Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Water ghosts: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2009.
Language:
English
Description

A mesmerizing debut novel that weaves history and mythology around a community of Chinese immigrants and the ghosts that haunt them Locke, California, 1928. Three bedraggled Chinese women appear out of the mist in a small Chinese farming town on the Sacramento River. Two are unknown to its residents, while the third is the long-lost wife of Richard Fong, the handsome manager of the local gambling parlor. As the lives of the townspeople become inextricably intertwined with the newly arrived women, their frightening power is finally revealed. A lyrical imagining of what happens when a Chinese ghost story comes true, Water Ghosts is a rich tale of human passions and mingling cultures that will appeal to readers of Lisa See, Anchin Min, and Gail Tsukiyama.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781594202070
9781400191857
9781101014462
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDccae3527-f87c-a1a8-3fec-279a9fe0efda
Grouping Titlewater ghosts
Grouping Authorshawna yang ryan
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-01-22 02:27:14AM
Last Indexed2021-01-22 02:48:06AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781594202070

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Merlington, Laural.
authorRyan, Shawna Yang, 1976-
author2-roleMerlington, Laural.
hoopla digital.
author_displayRyan, Shawna Yang
available_at_catalogArden-Dimick
Belle Cooledge
Central
Rancho Cordova
detailed_location_catalogArden-Dimick
Belle Cooledge
Central
Rancho Cordova
Southgate
display_description

A mesmerizing debut novel that weaves history and mythology around a community of Chinese immigrants and the ghosts that haunt them

Locke, California, 1928. Three bedraggled Chinese women appear out of the mist in a small Chinese farming town on the Sacramento River. Two are unknown to its residents, while the third is the long-lost wife of Richard Fong, the handsome manager of the local gambling parlor. As the lives of the townspeople become inextricably intertwined with the newly arrived women, their frightening power is finally revealed.

A lyrical imagining of what happens when a Chinese ghost story comes true, Water Ghosts is a rich tale of human passions and mingling cultures that will appeal to readers of Lisa See, Anchin Min, and Gail Tsukiyama.

format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
idccae3527-f87c-a1a8-3fec-279a9fe0efda
isbn9781101014462
9781400191857
9781594202070
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:73059584-d63b-4003-8bd7-218aabc972ed-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
hoopla:MWT10756509Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/10756509?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b19379845.i58248298CentralFICTION Ryan, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b19379845.i63436437SouthgateFICTION Ryan, S.1falsefalseDue Feb 11, 2021souag
ils:.b19379845.i58248274Rancho CordovaFICTION Ryan, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfranag
ils:.b19379845.i58248341Arden-DimickFICTION Ryan, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfardag
ils:.b19379845.i60451282Belle CooledgeFICTION Ryan, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfcooag
overdrive:bbf5c765-acae-4c63-958c-5b9092e8207a-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-01-22T10:48:06.353Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Ryan, S.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogArden-Dimick
Belle Cooledge
Central
Rancho Cordova
Southgate
primary_isbn9781594202070
publishDate2009
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:73059584-d63b-4003-8bd7-218aabc972edeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishTantor Media, Inc.2009
hoopla:MWT10756509eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishTantor Audio, 2009.1 online resource (1 audio file (6hr., 30 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b19379845BookBooksEnglishPenguin Press, 2009.259 p. ; 22 cm.
overdrive:bbf5c765-acae-4c63-958c-5b9092e8207aeBookeBookEnglishPenguin Publishing Group2009
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:73059584-d63b-4003-8bd7-218aabc972ed-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT10756509Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b19379845.i58248298On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b19379845.i63436437Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b19379845.i58248274On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b19379845.i58248341On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b19379845.i60451282On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
overdrive:bbf5c765-acae-4c63-958c-5b9092e8207a-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetChinese -- California -- Delta Region -- Fiction
Chinese fiction -- California -- Delta Region
Delta Region (Calif.) -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Immigrants -- California -- Delta Region -- Fiction
Locke (Calif.) -- Fiction
title_displayWater ghosts : a novel
title_fullWater Ghosts
Water Ghosts A Novel
Water ghosts : a novel / Shawna Yang Ryan
Water ghosts [electronic resource] / Shawna Yang Ryan
title_shortWater ghosts
title_suba novel
topic_facetChinese
Chinese fiction
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Immigrants
Literature