We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Mademoiselle Chanel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(3)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

For readers of The Paris Wife and Z comes this vivid novel full of drama, passion, tragedy, and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel—the ambitious, gifted laundrywoman's daughter who revolutionized fashion, built an international empire, and become one of the most influential and controversial figures of the twentieth century.

Born into rural poverty, Gabrielle Chanel and her siblings are sent to orphanage after their mother's death. The sisters nurture Gabrielle's exceptional sewing skills, a talent that will propel the willful young woman into a life far removed from the drudgery of her childhood.

Transforming herself into Coco—a seamstress and sometime torch singer—the petite brunette burns with ambition, an incandescence that draws a wealthy gentleman who will become the love of her life. She immerses herself in his world of money and luxury, discovering a freedom that sparks her creativity. But it is only when her lover takes her to Paris that Coco discovers her destiny.

Rejecting the frilly, corseted silhouette of the past, her sleek, minimalist styles reflect the youthful ease and confidence of the 1920s modern woman. As Coco's reputation spreads, her couturier business explodes, taking her into rarefied society circles and bohemian salons. But her fame and fortune cannot save her from heartbreak as the years pass. And when Paris falls to the Nazis, Coco is forced to make choices that will haunt her.

An enthralling novel of an extraordinary woman who created the life she desired, Mademoiselle Chanel explores the inner world of a woman of staggering ambition whose strength, passion and artistic vision would become her trademark.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780062356406
9780062356437
9780062373786
9780062356444
9781410480132
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDcd2c2dcf-b0c4-a9f6-7ce1-04977ef29529
Grouping Titlemademoiselle chanel
Grouping Authorc w gortner
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-08-17 02:08:20AM
Last Indexed2022-08-17 02:43:34AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Gibel, Rebecca
author
Gortner, C. W.
author2-role
Gibel, Rebecca.|Narrator
hoopla digital
author_display
Gortner, C. W.
available_at_catalog
Central
Fair Oaks
Galt
Martin Luther King Jr.
North Natomas
Southgate
detailed_location_catalog
Central
Fair Oaks
Galt
Martin Luther King, Jr.
North Natomas
Southgate
Valley Hi-North Laguna
display_description

For readers of The Paris Wife and Z comes this vivid novel full of drama, passion, tragedy, and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel—the ambitious, gifted laundrywoman's daughter who revolutionized fashion, built an international empire, and become one of the most influential and controversial figures of the twentieth century.

Born into rural poverty, Gabrielle Chanel and her siblings are sent to orphanage after their mother's death. The sisters nurture Gabrielle's exceptional sewing skills, a talent that will propel the willful young woman into a life far removed from the drudgery of her childhood.

Transforming herself into Coco—a seamstress and sometime torch singer—the petite brunette burns with ambition, an incandescence that draws a wealthy gentleman who will become the love of her life. She immerses herself in his world of money and luxury, discovering a freedom that sparks her creativity. But it is only when her lover takes her to Paris that Coco discovers her destiny.

Rejecting the frilly, corseted silhouette of the past, her sleek, minimalist styles reflect the youthful ease and confidence of the 1920s modern woman. As Coco's reputation spreads, her couturier business explodes, taking her into rarefied society circles and bohemian salons. But her fame and fortune cannot save her from heartbreak as the years pass. And when Paris falls to the Nazis, Coco is forced to make choices that will haunt her.

An enthralling novel of an extraordinary woman who created the life she desired, Mademoiselle Chanel explores the inner world of a woman of staggering ambition whose strength, passion and artistic vision would become her trademark.

format_catalog
Book
Large Print
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
cd2c2dcf-b0c4-a9f6-7ce1-04977ef29529
isbn
9780062356406
9780062356437
9780062356444
9780062373786
9781410480132
itype_catalog
Adu Large Print
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2022-08-17T09:43:34.933Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Gortner, C.
LARGE PRINT FICTION Gortner, C.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Central
Fair Oaks
Galt
Martin Luther King Jr.
North Natomas
Southgate
Valley Hi-North Laguna
primary_isbn
9780062356406
publishDate
2015
publisher
HarperAudio
HarperCollins
HarperCollins Publishers
Thorndike Press
William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Biographical fiction
Chanel, Coco, -- 1883-1971 -- Fiction
Clothing trade -- Fiction
Electronic books
Fashion designers -- Fiction
Fashion designers -- France -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Large type books
Paris (France) -- Fiction
Paris (France) -- History -- 20th century -- Fiction
Rich people -- Fiction
Sisters -- Fiction
title_display
Mademoiselle Chanel
title_full
Mademoiselle Chanel
Mademoiselle Chanel / C.W. Gortner
Mademoiselle Chanel : a novel [electronic resource] / C.W. Gortner
Mademoiselle Chanel A Novel
Mademoiselle Chanel [text (large print)] / C.W. Gortner
Mademoiselle chanel [electronic resource] / C.W. Gortner
title_short
Mademoiselle Chanel
topic_facet
Chanel, Coco
Clothing trade
Electronic books
Fashion designers
Fiction
Historical Fiction
History
Literature
Rich people
Sisters

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b23696692.i72287561North NatomasLARGE PRINT FICTION Gortner, C.1falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
ils:.b23696692.i72287573Martin Luther King, Jr.LARGE PRINT FICTION Gortner, C.1falsefalseOn Shelfkinag
ils:.b23696692.i72287536CentralLARGE PRINT FICTION Gortner, C.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b23696692.i7228755xSouthgateLARGE PRINT FICTION Gortner, C.1falsefalseOn Shelfsouag
ils:.b23696692.i72287548Fair OaksLARGE PRINT FICTION Gortner, C.1falsefalseOn Shelffaiag
hoopla:MWT11588059Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11588059?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:f6dabe63-57b0-4355-94ac-4d45f52a0c22-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:7499ac17-e2d4-4169-a378-dfbcd20b1337-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT12345311Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12345311?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b23534588.i71723596Valley Hi-North LagunaFICTION Gortner, C.1falsefalseDue Aug 27, 2022valag
ils:.b23534588.i71723584GaltFICTION Gortner, C.1falsefalseOn Shelfgalag

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b23696692Large PrintBooksLarge print editionEnglishThorndike Press2015685 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.
hoopla:MWT11588059eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishHarperAudio20151 online resource (1 audio file (14hr., 56 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:f6dabe63-57b0-4355-94ac-4d45f52a0c22eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishHarperAudio2015
overdrive:7499ac17-e2d4-4169-a378-dfbcd20b1337eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2015
hoopla:MWT12345311eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins Publishers20151 online resource
ils:.b23534588BookBooksFirst editionEnglishWilliam Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers[2015]406 pages ; 24 cm

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b23696692.i72287561On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b23696692.i72287573On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b23696692.i72287536On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b23696692.i7228755xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b23696692.i72287548On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
hoopla:MWT11588059Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:f6dabe63-57b0-4355-94ac-4d45f52a0c22-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:7499ac17-e2d4-4169-a378-dfbcd20b1337-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT12345311Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b23534588.i71723596Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b23534588.i71723584On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911