Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Mademoiselle Chanel: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(3)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

For readers of The Paris Wife and Z comes this vivid novel full of drama, passion, tragedy, and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel—the ambitious, gifted laundrywoman's daughter who revolutionized fashion, built an international empire, and become one of the most influential and controversial figures of the twentieth century.

Born into rural poverty, Gabrielle Chanel and her siblings are sent to orphanage after their mother's death. The sisters nurture Gabrielle's exceptional sewing skills, a talent that will propel the willful young woman into a life far removed from the drudgery of her childhood.

Transforming herself into Coco—a seamstress and sometime torch singer—the petite brunette burns with ambition, an incandescence that draws a wealthy gentleman who will become the love of her life. She immerses herself in his world of money and luxury, discovering a freedom that sparks her creativity. But it is only when her lover takes her to Paris that Coco discovers her destiny.

Rejecting the frilly, corseted silhouette of the past, her sleek, minimalist styles reflect the youthful ease and confidence of the 1920s modern woman. As Coco's reputation spreads, her couturier business explodes, taking her into rarefied society circles and bohemian salons. But her fame and fortune cannot save her from heartbreak as the years pass. And when Paris falls to the Nazis, Coco is forced to make choices that will haunt her.

An enthralling novel of an extraordinary woman who created the life she desired, Mademoiselle Chanel explores the inner world of a woman of staggering ambition whose strength, passion and artistic vision would become her trademark.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780062356406
9780062356437
9780062373786
9780062356444
9781410480132
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDcd2c2dcf-b0c4-a9f6-7ce1-04977ef29529
Grouping Titlemademoiselle chanel
Grouping Authorc w gortner
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-09-16 02:30:25AM
Last Indexed2021-09-16 03:06:40AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780062356406

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Gibel, Rebecca.
authorGortner, C. W.,
author2-roleGibel, Rebecca.|Narrator
hoopla digital.
author_displayGortner, C. W
available_at_catalogCentral
Fair Oaks
Galt
Martin Luther King Jr.
Southgate
Sylvan Oaks
detailed_location_catalogCentral
Fair Oaks
Galt
Martin Luther King, Jr.
Southgate
Sylvan Oaks
display_description

For readers of The Paris Wife and Z comes this vivid novel full of drama, passion, tragedy, and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel—the ambitious, gifted laundrywoman's daughter who revolutionized fashion, built an international empire, and become one of the most influential and controversial figures of the twentieth century.

Born into rural poverty, Gabrielle Chanel and her siblings are sent to orphanage after their mother's death. The sisters nurture Gabrielle's exceptional sewing skills, a talent that will propel the willful young woman into a life far removed from the drudgery of her childhood.

Transforming herself into Coco—a seamstress and sometime torch singer—the petite brunette burns with ambition, an incandescence that draws a wealthy gentleman who will become the love of her life. She immerses herself in his world of money and luxury, discovering a freedom that sparks her creativity. But it is only when her lover takes her to Paris that Coco discovers her destiny.

Rejecting the frilly, corseted silhouette of the past, her sleek, minimalist styles reflect the youthful ease and confidence of the 1920s modern woman. As Coco's reputation spreads, her couturier business explodes, taking her into rarefied society circles and bohemian salons. But her fame and fortune cannot save her from heartbreak as the years pass. And when Paris falls to the Nazis, Coco is forced to make choices that will haunt her.

An enthralling novel of an extraordinary woman who created the life she desired, Mademoiselle Chanel explores the inner world of a woman of staggering ambition whose strength, passion and artistic vision would become her trademark.

format_catalogBook
Large Print
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
idcd2c2dcf-b0c4-a9f6-7ce1-04977ef29529
isbn9780062356406
9780062356437
9780062356444
9780062373786
9781410480132
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b23696692.i72287561Sylvan OaksLARGE PRINT FICTION Gortner, C.1falsefalseOn Shelfsylag
ils:.b23696692.i72287536CentralLARGE PRINT FICTION Gortner, C.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b23696692.i72287548Fair OaksLARGE PRINT FICTION Gortner, C.1falsefalseOn Shelffaiag
ils:.b23696692.i7228755xSouthgateLARGE PRINT FICTION Gortner, C.1falsefalseOn Shelfsouag
ils:.b23696692.i72287573Martin Luther King, Jr.LARGE PRINT FICTION Gortner, C.1falsefalseOn Shelfkinag
hoopla:MWT11588059Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11588059?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:f6dabe63-57b0-4355-94ac-4d45f52a0c22-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
overdrive:7499ac17-e2d4-4169-a378-dfbcd20b1337-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT12345311Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12345311Available Online
ils:.b23534588.i71723596Fair OaksFICTION Gortner, C.1falsefalseOn Shelffaiag
ils:.b23534588.i71723584GaltFICTION Gortner, C.1falsefalseOn Shelfgalag
itype_catalogAdu Large Print
Adult Fiction
last_indexed2021-09-16T10:06:40.152Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Gortner, C.
LARGE PRINT FICTION Gortner, C.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCentral
Fair Oaks
Galt
Martin Luther King Jr.
Southgate
Sylvan Oaks
primary_isbn9780062356406
publishDate2015
publisherHarper Collins Publishers,
HarperAudio
HarperAudio,
Thorndike Press,
William Morrow
William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b23696692Large PrintBooksLarge print edition.EnglishThorndike Press, 2015.685 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.
hoopla:MWT11588059eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishHarperAudio, 2015.1 online resource (1 audio file (14hr., 57 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:f6dabe63-57b0-4355-94ac-4d45f52a0c22eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishHarperAudio2015
overdrive:7499ac17-e2d4-4169-a378-dfbcd20b1337eBookeBookEnglishWilliam Morrow2015
hoopla:MWT12345311eBookeBookEnglishHarper Collins Publishers, 2015.1 online resource
ils:.b23534588BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishWilliam Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2015]406 pages ; 24 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b23696692.i72287561On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b23696692.i72287536On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b23696692.i72287548On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b23696692.i7228755xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b23696692.i72287573On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
hoopla:MWT11588059Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:f6dabe63-57b0-4355-94ac-4d45f52a0c22-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:7499ac17-e2d4-4169-a378-dfbcd20b1337-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT12345311Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b23534588.i71723596On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b23534588.i71723584On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
subject_facetBiographical fiction
Chanel, Coco, -- 1883-1971 -- Fiction
Clothing trade -- Fiction
Electronic books
Fashion designers -- Fiction
Fashion designers -- France -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Large type books
Paris (France) -- Fiction
Paris (France) -- History -- 20th century -- Fiction
Rich people -- Fiction
Sisters -- Fiction
title_displayMademoiselle Chanel
title_fullMademoiselle Chanel
Mademoiselle Chanel / C.W. Gortner
Mademoiselle Chanel : a novel [electronic resource] / C.W. Gortner
Mademoiselle Chanel A Novel
Mademoiselle Chanel [text (large print)] / C.W. Gortner
Mademoiselle chanel [electronic resource] / C.W. Gortner
title_shortMademoiselle Chanel
title_suba novel
topic_facetChanel, Coco
Clothing trade
Electronic books
Fashion designers
Fiction
Historical Fiction
History
Literature
Rich people
Sisters