We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Country of red azaleas: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2016
Language:
English
Description
"A riveting novel about two women--one Serbian, one Bosnian--whose friendship spans decades and continents, war and peace, love and estrangement, in the vein of Elena Ferrante and Julia Alvarez. Closer than sisters, Lara and Marija share everything, from stolen fruit and Hollywood movies as girls to ideologies and even lovers as young women. But when the Bosnian War pits their homelands against each other in a bloodbath, Lara and Marija are forced to separate: romantic Lara heads to America with her Hollywood-handsome husband, and fierce Marija goes to her native Sarajevo to combat the war through journalism. In America, Lara seeks fulfillment through work and family, but when news from Marija ceases, the uncertainty torments Lara, driving her on a quest to find her friend. As Lara travels through war-torn Serbia, following clues that may yet lead to the flesh-and-blood Marija, she must also wrestle with truths about her own identity. Told in lush, vivid prose, COUNTRY OF RED AZALEAS is a poignant testament to both the power of friendship and our ability to find meaning and beauty in the face of devastation."--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781455590421
9781455537280
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDad783095-bcab-69f3-5d2b-82109db29173
Grouping Titlecountry of red azaleas
Grouping Authordomnica radulescu
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-09-24 02:08:33AM
Last Indexed2022-09-24 02:44:36AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Radulescu, Domnica, 1961-
author_display
Radulescu, Domnica
available_at_catalog
Central
Southgate
detailed_location_catalog
Central
Southgate
display_description
"A riveting novel about two women--one Serbian, one Bosnian--whose friendship spans decades and continents, war and peace, love and estrangement, in the vein of Elena Ferrante and Julia Alvarez. Closer than sisters, Lara and Marija share everything, from stolen fruit and Hollywood movies as girls to ideologies and even lovers as young women. But when the Bosnian War pits their homelands against each other in a bloodbath, Lara and Marija are forced to separate: romantic Lara heads to America with her Hollywood-handsome husband, and fierce Marija goes to her native Sarajevo to combat the war through journalism. In America, Lara seeks fulfillment through work and family, but when news from Marija ceases, the uncertainty torments Lara, driving her on a quest to find her friend. As Lara travels through war-torn Serbia, following clues that may yet lead to the flesh-and-blood Marija, she must also wrestle with truths about her own identity. Told in lush, vivid prose, COUNTRY OF RED AZALEAS is a poignant testament to both the power of friendship and our ability to find meaning and beauty in the face of devastation."--
format_catalog
Book
eBook
format_category_catalog
Books
eBook
id
ad783095-bcab-69f3-5d2b-82109db29173
isbn
9781455537280
9781455590421
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2022-09-24T09:44:36.837Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Radulescu, D.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Central
Southgate
primary_isbn
9781455590421
publishDate
2016
publisher
Grand Central Publishing
Twelve
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Female friendship -- Fiction
Self-realization in women -- Fiction
title_display
Country of red azaleas : a novel
title_full
Country of Red Azaleas
Country of red azaleas : a novel / Domnica Radulescu
title_short
Country of red azaleas
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Female friendship
Fiction
Literature
Self-realization in women

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:8947dee2-2ea9-4b4e-a0cb-60f3e43f6016-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
ils:.b24088717.i73720240SouthgateFICTION Radulescu, D.1falsefalseOn Shelfsouag
ils:.b24088717.i73720215CentralFICTION Radulescu, D.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:8947dee2-2ea9-4b4e-a0cb-60f3e43f6016eBookeBookEnglishGrand Central Publishing2016
ils:.b24088717BookBooksFirst editionEnglishTwelve2016308 pages ; 22 cm

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:8947dee2-2ea9-4b4e-a0cb-60f3e43f6016-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24088717.i73720240On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24088717.i73720215On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911