shop, where meringues scud through displays like clouds, marzipan dragons breathe actual fire, and the airy angel food cake can make customers pounds lighter. When the mysterious and magical Book at the heart of the shop vanishes and a landlord threatens closure, it's up to Walter to find the Book and save the shop. Despite--or because of--a communication disorder that renders him speechless and friendless, Walter has a special ability to find lost things. In fact, the only thing he's failed to find is his father, a pilot lost in a presumed plane crash at sea before Walter was born. Accompanied by Milton, his best friend and overweight golden retriever, Walter's quest will take him around and under New York City, into subway tunnels and soaring over Central Park, from bottle collecting in Chinatown to racing through the Met, and introduce him to the extraordinary and forgotten people of this fantastical city. Along the way he will discover his voice and learn what it means to truly be found"--
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
idd0d9bbc0-7966-e32e-7d87-0525105a4ed4
isbn9780735210783
9780735210806
9781524775780
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b24922225.i76432282North NatomasFICTION Keller, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
ils:.b24922225.i76432294McKinleyFICTION Keller, S.1falsefalseDue Oct 31, 2020mckag
ils:.b24922225.i76432270Elk GroveFICTION Keller, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfelkag
ils:.b24922225.i76432269ArcadeFICTION Keller, S.1falsefalseCheck Shelfarcag
overdrive:ba406690-e1ed-4613-8719-d34055244c88-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:31de9454-c297-4266-b26f-59e804db05dc-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2020-09-23T10:41:21.032Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Keller, S.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogArcade
Elk Grove
McKinley
North Natomas
primary_isbn9780735210783
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b24922225BookBooksEnglishG.P. Putnam's Sons, [2017]324 pages ; 21 cm
overdrive:ba406690-e1ed-4613-8719-d34055244c88eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2017
overdrive:31de9454-c297-4266-b26f-59e804db05dceBookeBookEnglishPenguin Publishing Group2017
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b24922225.i76432282On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24922225.i76432294Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24922225.i76432270On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24922225.i76432269Currently UnavailableCheck Shelffalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
overdrive:ba406690-e1ed-4613-8719-d34055244c88-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:31de9454-c297-4266-b26f-59e804db05dc-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetAutism -- Fiction
Bildungsromans
Boys -- Fiction
Dogs -- Fiction
Fantastic fiction
title_displayThe luster of lost things
title_fullThe Luster of Lost Things
The luster of lost things / Sophie Chen Keller
title_shortThe luster of lost things
topic_facetAutism
Boys
Dogs
Fantasy
Fiction
Literature
Mystery