Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The room on Rue Amelie

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(4)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2018.
Language:
English
Description
"For fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly's Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and family--by the international bestselling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Again--tells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II. When newlywed Ruby Henderson Benoit arrives in Paris in 1939 with her French husband Marcel, she imagines strolling arm in arm along the grand boulevards, awash in the golden afternoon light. But war is looming on the horizon, and as France falls to the Nazis, her marriage begins to splinter, too. Charlotte Dacher is eleven when the Germans roll into the French capital, their sinister swastika flags snapping in the breeze. After the Jewish restrictions take effect and Jews are ordered to wear the yellow star, Charlotte can't imagine things getting much worse. But then the mass deportations begin, and her life is ripped forever apart. Thomas Clarke joins the British Royal Air Force to protect his country, but when his beloved mother dies in a German bombing during the waning days of the Blitz, he wonders if he's really making a difference. Then he finds himself in Paris, in the shadow of the Eiffel Tower, and he discovers a new reason to keep fighting--and an unexpected road home. When fate brings them together, Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas must summon the courage to defy the Nazis--and to open their own broken hearts--as they fight to survive. Rich with historical drama and emotional depth, this is an unforgettable story that will stay with you long after the final page is turned"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781501190544
9781501171406
9781501171413
9781508254768
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDc5f30cf7-8365-3be0-9cc4-a67284ecdffb
Grouping Titleroom on rue amelie
Grouping Authorkristin harmel
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-25 04:41:46AM
Last Indexed2020-09-25 04:52:09AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781501171406

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorHarmel, Kristin,
author_displayHarmel, Kristin
detailed_location_catalogArden-Dimick
Central
Elk Grove
North Natomas
Pocket-Greenhaven
display_description"For fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly's Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and family--by the international bestselling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Again--tells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II. When newlywed Ruby Henderson Benoit arrives in Paris in 1939 with her French husband Marcel, she imagines strolling arm in arm along the grand boulevards, awash in the golden afternoon light. But war is looming on the horizon, and as France falls to the Nazis, her marriage begins to splinter, too. Charlotte Dacher is eleven when the Germans roll into the French capital, their sinister swastika flags snapping in the breeze. After the Jewish restrictions take effect and Jews are ordered to wear the yellow star, Charlotte can't imagine things getting much worse. But then the mass deportations begin, and her life is ripped forever apart. Thomas Clarke joins the British Royal Air Force to protect his country, but when his beloved mother dies in a German bombing during the waning days of the Blitz, he wonders if he's really making a difference. Then he finds himself in Paris, in the shadow of the Eiffel Tower, and he discovers a new reason to keep fighting--and an unexpected road home. When fate brings them together, Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas must summon the courage to defy the Nazis--and to open their own broken hearts--as they fight to survive. Rich with historical drama and emotional depth, this is an unforgettable story that will stay with you long after the final page is turned"--
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
idc5f30cf7-8365-3be0-9cc4-a67284ecdffb
isbn9781501171406
9781501171413
9781501190544
9781508254768
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b25354620.i77932134Elk GroveFICTION Harmel, K.1falsefalseDue Oct 31, 2020elkag
ils:.b25354620.i77932092CentralFICTION Harmel, K.1falsefalseDue Oct 31, 2020cenag
ils:.b25354620.i81489845North NatomasFICTION Harmel, K.1falsefalseDue Oct 31, 2020nntag
ils:.b25354620.i7776612xWoodland Public LibraryFICTION Harmel, K.1falsefalseOn Shelfwdpa
ils:.b25354620.i77932110Arden-DimickFICTION Harmel, K.1falsefalseOn Holdshelfardag
ils:.b25354620.i77932122Arden-DimickFICTION Harmel, K.1falsefalseDue Oct 31, 2020ardag
ils:.b25354620.i77932109Pocket-GreenhavenFICTION Harmel, K.1falsefalseDue Oct 31, 2020pocag
overdrive:77657a43-8713-4713-a44e-1050eeeb3986-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:77657a43-8713-4713-a44e-1050eeeb39865Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:77657a43-8713-4713-a44e-1050eeeb39864Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:77657a43-8713-4713-a44e-1050eeeb39863Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:77657a43-8713-4713-a44e-1050eeeb3986-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:c0796b36-eb64-482d-ac90-4e286a1f1062-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2020-09-25T11:52:09.051Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Harmel, K.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogArden-Dimick
Central
Elk Grove
North Natomas
Pocket-Greenhaven
primary_isbn9781501190544
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b25354620BookBooksFirst Gallery Books hardcover edition.EnglishGallery Books, 2018.391 pages ; 24 cm
overdrive:77657a43-8713-4713-a44e-1050eeeb3986eBookeBookEnglishGallery Books2018
overdrive:c0796b36-eb64-482d-ac90-4e286a1f1062eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishSimon & Schuster Audio2018
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b25354620.i77932134Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25354620.i77932092Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25354620.i81489845Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25354620.i7776612xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 73, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120
ils:.b25354620.i77932110Checked OutOn Holdshelffalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25354620.i77932122Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25354620.i77932109Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
overdrive:77657a43-8713-4713-a44e-1050eeeb3986-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:c0796b36-eb64-482d-ac90-4e286a1f1062-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetHistorical fiction
War stories
World War, 1939-1945 -- France -- Fiction
title_displayThe room on Rue Amelie
title_fullThe Room on Rue Amélie
The room on Rue Amelie / Kristin Harmel
title_shortThe room on Rue Amelie
topic_facetFiction
Historical Fiction
Literature
World War, 1939-1945