We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Water ghosts: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2009
Language:
English
Description
A mesmerizing debut novel that weaves history and mythology around a community of Chinese immigrants and the ghosts that haunt them
Locke, California, 1928. Three bedraggled Chinese women appear out of the mist in a small Chinese farming town on the Sacramento River. Two are unknown to its residents, while the third is the long-lost wife of Richard Fong, the handsome manager of the local gambling parlor. As the lives of the townspeople become inextricably intertwined with the newly arrived women, their frightening power is finally revealed.
A lyrical imagining of what happens when a Chinese ghost story comes true, Water Ghosts is a rich tale of human passions and mingling cultures that will appeal to readers of Lisa See, Anchin Min, and Gail Tsukiyama.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781594202070
9781400191857
9781101014462
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDccae3527-f87c-a1a8-3fec-279a9fe0efda
Grouping Titlewater ghosts
Grouping Authorshawna yang ryan
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-08-12 02:08:30AM
Last Indexed2022-08-12 02:50:01AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Merlington, Laural
author
Ryan, Shawna Yang, 1976-
author2-role
Merlington, Laural
hoopla digital
author_display
Ryan, Shawna Yang
available_at_catalog
Central
detailed_location_catalog
Central
South Natomas
Southgate
display_description
A mesmerizing debut novel that weaves history and mythology around a community of Chinese immigrants and the ghosts that haunt them
Locke, California, 1928. Three bedraggled Chinese women appear out of the mist in a small Chinese farming town on the Sacramento River. Two are unknown to its residents, while the third is the long-lost wife of Richard Fong, the handsome manager of the local gambling parlor. As the lives of the townspeople become inextricably intertwined with the newly arrived women, their frightening power is finally revealed.
A lyrical imagining of what happens when a Chinese ghost story comes true, Water Ghosts is a rich tale of human passions and mingling cultures that will appeal to readers of Lisa See, Anchin Min, and Gail Tsukiyama.
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
ccae3527-f87c-a1a8-3fec-279a9fe0efda
isbn
9781101014462
9781400191857
9781594202070
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2022-08-12T09:50:01.356Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Ryan, S.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Central
South Natomas
Southgate
primary_isbn
9781594202070
publishDate
2009
publisher
Penguin Press
Penguin Publishing Group
Tantor Media, Inc
Tantor Media, Inc.
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Chinese -- California -- Delta Region -- Fiction
Chinese fiction -- California -- Delta Region
Delta Region (Calif.) -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Immigrants -- California -- Delta Region -- Fiction
Locke (Calif.) -- Fiction
title_display
Water ghosts : a novel
title_full
Water Ghosts
Water Ghosts A Novel
Water ghosts : a novel / Shawna Yang Ryan
Water ghosts [electronic resource] / Shawna Yang Ryan
title_short
Water ghosts
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Chinese
Chinese fiction
Fantasy
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Immigrants
Literature

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:73059584-d63b-4003-8bd7-218aabc972ed-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT10756509Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/10756509?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b19379845.i58248298CentralFICTION Ryan, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b19379845.i58248274South NatomasFICTION Ryan, S.1falsefalseDue Aug 20, 2022natag
ils:.b19379845.i60451282SouthgateFICTION Ryan, S.1falsefalseDue Aug 31, 2022souag
ils:.b19379845.i63436437South NatomasFICTION Ryan, S.1falsefalseDue Aug 23, 2022natag
overdrive:bbf5c765-acae-4c63-958c-5b9092e8207a-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:73059584-d63b-4003-8bd7-218aabc972edeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishTantor Media, Inc2009
hoopla:MWT10756509eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishTantor Media, Inc20091 online resource (1 audio file (6hr., 30 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b19379845BookBooksEnglishPenguin Press2009259 p. ; 22 cm.
overdrive:bbf5c765-acae-4c63-958c-5b9092e8207aeBookeBookEnglishPenguin Publishing Group2009

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:73059584-d63b-4003-8bd7-218aabc972ed-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT10756509Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b19379845.i58248298On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b19379845.i58248274Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b19379845.i60451282Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b19379845.i63436437Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
overdrive:bbf5c765-acae-4c63-958c-5b9092e8207a-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse