Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Country of red azaleas: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2016.
Language:
English
Description
"A riveting novel about two women--one Serbian, one Bosnian--whose friendship spans decades and continents, war and peace, love and estrangement, in the vein of Elena Ferrante and Julia Alvarez. Closer than sisters, Lara and Marija share everything, from stolen fruit and Hollywood movies as girls to ideologies and even lovers as young women. But when the Bosnian War pits their homelands against each other in a bloodbath, Lara and Marija are forced to separate: romantic Lara heads to America with her Hollywood-handsome husband, and fierce Marija goes to her native Sarajevo to combat the war through journalism. In America, Lara seeks fulfillment through work and family, but when news from Marija ceases, the uncertainty torments Lara, driving her on a quest to find her friend. As Lara travels through war-torn Serbia, following clues that may yet lead to the flesh-and-blood Marija, she must also wrestle with truths about her own identity. Told in lush, vivid prose, COUNTRY OF RED AZALEAS is a poignant testament to both the power of friendship and our ability to find meaning and beauty in the face of devastation."--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781455590421
9781455537280
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDad783095-bcab-69f3-5d2b-82109db29173
Grouping Titlecountry of red azaleas
Grouping Authordomnica radulescu
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-25 02:36:32AM
Last Indexed2020-09-25 03:02:44AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorDomnica Radulescu
author_displayRadulescu, Domnica
available_at_catalogBelle Cooledge
Central
detailed_location_catalogBelle Cooledge
Central
display_description"A riveting novel about two women--one Serbian, one Bosnian--whose friendship spans decades and continents, war and peace, love and estrangement, in the vein of Elena Ferrante and Julia Alvarez. Closer than sisters, Lara and Marija share everything, from stolen fruit and Hollywood movies as girls to ideologies and even lovers as young women. But when the Bosnian War pits their homelands against each other in a bloodbath, Lara and Marija are forced to separate: romantic Lara heads to America with her Hollywood-handsome husband, and fierce Marija goes to her native Sarajevo to combat the war through journalism. In America, Lara seeks fulfillment through work and family, but when news from Marija ceases, the uncertainty torments Lara, driving her on a quest to find her friend. As Lara travels through war-torn Serbia, following clues that may yet lead to the flesh-and-blood Marija, she must also wrestle with truths about her own identity. Told in lush, vivid prose, COUNTRY OF RED AZALEAS is a poignant testament to both the power of friendship and our ability to find meaning and beauty in the face of devastation."--
format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
idad783095-bcab-69f3-5d2b-82109db29173
isbn9781455537280
9781455590421
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:8947dee2-2ea9-4b4e-a0cb-60f3e43f6016-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b24088717.i73720215CentralFICTION Radulescu, D.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b24088717.i73720240Belle CooledgeFICTION Radulescu, D.1falsefalseOn Shelfcooag
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2020-09-25T10:02:44.968Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Radulescu, D.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogBelle Cooledge
Central
primary_isbn9781455590421
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:8947dee2-2ea9-4b4e-a0cb-60f3e43f6016eBookeBookEnglishGrand Central Publishing2016
ils:.b24088717BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishTwelve, 2016.308 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:8947dee2-2ea9-4b4e-a0cb-60f3e43f6016-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24088717.i73720215On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24088717.i73720240On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
subject_facetFemale friendship -- Fiction
Self-realization in women -- Fiction
title_displayCountry of red azaleas : a novel
title_fullCountry of Red Azaleas
Country of red azaleas : a novel / Domnica Radulescu
title_shortCountry of red azaleas
title_suba novel
topic_facetFemale friendship
Fiction
Literature
Self-realization in women