Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The girl in the castle: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Ireland. The early twentieth century. Two girls on the cusp of womanhood. A nation on the brink of war. Read their story - and see why JOJO Moyes says that "Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore." Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill grows up in Castle Deverill, on the sunning green ghills of West Cork, Ireland - the same place her ancestors have always dwelled. She isn't fully Irish, as the son of the local veterinarian likes to tease her; but this doesn't stop Kitty and Jack O'Leary from falling in love... Bridie Doyle, daughter to Castle Deverill's cook, cherishes her friendship with Kitty. Yet she can't help dreaming of someday having wealth, having glamour, having... more. And when she discovers Kitty's darkest secret, Bridie finds herself growing to resent the girl in the castle who seems to have it all. As Irish and British forces collide in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight - and Kitty throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But, her allegiance to her family and her friends will soon be tested... and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she's ever known are threatened. A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland - perfect for fans of DOWNTON ABBEY and KATE MORTON. Previously published as The Girl in the Castle.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780062490797
9780062456878
9780062563514
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDc5b0f744-973d-5bb4-2f06-860a63dba5c3
Grouping Titlegirl in the castle
Grouping Authorsanta montefiore
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-03-04 02:27:21AM
Last Indexed2021-03-04 02:58:25AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780062490797

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Swallow, Genevieve,
authorMontefiore, Santa, 1970-
author2-roleSwallow, Genevieve,narrator.
hoopla digital.
author_displayMontefiore, Santa
available_at_catalogCentral
McKinley
detailed_location_catalogCentral
McKinley
display_descriptionIreland. The early twentieth century. Two girls on the cusp of womanhood. A nation on the brink of war. Read their story - and see why JOJO Moyes says that "Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore." Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill grows up in Castle Deverill, on the sunning green ghills of West Cork, Ireland - the same place her ancestors have always dwelled. She isn't fully Irish, as the son of the local veterinarian likes to tease her; but this doesn't stop Kitty and Jack O'Leary from falling in love... Bridie Doyle, daughter to Castle Deverill's cook, cherishes her friendship with Kitty. Yet she can't help dreaming of someday having wealth, having glamour, having... more. And when she discovers Kitty's darkest secret, Bridie finds herself growing to resent the girl in the castle who seems to have it all. As Irish and British forces collide in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight - and Kitty throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But, her allegiance to her family and her friends will soon be tested... and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she's ever known are threatened. A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland - perfect for fans of DOWNTON ABBEY and KATE MORTON. Previously published as The Girl in the Castle.
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
idc5b0f744-973d-5bb4-2f06-860a63dba5c3
isbn9780062456878
9780062490797
9780062563514
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b24402072.i74699490McKinleyFICTION Montefiore, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfmckag
ils:.b24402072.i74699477CentralFICTION Montefiore, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
hoopla:MWT11681141Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11681141?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT12457129Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12457129?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:e418dd4f-321a-433b-9a57-b820a03ed9c4-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-03-04T10:58:25.224Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Montefiore, S.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCentral
McKinley
primary_isbn9780062490797
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b24402072BookBooksEnglishWilliam Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2016]538, 27 pages ; 24 cm
hoopla:MWT11681141eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishHarperAudio, 2016.1 online resource (1 audio file (17hr., 44 min.)) : digital.
hoopla:MWT12457129eBookeBookEnglishHarper Collins Publishers, 2016.1 online resource
overdrive:e418dd4f-321a-433b-9a57-b820a03ed9c4eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishHarperAudio2016
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b24402072.i74699490On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24402072.i74699477On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
hoopla:MWT11681141Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT12457129Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:e418dd4f-321a-433b-9a57-b820a03ed9c4-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
seriesDeverill chronicles
series_with_volumeDeverill chronicles|1
subject_facetElectronic books
Historical fiction
Ireland -- History -- 20th century -- Fiction
Women -- Ireland -- Fiction
title_displayThe girl in the castle : a novel
title_fullThe Girl in the Castle A Novel
The girl in the castle : a novel / Santa Montefiore
The girl in the castle : a novel [electronic resource] / Santa Montefiore
title_shortThe girl in the castle
title_suba novel
topic_facetElectronic books
Fiction
Historical Fiction
History
Literature
Women