We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The forbidden garden: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
NoveList Series:
Sparrow sisters volume 2.
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

"Captivating [...] Herrick weaves a rich tapestry of family lore, dark secrets, and love." —Brunonia Barry, New York Times bestselling author of The Lace Reader and The Fifth Petal

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Jio, comes a lush imaginative novel that takes readers into the heart of a mysterious English country garden, waiting to spring to life.

Every garden is a story, waiting to be told...

At the nursery she runs with her sisters on the New England coast, Sorrel Sparrow has honed her rare gift for nurturing plants and flowers. Now that reputation, and a stroke of good timing, lands Sorrel an unexpected opportunity: reviving a long-dormant Shakespearean garden on an English country estate.

Arriving at Kirkwood Hall, ancestral home of Sir Graham Kirkwood and his wife Stella, Sorrel is shocked by the desolate state of the walled garden. Generations have tried—and failed—to bring it back to glory. Sorrel senses heartbreak and betrayal here, perhaps even enchantment. Intrigued by the house's history—especially the haunting tapestries that grace its walls—and increasingly drawn to Stella's enigmatic brother, Sorrel sets to work. And though she knows her true home is across the sea with her sisters, instinct tells her that the English garden's destiny is entwined with her own, if she can only unravel its secrets...

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780062499950
9780062499967
9780062659620
9780062660640
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDb96f7db7-6ca7-3c90-bf14-e287d382972b
Grouping Titleforbidden garden
Grouping Authorellen herrick
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-05-27 02:08:38AM
Last Indexed2022-05-27 03:05:18AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780062659620

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Hardingham, Fiona
authorHerrick, Ellen
author2-roleHardingham, Fiona,narrator
hoopla digital
author_displayHerrick, Ellen
available_at_catalogCarmichael
Central
Fair Oaks
Franklin
McClatchy
North Natomas
Rancho Cordova
South Natomas
detailed_location_catalogCarmichael
Central
Fair Oaks
Franklin
McClatchy
North Natomas
Rancho Cordova
South Natomas
display_description

"Captivating [...] Herrick weaves a rich tapestry of family lore, dark secrets, and love." —Brunonia Barry, New York Times bestselling author of The Lace Reader and The Fifth Petal

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Jio, comes a lush imaginative novel that takes readers into the heart of a mysterious English country garden, waiting to spring to life.

Every garden is a story, waiting to be told...

At the nursery she runs with her sisters on the New England coast, Sorrel Sparrow has honed her rare gift for nurturing plants and flowers. Now that reputation, and a stroke of good timing, lands Sorrel an unexpected opportunity: reviving a long-dormant Shakespearean garden on an English country estate.

Arriving at Kirkwood Hall, ancestral home of Sir Graham Kirkwood and his wife Stella, Sorrel is shocked by the desolate state of the walled garden. Generations have tried—and failed—to bring it back to glory. Sorrel senses heartbreak and betrayal here, perhaps even enchantment. Intrigued by the house's history—especially the haunting tapestries that grace its walls—and increasingly drawn to Stella's enigmatic brother, Sorrel sets to work. And though she knows her true home is across the sea with her sisters, instinct tells her that the English garden's destiny is entwined with her own, if she can only unravel its secrets...

format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
idb96f7db7-6ca7-3c90-bf14-e287d382972b
isbn9780062499950
9780062499967
9780062659620
9780062660640
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b24775137.i75720164South NatomasFICTION Herrick, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfnatag
ils:.b24775137.i75874362Rancho CordovaFICTION Herrick, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfranag
ils:.b24775137.i75720140McClatchyFICTION Herrick, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfmccag
ils:.b24775137.i75720188Fair OaksFICTION Herrick, E.1falsefalseOn Shelffaiag
ils:.b24775137.i7588656xFranklinFICTION Herrick, E.1falsefalseOn Shelffraag
ils:.b24775137.i75886558CentralFICTION Herrick, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b24775137.i75720176North NatomasFICTION Herrick, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
ils:.b24775137.i7572019xCarmichaelFICTION Herrick, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
ils:.b24775137.i75720152CentralFICTION Herrick, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
overdrive:2241536f-edf9-4975-b15b-000b49835cb1-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:f71c28cd-5e12-48d0-85e7-ea0cb7933530-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT12455861Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12455861?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT11805786Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11805786?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2022-05-27T10:05:18.313Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Herrick, E.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCarmichael
Central
Fair Oaks
Franklin
McClatchy
North Natomas
Rancho Cordova
South Natomas
primary_isbn9780062499950
publishDate2017
publisherHarper Collins Publishers,
HarperAudio
HarperAudio,
HarperCollins
William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b24775137BookBooksFirst editionEnglishWilliam Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers[2017]359, 24 pages : illustration ; 24 cm
overdrive:2241536f-edf9-4975-b15b-000b49835cb1eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishHarperAudio2017
overdrive:f71c28cd-5e12-48d0-85e7-ea0cb7933530eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2017
hoopla:MWT12455861eBookeBookEnglishHarper Collins Publishers20171 online resource
hoopla:MWT11805786eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishHarperAudio20171 online resource (1 audio file (8hr., 52 min.)) : digital.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b24775137.i75720164On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24775137.i75874362On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24775137.i75720140On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24775137.i75720188On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24775137.i7588656xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24775137.i75886558On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24775137.i75720176On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24775137.i7572019xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24775137.i75720152On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
overdrive:2241536f-edf9-4975-b15b-000b49835cb1-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:f71c28cd-5e12-48d0-85e7-ea0cb7933530-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT12455861Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT11805786Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
seriesSparrow sisters
series_with_volumeSparrow sisters|2
subject_facetCountry homes -- England -- Fiction
Electronic books
England -- Fiction
Gardens -- Fiction
Gardens, English -- Fiction
New England -- Fiction
Nurseries (Horticulture) -- Fiction
Single women -- Fiction
Sisters -- Fiction
title_displayThe forbidden garden
title_fullThe Forbidden Garden A Novel
The forbidden garden / Ellen Herrick
The forbidden garden : a novel [electronic resource] / Ellen Herrick
The forbidden garden [electronic resource] / Ellen Herrick
title_shortThe forbidden garden
title_suba novel
topic_facetCountry homes
Electronic books
Fiction
Gardens
Gardens, English
Literature
Nurseries (Horticulture)
Romance
Single women
Sisters