We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Dear county agent guy: calf pulling, husband training, and other curious dispatches from a Midwestern dairy farmer

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for Dear county agent guy

Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Publication Date:
2016
Language:
English

Description

"In the tradition of Mark Twain and Jean Shepherd, Dave Barry and Garrison Keillor, Jerry Nelson is a humorist whose beat is the American heartland, a small-town world of pickup trucks and Sunday night pancake dinners, dropping in on neighbors and complaining to the country agent. A fourth-generation dairy farmer, Jerry Nelson discovered his voice after he wrote a tongue-in-cheek letter to his county agent for advice on what to do, after a period of heavy rain, about the ducks and Jet Skiers frolicking in his cornfields. From then on Jerry had a new calling to go along with his day job-writing a humorous column called "Dear County Agent Guy." Jerry's depictions of daily life, from the point of view of a taciturn husband with a twinkle in his eye, are read by 250,000 people a week--and occasionally woven into A Prairie Home Companion scripts. These are stories of courtship (Jerry refers to himself as a Norwegian bachelor farmer); childbirth (he offers the delivery room doctor the use of his calf puller); family (he beautifully describes rummaging with his sons through an abandoned family homestead); the duties of a husband (exactly why is it that a man who spends his days in cow manure can't change a baby's diaper?); the days of chores (never will the reader look at a grain silo the same way again). Knee-slappingly funny one moment, poignant the next, it's a very special look at a distinctly American way of life"--

Also in This Series

More Like This

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

Contributors:
ISBN:
9780761187271
9780761189084

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDb122db61-52a0-c7d2-4820-1e6a264f9a9c
Grouping Titledear county agent guy calf pulling husband training and other curious dispatches from a midwestern dairy farmer
Grouping Authorjerry nelson
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-07-15 02:10:19AM
Last Indexed2024-07-14 03:35:11AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Nelson, Jerry, 1957-
author2-role
hoopla digital
author_display
Nelson, Jerry
available_at_catalog
Central
detailed_location_catalog
Central
display_description
"In the tradition of Mark Twain and Jean Shepherd, Dave Barry and Garrison Keillor, Jerry Nelson is a humorist whose beat is the American heartland, a small-town world of pickup trucks and Sunday night pancake dinners, dropping in on neighbors and complaining to the country agent. A fourth-generation dairy farmer, Jerry Nelson discovered his voice after he wrote a tongue-in-cheek letter to his county agent for advice on what to do, after a period of heavy rain, about the ducks and Jet Skiers frolicking in his cornfields. From then on Jerry had a new calling to go along with his day job-writing a humorous column called "Dear County Agent Guy." Jerry's depictions of daily life, from the point of view of a taciturn husband with a twinkle in his eye, are read by 250,000 people a week--and occasionally woven into A Prairie Home Companion scripts. These are stories of courtship (Jerry refers to himself as a Norwegian bachelor farmer); childbirth (he offers the delivery room doctor the use of his calf puller); family (he beautifully describes rummaging with his sons through an abandoned family homestead); the duties of a husband (exactly why is it that a man who spends his days in cow manure can't change a baby's diaper?); the days of chores (never will the reader look at a grain silo the same way again). Knee-slappingly funny one moment, poignant the next, it's a very special look at a distinctly American way of life"--
format_catalog
Book
eBook
format_category_catalog
Books
eBook
id
b122db61-52a0-c7d2-4820-1e6a264f9a9c
isbn
9780761187271
9780761189084
itype_catalog
Adult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed
2024-07-14T10:35:11.668Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Essays
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
818.602 N427 2016
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Central
primary_isbn
9780761187271
publishDate
2016
publisher
Workman Publishing
Workman Publishing Company
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Agriculture
Animal culture
Country life -- Humor
Dairy farmers -- Biography
Electronic books
Humor
Humorous stories, American -- South Dakota
Nelson, Jerry, -- 1957-
Professional employees
South Dakota -- Social life and customs -- Humor
title_display
Dear county agent guy : calf pulling, husband training, and other curious dispatches from a Midwestern dairy farmer
title_full
Dear County Agent Guy : Calf Pulling, Husband Training, and Other Curious Dispatches from a Midwestern Dairy Farmer [electronic resource] / Jerry Nelson
Dear County Agent Guy Calf Pulling, Husband Training, and Other Curious Dispatches from a Midwestern Dairy Farmer
Dear county agent guy : calf pulling, husband training, and other curious dispatches from a Midwestern dairy farmer / Jerry Nelson
title_short
Dear county agent guy
title_sub
calf pulling, husband training, and other curious dispatches from a Midwestern dairy farmer
topic_facet
Agriculture
Animal culture
Business
Country life
Dairy farmers
Electronic books
Essays
Humor
Humor (Nonfiction)
Humorous stories, American
Nelson, Jerry
Nonfiction
Professional employees
Social life and customs

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocationCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b24193598.i73794582Central818.602 N427 20161falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
overdrive:2534e49d-bf4f-487d-a2ba-247a097d7aa6-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT15571922Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/15218307?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b24193598BookBooksEnglishWorkman Publishing2016xiii, 209 pages ; 19 cm
overdrive:2534e49d-bf4f-487d-a2ba-247a097d7aa6eBookeBookEnglishWorkman Publishing Company2016
hoopla:MWT15571922eBookeBookEnglishWorkman Publishing Company20161 online resource (240 pages)

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b24193598.i73794582On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 38, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
overdrive:2534e49d-bf4f-487d-a2ba-247a097d7aa6-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT15571922Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse