Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Lady of the English

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

From USA Today bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick comes a gripping, never-before-told, medieval battle of the sexes

Matilda, daughter of Henry I, knows that there are those who will not accept her as England's queen when her father dies. But the men who support her rival, and cousin, Stephen do not know the iron will that drives her. She will win her inheritance against all odds, and despite all men.

Adeliza, Henry's widowed queen and Matilda's stepmother, is now married to William D'Albini, a warrior who is fighting to keep Matilda off the throne. But Adeliza, born with a strength that can sustain her through heartrending pain, knows that the crown belongs to a woman this time.

Both women will stand and fight for what they know is right. But for Matilda, pride comes before a fall. And for Adeliza, even the deepest love is no proof against fate.

Written with vivid detail and great historical accuracy, Lady of the English is a captivating historical novel of Medieval England. Fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, Sharon Kay Penman, and Bernard Cornwall will be spellbound by this well-crafted story of Henry I's daughter, his widow, and their alliance and perseverance as they fight for the rightful heir to the crown—a woman!

What reviewers are saying about Lady of the English"Lady of the English is a riveting historical fiction novel with thrilling drama and characters that fairly leap off of the page."—Laura's Reviews"A detailed and very readable medieval era novel full of political intrigue and fascinating depictions of the people surrounding the throne of England."—Historical-Fiction.com"The story is vividly described with a depth of historical detail that is rarely matched by other novelists in the genre."—Historical Novel Review Blog

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9781402250927
9781402250934
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDcfd4c326-09e5-9d3c-1474-051d93d612ae
Grouping Titlelady of the english
Grouping Authorelizabeth chadwick
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-22 02:28:14AM
Last Indexed2020-10-22 02:54:53AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorChadwick, Elizabeth.
author2-rolehoopla digital.
author_displayChadwick, Elizabeth
available_at_catalogSouth Natomas
detailed_location_catalogSouth Natomas
display_description

From USA Today bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick comes a gripping, never-before-told, medieval battle of the sexes

Matilda, daughter of Henry I, knows that there are those who will not accept her as England's queen when her father dies. But the men who support her rival, and cousin, Stephen do not know the iron will that drives her. She will win her inheritance against all odds, and despite all men.

Adeliza, Henry's widowed queen and Matilda's stepmother, is now married to William D'Albini, a warrior who is fighting to keep Matilda off the throne. But Adeliza, born with a strength that can sustain her through heartrending pain, knows that the crown belongs to a woman this time.

Both women will stand and fight for what they know is right. But for Matilda, pride comes before a fall. And for Adeliza, even the deepest love is no proof against fate.

Written with vivid detail and great historical accuracy, Lady of the English is a captivating historical novel of Medieval England. Fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, Sharon Kay Penman, and Bernard Cornwall will be spellbound by this well-crafted story of Henry I's daughter, his widow, and their alliance and perseverance as they fight for the rightful heir to the crown—a woman!

What reviewers are saying about Lady of the English
"Lady of the English is a riveting historical fiction novel with thrilling drama and characters that fairly leap off of the page."—Laura's Reviews
"A detailed and very readable medieval era novel full of political intrigue and fascinating depictions of the people surrounding the throne of England."—Historical-Fiction.com
"The story is vividly described with a depth of historical detail that is rarely matched by other novelists in the genre."—Historical Novel Review Blog

format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
idcfd4c326-09e5-9d3c-1474-051d93d612ae
isbn9781402250927
9781402250934
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:8e3cd129-35e3-40a0-b011-931dc5cedf92-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b20709638.i64498347South NatomasFICTION Chadwick, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfnatag
hoopla:MWT11433673Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11433673Available Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2020-10-22T09:54:53.492Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Chadwick, E.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogSouth Natomas
primary_isbn9781402250927
publishDate2011
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:8e3cd129-35e3-40a0-b011-931dc5cedf92eBookeBookEnglishSourcebooks2011
ils:.b20709638BookBooksEnglishSourcebooks Landmark, c2011.514 p. : geneal. table, maps ; 21 cm.
hoopla:MWT11433673eBookeBookEnglishSourcebooks Inc, 2011.1 online resource
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:8e3cd129-35e3-40a0-b011-931dc5cedf92-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b20709638.i64498347On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
hoopla:MWT11433673Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetElectronic books
Empresses -- Fiction
Fathers and daughters -- Fiction
Great Britain -- History -- 12th century -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Kings and rulers -- Succession -- Fiction
Queens -- Fiction
Widows -- Fiction
title_displayLady of the English
title_fullLady of the English
Lady of the English / Elizabeth Chadwick
Lady of the English [electronic resource] / Elizabeth Chadwick
title_shortLady of the English
topic_facetElectronic books
Empresses
Fathers and daughters
Fiction
Historical Fiction
History
Kings and rulers
Literature
Queens
Succession
Widows