Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Dear county agent guy: calf pulling, husband training, and other curious dispatches from a Midwestern dairy farmer

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2016.
Language:
English
Description
"In the tradition of Mark Twain and Jean Shepherd, Dave Barry and Garrison Keillor, Jerry Nelson is a humorist whose beat is the American heartland, a small-town world of pickup trucks and Sunday night pancake dinners, dropping in on neighbors and complaining to the country agent. A fourth-generation dairy farmer, Jerry Nelson discovered his voice after he wrote a tongue-in-cheek letter to his county agent for advice on what to do, after a period of heavy rain, about the ducks and Jet Skiers frolicking in his cornfields. From then on Jerry had a new calling to go along with his day job-writing a humorous column called "Dear County Agent Guy." Jerry's depictions of daily life, from the point of view of a taciturn husband with a twinkle in his eye, are read by 250,000 people a week--and occasionally woven into A Prairie Home Companion scripts. These are stories of courtship (Jerry refers to himself as a Norwegian bachelor farmer); childbirth (he offers the delivery room doctor the use of his calf puller); family (he beautifully describes rummaging with his sons through an abandoned family homestead); the duties of a husband (exactly why is it that a man who spends his days in cow manure can't change a baby's diaper?); the days of chores (never will the reader look at a grain silo the same way again). Knee-slappingly funny one moment, poignant the next, it's a very special look at a distinctly American way of life"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780761187271
9780761189084
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDb122db61-52a0-c7d2-4820-1e6a264f9a9c
Grouping Titledear county agent guy calf pulling husband training and other curious dispatches from a midwestern dairy farmer
Grouping Authorjerry nelson
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-21 02:28:23AM
Last Indexed2020-10-21 02:46:09AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorJerry Nelson
author_displayNelson, Jerry
available_at_catalogCentral
Fair Oaks
detailed_location_catalogCentral
Fair Oaks
display_description"In the tradition of Mark Twain and Jean Shepherd, Dave Barry and Garrison Keillor, Jerry Nelson is a humorist whose beat is the American heartland, a small-town world of pickup trucks and Sunday night pancake dinners, dropping in on neighbors and complaining to the country agent. A fourth-generation dairy farmer, Jerry Nelson discovered his voice after he wrote a tongue-in-cheek letter to his county agent for advice on what to do, after a period of heavy rain, about the ducks and Jet Skiers frolicking in his cornfields. From then on Jerry had a new calling to go along with his day job-writing a humorous column called "Dear County Agent Guy." Jerry's depictions of daily life, from the point of view of a taciturn husband with a twinkle in his eye, are read by 250,000 people a week--and occasionally woven into A Prairie Home Companion scripts. These are stories of courtship (Jerry refers to himself as a Norwegian bachelor farmer); childbirth (he offers the delivery room doctor the use of his calf puller); family (he beautifully describes rummaging with his sons through an abandoned family homestead); the duties of a husband (exactly why is it that a man who spends his days in cow manure can't change a baby's diaper?); the days of chores (never will the reader look at a grain silo the same way again). Knee-slappingly funny one moment, poignant the next, it's a very special look at a distinctly American way of life"--
format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
idb122db61-52a0-c7d2-4820-1e6a264f9a9c
isbn9780761187271
9780761189084
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b24193598.i73794570Fair Oaks818.602 N427 20161falsefalseOn Shelffaiag
ils:.b24193598.i73794582Central818.602 N427 20161falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
overdrive:2534e49d-bf4f-487d-a2ba-247a097d7aa6-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed2020-10-21T09:46:09.432Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullEssays
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog818.602 N427 2016
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCentral
Fair Oaks
primary_isbn9780761187271
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b24193598BookBooksEnglishWorkman Publishing, 2016.xiii, 209 pages ; 19 cm.
overdrive:2534e49d-bf4f-487d-a2ba-247a097d7aa6eBookeBookEnglishWorkman Publishing Company2016
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b24193598.i73794570On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24193598.i73794582On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
overdrive:2534e49d-bf4f-487d-a2ba-247a097d7aa6-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetCountry life -- Humor
Dairy farmers -- Biography
Humorous stories, American -- South Dakota
Nelson, Jerry, -- 1957-
South Dakota -- Social life and customs -- Humor
title_displayDear county agent guy : calf pulling, husband training, and other curious dispatches from a Midwestern dairy farmer
title_fullDear County Agent Guy Calf Pulling, Husband Training, and Other Curious Dispatches from a Midwestern Dairy Farmer
Dear county agent guy : calf pulling, husband training, and other curious dispatches from a Midwestern dairy farmer / Jerry Nelson
title_shortDear county agent guy
title_subcalf pulling, husband training, and other curious dispatches from a Midwestern dairy farmer
topic_facetBusiness
Country life
Dairy farmers
Essays
Humor (Nonfiction)
Humorous stories, American
Nelson, Jerry
Nonfiction
Social life and customs