We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The room on Rue Amelie

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for The room on Rue Amelie

Average user rating: 4.4 stars
User ratings:
5 star
 
(8)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(1)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Publication Date:
2018
Language:
English

Description

"For fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly's Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and family--by the international bestselling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Again--tells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II. When newlywed Ruby Henderson Benoit arrives in Paris in 1939 with her French husband Marcel, she imagines strolling arm in arm along the grand boulevards, awash in the golden afternoon light. But war is looming on the horizon, and as France falls to the Nazis, her marriage begins to splinter, too. Charlotte Dacher is eleven when the Germans roll into the French capital, their sinister swastika flags snapping in the breeze. After the Jewish restrictions take effect and Jews are ordered to wear the yellow star, Charlotte can't imagine things getting much worse. But then the mass deportations begin, and her life is ripped forever apart. Thomas Clarke joins the British Royal Air Force to protect his country, but when his beloved mother dies in a German bombing during the waning days of the Blitz, he wonders if he's really making a difference. Then he finds himself in Paris, in the shadow of the Eiffel Tower, and he discovers a new reason to keep fighting--and an unexpected road home. When fate brings them together, Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas must summon the courage to defy the Nazis--and to open their own broken hearts--as they fight to survive. Rich with historical drama and emotional depth, this is an unforgettable story that will stay with you long after the final page is turned"--

Also in This Series

More Like This

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

ISBN:
9781501190544
9781501171406
9781501171413
9781508254744

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDc5f30cf7-8365-3be0-9cc4-a67284ecdffb
Grouping Titleroom on rue amelie
Grouping Authorkristin harmel
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-07-13 02:11:01AM
Last Indexed2024-07-13 02:23:48AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Harmel, Kristin
author_display
Harmel, Kristin
available_at_catalog
Central
Fair Oaks
North Natomas
Rancho Cordova
detailed_location_catalog
Arden-Dimick
Central
Fair Oaks
North Natomas
Rancho Cordova
display_description
"For fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly's Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and family--by the international bestselling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Again--tells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II. When newlywed Ruby Henderson Benoit arrives in Paris in 1939 with her French husband Marcel, she imagines strolling arm in arm along the grand boulevards, awash in the golden afternoon light. But war is looming on the horizon, and as France falls to the Nazis, her marriage begins to splinter, too. Charlotte Dacher is eleven when the Germans roll into the French capital, their sinister swastika flags snapping in the breeze. After the Jewish restrictions take effect and Jews are ordered to wear the yellow star, Charlotte can't imagine things getting much worse. But then the mass deportations begin, and her life is ripped forever apart. Thomas Clarke joins the British Royal Air Force to protect his country, but when his beloved mother dies in a German bombing during the waning days of the Blitz, he wonders if he's really making a difference. Then he finds himself in Paris, in the shadow of the Eiffel Tower, and he discovers a new reason to keep fighting--and an unexpected road home. When fate brings them together, Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas must summon the courage to defy the Nazis--and to open their own broken hearts--as they fight to survive. Rich with historical drama and emotional depth, this is an unforgettable story that will stay with you long after the final page is turned"--
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
c5f30cf7-8365-3be0-9cc4-a67284ecdffb
isbn
9781501171406
9781501171413
9781501190544
9781508254744
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2024-07-13T09:23:48.804Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Harmel, K.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Arden-Dimick
Central
Fair Oaks
North Natomas
Rancho Cordova
primary_isbn
9781501190544
publishDate
2018
publisher
Gallery Books
Simon & Schuster Audio
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Historical fiction
War stories
World War, 1939-1945 -- France -- Fiction
title_display
The room on Rue Amelie
title_full
The Room on Rue Amelie
The Room on Rue Amélie
The room on Rue Amelie / Kristin Harmel
title_short
The room on Rue Amelie
topic_facet
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Literature
World War, 1939-1945

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocationCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b25354620.i77932110North NatomasFICTION Harmel, K.1falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
ils:.b25354620.i81489845Arden-DimickFICTION Harmel, K.1falsefalseOn Holdshelfardag
ils:.b25354620.i77932134Fair OaksFICTION Harmel, K.1falsefalseOn Shelffaiag
ils:.b25354620.i77932092CentralFICTION Harmel, K.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b25354620.i7776612xWoodland Public LibraryFICTION Harmel, K.1falsefalseDue Jul 29, 2024wdpa
ils:.b25354620.i77932122Rancho CordovaFICTION Harmel, K.1falsefalseOn Shelfranag
ils:.b25354620.i85667237Folsom AdultFICTION Harmel, K.1falsefalseDue Jul 19, 2024fola
overdrive:77657a43-8713-4713-a44e-1050eeeb39865Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:77657a43-8713-4713-a44e-1050eeeb3986-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:77657a43-8713-4713-a44e-1050eeeb3986-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook4falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:77657a43-8713-4713-a44e-1050eeeb39863Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:77657a43-8713-4713-a44e-1050eeeb39864Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:c0796b36-eb64-482d-ac90-4e286a1f1062-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books3falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b25354620BookBooksFirst Gallery Books hardcover editionEnglishGallery Books2018391 pages ; 24 cm
overdrive:77657a43-8713-4713-a44e-1050eeeb3986eBookeBookEnglishGallery Books2018
overdrive:c0796b36-eb64-482d-ac90-4e286a1f1062eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishSimon & Schuster Audio2018

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b25354620.i77932110On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 38, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b25354620.i81489845Checked OutOn Holdshelffalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 38, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b25354620.i77932134On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 38, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b25354620.i77932092On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 38, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b25354620.i7776612xChecked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 69, 70, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120
ils:.b25354620.i77932122On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 38, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b25354620.i85667237Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
overdrive:77657a43-8713-4713-a44e-1050eeeb3986-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:c0796b36-eb64-482d-ac90-4e286a1f1062-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse