Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Blue plate special: an autobiography of my appetites

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

From acclaimed novelist Kate Christensen, Blue Plate Special is a mouthwatering literary memoir about an unusual upbringing and the long, winding path to happiness."To taste fully is to live fully." For Kate Christensen, food and eating have always been powerful connectors to self and world—"a subterranean conduit to sensuality, memory, desire." Her appetites run deep; in her own words, she spent much of her life as "a hungry, lonely, wild animal looking for happiness and stability." Now, having found them at last, in this passionate feast of a memoir she reflects upon her journey of innocence lost and wisdom gained, mistakes made and lessons learned, and hearts broken and mended. In the tradition of M. F. K. Fisher, Laurie Colwin, and Ruth Reichl, Blue Plate Special is a narrative in which food—eating it, cooking it, reflecting on it—becomes the vehicle for unpacking a life. Christensen explores her history of hunger—not just for food but for love and confidence and a sense of belonging—with a profound honesty, starting with her unorthodox childhood in 1960s Berkeley as the daughter of a mercurial legal activist who ruled the house with his fists. After a whirlwind adolescent awakening, Christensen strikes out to chart her own destiny within the literary world and the world of men, both equally alluring and dangerous. Food of all kinds, from Ho Hos to haute cuisine, remains an evocative constant throughout, not just as sustenance but as a realm of experience unto itself, always reflective of what is going on in her life. She unearths memories—sometimes joyful, sometimes painful—of the love between mother and daughter, sister and sister, and husband and wife, and of the times when the bonds of love were broken. Food sustains her as she endures the pain of these ruptures and fuels her determination not to settle for anything less than the love and contentment for which she's always yearned. The physical and emotional sensuality that defines Christensen's fiction resonates throughout the pages of Blue Plate Special. A vibrant celebration of life in all its truth and complexity, this book is about embracing the world through the transformative power of food: it's about listening to your appetites, about having faith, and about learning what is worth holding on to and what is not.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780385536264
9780804149020
9780385536271
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDbfb43de3-bec2-c595-e6da-a8687e3a0b58
Grouping Titleblue plate special an autobiography of my appetites
Grouping Authorkate christensen
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-28 02:27:56AM
Last Indexed2020-10-28 02:56:06AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780385536264

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorChristensen, Kate, 1962-
author_displayChristensen, Kate
available_at_catalogArcade
Belle Cooledge
Central
Elk Grove
McKinley
Valley Hi-North Laguna
detailed_location_catalogArcade
Belle Cooledge
Central
Elk Grove
McKinley
Valley Hi-North Laguna
display_description

From acclaimed novelist Kate Christensen, Blue Plate Special is a mouthwatering literary memoir about an unusual upbringing and the long, winding path to happiness.

"To taste fully is to live fully." For Kate Christensen, food and eating have always been powerful connectors to self and world—"a subterranean conduit to sensuality, memory, desire." Her appetites run deep; in her own words, she spent much of her life as "a hungry, lonely, wild animal looking for happiness and stability." Now, having found them at last, in this passionate feast of a memoir she reflects upon her journey of innocence lost and wisdom gained, mistakes made and lessons learned, and hearts broken and mended.
In the tradition of M. F. K. Fisher, Laurie Colwin, and Ruth Reichl, Blue Plate Special is a narrative in which food—eating it, cooking it, reflecting on it—becomes the vehicle for unpacking a life. Christensen explores her history of hunger—not just for food but for love and confidence and a sense of belonging—with a profound honesty, starting with her unorthodox childhood in 1960s Berkeley as the daughter of a mercurial legal activist who ruled the house with his fists. After a whirlwind adolescent awakening, Christensen strikes out to chart her own destiny within the literary world and the world of men, both equally alluring and dangerous. Food of all kinds, from Ho Hos to haute cuisine, remains an evocative constant throughout, not just as sustenance but as a realm of experience unto itself, always reflective of what is going on in her life. She unearths memories—sometimes joyful, sometimes painful—of the love between mother and daughter, sister and sister, and husband and wife, and of the times when the bonds of love were broken. Food sustains her as she endures the pain of these ruptures and fuels her determination not to settle for anything less than the love and contentment for which she's always yearned.
The physical and emotional sensuality that defines Christensen's fiction resonates throughout the pages of Blue Plate Special. A vibrant celebration of life in all its truth and complexity, this book is about embracing the world through the transformative power of food: it's about listening to your appetites, about having faith, and about learning what is worth holding on to and what is not.

format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
idbfb43de3-bec2-c595-e6da-a8687e3a0b58
isbn9780385536264
9780385536271
9780804149020
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:2bb9a80b-6a88-453f-9a7e-0b55f2b03a70-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:3edbe7d8-308b-400b-a6c4-325a2e38fa63-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b22250190.i68105836Valley Hi-North LagunaBIOGRAPHY Christensen, K. 20131falsefalseOn Shelfvalag
ils:.b22250190.i68283921Belle CooledgeBIOGRAPHY Christensen, K. 20131falsefalseOn Shelfcooag
ils:.b22250190.i68105848McKinleyBIOGRAPHY Christensen, K. 20131falsefalseOn Shelfmckag
ils:.b22250190.i6810585xElk GroveBIOGRAPHY Christensen, K. 20131falsefalseOn Shelfelkag
ils:.b22250190.i68105812ArcadeBIOGRAPHY Christensen, K. 20131falsefalseOn Shelfarcag
ils:.b22250190.i68105800CentralBIOGRAPHY Christensen, K. 20131falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
itype_catalogAdult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed2020-10-28T09:56:06.05Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullEssays
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalogBIOGRAPHY Christensen, K. 2013
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogArcade
Belle Cooledge
Central
Elk Grove
McKinley
Valley Hi-North Laguna
primary_isbn9780385536264
publishDate2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:2bb9a80b-6a88-453f-9a7e-0b55f2b03a70eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2013
overdrive:3edbe7d8-308b-400b-a6c4-325a2e38fa63eBookeBookEnglishKnopf Doubleday Publishing Group2013
ils:.b22250190BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishDoubleday, [2013], ©2013.353 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:2bb9a80b-6a88-453f-9a7e-0b55f2b03a70-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:3edbe7d8-308b-400b-a6c4-325a2e38fa63-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b22250190.i68105836On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b22250190.i68283921On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b22250190.i68105848On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b22250190.i6810585xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b22250190.i68105812On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b22250190.i68105800On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
subject_facetAppetite -- Psychological aspects
Authors, American -- 21st century -- Biography
Christensen, Kate, -- 1962-
Food -- Psychological aspects
Mothers and daughters -- United States
Women authors, American -- 21st century -- Biography
title_displayBlue plate special : an autobiography of my appetites
title_fullBlue Plate Special An Autobiography of My Appetites
Blue plate special : an autobiography of my appetites / Kate Christensen
title_shortBlue plate special
title_suban autobiography of my appetites
topic_facetAppetite
Authors, American
Biography & Autobiography
Christensen, Kate
Cooking & Food
Essays
Food
Mothers and daughters
Nonfiction
Psychological aspects
Women authors, American