We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

How we learn: the surprising truth about when, where, and why it happens

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about learning and memory today—and how we can apply it to our own lives.

From an early age, it is drilled into our heads: Restlessness, distraction, and ignorance are the enemies of success. We’re told that learning is all self-discipline, that we must confine ourselves to designated study areas, turn off the music, and maintain a strict ritual if we want to ace that test, memorize that presentation, or nail that piano recital.

But what if almost everything we were told about learning is wrong? And what if there was a way to achieve more with less effort?

In How We Learn, award-winning science reporter Benedict Carey sifts through decades of education research and landmark studies to uncover the truth about how our brains absorb and retain information. What he discovers is that, from the moment we are born, we are all learning quickly, efficiently, and automatically; but in our zeal to systematize the process we have ignored valuable, naturally enjoyable learning tools like forgetting, sleeping, and daydreaming. Is a dedicated desk in a quiet room really the best way to study? Can altering your routine improve your recall? Are there times when distraction is good? Is repetition necessary? Carey’s search for answers to these questions yields a wealth of strategies that make learning more a part of our everyday lives—and less of a chore.

By road testing many of the counterintuitive techniques described in this book, Carey shows how we can flex the neural muscles that make deep learning possible. Along the way he reveals why teachers should give final exams on the first day of class, why it’s wise to interleave subjects and concepts when learning any new skill, and when it’s smarter to stay up late prepping for that presentation than to rise early for one last cram session. And if this requires some suspension of disbelief, that’s because the research defies what we’ve been told, throughout our lives, about how best to learn.

The brain is not like a muscle, at least not in any straightforward sense. It is something else altogether, sensitive to mood, to timing, to circadian rhythms, as well as to location and environment. It doesn’t take orders well, to put it mildly. If the brain is a learning machine, then it is an eccentric one. In How We Learn, Benedict Carey shows us how to exploit its quirks to our advantage.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780812993882
9780812993899
9780449807804
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDcc448d5c-2e67-1e23-f3d6-a73d30784366
Grouping Titlehow we learn the surprising truth about when where and why it happens
Grouping Authorbenedict carey
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-05-17 02:08:33AM
Last Indexed2022-05-17 02:46:32AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorCarey, Benedict
author_displayCarey, Benedict
available_at_catalogCarmichael
Pocket-Greenhaven
South Natomas
detailed_location_catalogCarmichael
Pocket-Greenhaven
South Natomas
Valley Hi-North Laguna
display_descriptionIn the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about learning and memory today—and how we can apply it to our own lives.

From an early age, it is drilled into our heads: Restlessness, distraction, and ignorance are the enemies of success. We’re told that learning is all self-discipline, that we must confine ourselves to designated study areas, turn off the music, and maintain a strict ritual if we want to ace that test, memorize that presentation, or nail that piano recital.

But what if almost everything we were told about learning is wrong? And what if there was a way to achieve more with less effort?

In How We Learn, award-winning science reporter Benedict Carey sifts through decades of education research and landmark studies to uncover the truth about how our brains absorb and retain information. What he discovers is that, from the moment we are born, we are all learning quickly, efficiently, and automatically; but in our zeal to systematize the process we have ignored valuable, naturally enjoyable learning tools like forgetting, sleeping, and daydreaming. Is a dedicated desk in a quiet room really the best way to study? Can altering your routine improve your recall? Are there times when distraction is good? Is repetition necessary? Carey’s search for answers to these questions yields a wealth of strategies that make learning more a part of our everyday lives—and less of a chore.

By road testing many of the counterintuitive techniques described in this book, Carey shows how we can flex the neural muscles that make deep learning possible. Along the way he reveals why teachers should give final exams on the first day of class, why it’s wise to interleave subjects and concepts when learning any new skill, and when it’s smarter to stay up late prepping for that presentation than to rise early for one last cram session. And if this requires some suspension of disbelief, that’s because the research defies what we’ve been told, throughout our lives, about how best to learn.

The brain is not like a muscle, at least not in any straightforward sense. It is something else altogether, sensitive to mood, to timing, to circadian rhythms, as well as to location and environment. It doesn’t take orders well, to put it mildly. If the brain is a learning machine, then it is an eccentric one. In How We Learn, Benedict Carey shows us how to exploit its quirks to our advantage.
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
idcc448d5c-2e67-1e23-f3d6-a73d30784366
isbn9780449807804
9780812993882
9780812993899
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:01d633f1-8642-45d8-b897-7858c2798ba6-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:dda8bcad-139a-44c1-8308-b9ca22eed317-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
ils:.b22960922.i70512607Pocket-Greenhaven153.15 C273 20141falsefalseOn Shelfpocag
ils:.b22960922.i70512589Valley Hi-North Laguna153.15 C273 20141falsefalseDue Apr 29, 2022valag
ils:.b22960922.i70397570Carmichael153.15 C273 20141falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
ils:.b22960922.i71289434South Natomas153.15 C273 20141falsefalseOn Shelfnatag
itype_catalogAdult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed2022-05-17T09:46:32.935Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog153.15 C273 2014
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCarmichael
Pocket-Greenhaven
South Natomas
Valley Hi-North Laguna
primary_isbn9780812993882
publishDate2014
publisherPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
Random House Publishing Group
Random House,
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:01d633f1-8642-45d8-b897-7858c2798ba6eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2014
overdrive:dda8bcad-139a-44c1-8308-b9ca22eed317eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2014
ils:.b22960922BookBooksFirst editionEnglishRandom House[2014]253 p. : ill.; 25 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:01d633f1-8642-45d8-b897-7858c2798ba6-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:dda8bcad-139a-44c1-8308-b9ca22eed317-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b22960922.i70512607On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b22960922.i70512589Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b22960922.i70397570On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b22960922.i71289434On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
subject_facetLearning
Learning, Psychology of
title_displayHow we learn : the surprising truth about when, where, and why it happens
title_fullHow We Learn The Surprising Truth About When, Where, and Why It Happens
How we learn : the surprising truth about when, where, and why it happens / Benedict Carey
title_shortHow we learn
title_subthe surprising truth about when, where, and why it happens
topic_facetLearning
Learning, Psychology of
Nonfiction
Psychology
Self-Improvement
Study Aids & Workbooks