Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Kill the father: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description
In this "absolutely electrifying" (Jeffrey Deaver) thriller and huge international hit, two people—each shattered by their past—team up to solve a series of killings and abductions that may hint at something far more sinister at play.
When a woman is beheaded in a park outside Rome and her six-year-old son goes missing, the police see an easy solution: they arrest the woman's husband and await his confession. But the chief of Rome's major crimes unit has doubts.

Secretly, he lures to the case two of Italy's top analytical minds: Deputy Captain Colomba Caselli, a fierce, warrior-like detective still reeling from having survived a bloody catastrophe, and Dante Torre, a man who spent his childhood trapped inside a concrete silo. Fed by the gloved hand of a masked kidnapper who called himself "the Father," Dante emerged from his ordeal with crippling claustrophobia but, also, with an unquenchable thirst for knowledge and hyperobservant capacities.

All evidence suggests that the Father is back and active after being dormant for decades. But when Colomba and Dante begin following the ever-more-bizarre trail of clues, they grasp that what's really going on is darker than they ever imagined.

An "intense, gripping, and entirely unforgettable" (Christopher Reich) thriller with many twists and turns, it's perfect for fans of Thomas Harris and Jo Nesbo.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781501130731
9781508228165
9781508228141
9781501130755
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDc0ab47a8-a565-28c8-d9b5-4548ecd82b9d
Grouping Titlekill the father
Grouping Authorsandrone dazieri
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-09-21 02:29:39AM
Last Indexed2021-09-21 03:11:50AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781501130731

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Campbell, Cassandra,
Shugaar, Antony,
authorDazieri, Sandrone, 1964-
author2-roleCampbell, Cassandra,narrator.
Shugaar, Antony,translator.
hoopla digital.
author_displayDazieri, Sandrone
available_at_catalogCarmichael
Central
Franklin
Isleton
McKinley
detailed_location_catalogCarmichael
Central
Franklin
Isleton
McKinley
display_descriptionIn this "absolutely electrifying" (Jeffrey Deaver) thriller and huge international hit, two people—each shattered by their past—team up to solve a series of killings and abductions that may hint at something far more sinister at play.
When a woman is beheaded in a park outside Rome and her six-year-old son goes missing, the police see an easy solution: they arrest the woman's husband and await his confession. But the chief of Rome's major crimes unit has doubts.

Secretly, he lures to the case two of Italy's top analytical minds: Deputy Captain Colomba Caselli, a fierce, warrior-like detective still reeling from having survived a bloody catastrophe, and Dante Torre, a man who spent his childhood trapped inside a concrete silo. Fed by the gloved hand of a masked kidnapper who called himself "the Father," Dante emerged from his ordeal with crippling claustrophobia but, also, with an unquenchable thirst for knowledge and hyperobservant capacities.

All evidence suggests that the Father is back and active after being dormant for decades. But when Colomba and Dante begin following the ever-more-bizarre trail of clues, they grasp that what's really going on is darker than they ever imagined.

An "intense, gripping, and entirely unforgettable" (Christopher Reich) thriller with many twists and turns, it's perfect for fans of Thomas Harris and Jo Nesbo.
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
idc0ab47a8-a565-28c8-d9b5-4548ecd82b9d
isbn9781501130731
9781501130755
9781508228141
9781508228165
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:b6cca78f-4806-45da-9e61-777a49b0e76e-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT12209350Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12209350?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b24518347.i75221810CarmichaelFICTION Dazieri, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
ils:.b24518347.i75221792FranklinFICTION Dazieri, S.1falsefalseOn Shelffraag
ils:.b24518347.i75189720McKinleyFICTION Dazieri, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfmckag
ils:.b24518347.i75221780CentralFICTION Dazieri, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b24518347.i75221779IsletonFICTION Dazieri, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfislag
overdrive:ac5b8081-b852-44aa-b087-ee05c1f29e21-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-09-21T10:11:50.791Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Dazieri, S.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCarmichael
Central
Franklin
Isleton
McKinley
primary_isbn9781501130731
publishDate2017
publisherScribner
Scribner,
Simon & Schuster Audio
Simon & Schuster Audio,
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:b6cca78f-4806-45da-9e61-777a49b0e76eeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishSimon & Schuster Audio2017
hoopla:MWT12209350eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishSimon & Schuster Audio, 2017.1 online resource (1 audio file (18hr., 19 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b24518347BookBooksFirst Scribner hardcover edition.EnglishScribner, 2017.498 pages ; 24 cm
overdrive:ac5b8081-b852-44aa-b087-ee05c1f29e21eBookeBookEnglishScribner2017
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:b6cca78f-4806-45da-9e61-777a49b0e76e-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT12209350Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24518347.i75221810On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24518347.i75221792On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24518347.i75189720On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24518347.i75221780On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24518347.i75221779On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
overdrive:ac5b8081-b852-44aa-b087-ee05c1f29e21-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
seriesCaselli and Torre novels
series_with_volumeCaselli and Torre novels|1
subject_facetKidnapping -- Italy -- Rome -- Fiction
Missing children -- Italy -- Rome -- Fiction
Murder -- Investigation -- Italy -- Rome -- Fiction
Rome (Italy) -- Fiction
Suspense fiction
title_displayKill the father : a novel
title_fullKill the Father A Novel
Kill the father : a novel / Sandrone Dazieri ; translated by Antony Shugaar
Kill the father : a novel [electronic resource] / Sandrone Dazieri
title_shortKill the father
title_suba novel
topic_facetFiction
Investigation
Kidnapping
Missing children
Murder
Mystery
Suspense
Thriller