Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

This is paradise: stories

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"A visceral, poignant, and elegantly gritty work of debut fiction set in Hawaii, in the vein of Junot Diaz's Drown and Danielle Evans's Before You Suffocate Your Own Fool Self This is the real Hawai'i: life is not the paradisical adventure that honeymooners or movie-goers see. Danger lurks on beautiful beaches, violence bubbles under the smooth surf, and characters come face to face with the inevitability of change and the need to define who they are against the forces of tradition and expectation. In these stories, a young woman decides to take revenge on the man who had her father murdered - only to find that her father wasn't who she thought he was. Three different groups of Hawaiian women observe and comment on the progress of an American tourist through one day and one night in Honolulu. And a young couple have an encounter with a stray dog that shakes their relationship to the core. Intimately tied to the Hawaiian Islands, This is Paradise explores the relationships among native Hawaiians, local citizens, and emigrants from (and to) the contiguous forty-eight states. There is tension between locals and tourists, between locals and the military men that populate their communities, between local Hawaiian girls who never leave, and those who do so for higher education and then return. Kahakauwila is a careful observer of her protagonists' actions - and, sometimes, their inaction. Her portrayal of people whose lives have lost their centre of gravity is acute, often heartbreaking, and suffused with a deeply felt empathy. With a contemporary edginess, a mature style, and a sense of history reverberating into the present, This is Paradise is an incredible debut"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780770436254
9780770436261
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDad45656b-ba8c-1599-22c1-5b8fb222f47f
Grouping Titlethis is paradise
Grouping Authorkristiana kahakauwila
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-03-03 02:27:12AM
Last Indexed2021-03-02 02:57:47AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780770436254

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorKristiana Kahakauwila
author_displayKahakauwila, Kristiana
available_at_catalogCentral
detailed_location_catalogCentral
Sylvan Oaks
display_description"A visceral, poignant, and elegantly gritty work of debut fiction set in Hawaii, in the vein of Junot Diaz's Drown and Danielle Evans's Before You Suffocate Your Own Fool Self This is the real Hawai'i: life is not the paradisical adventure that honeymooners or movie-goers see. Danger lurks on beautiful beaches, violence bubbles under the smooth surf, and characters come face to face with the inevitability of change and the need to define who they are against the forces of tradition and expectation. In these stories, a young woman decides to take revenge on the man who had her father murdered - only to find that her father wasn't who she thought he was. Three different groups of Hawaiian women observe and comment on the progress of an American tourist through one day and one night in Honolulu. And a young couple have an encounter with a stray dog that shakes their relationship to the core. Intimately tied to the Hawaiian Islands, This is Paradise explores the relationships among native Hawaiians, local citizens, and emigrants from (and to) the contiguous forty-eight states. There is tension between locals and tourists, between locals and the military men that populate their communities, between local Hawaiian girls who never leave, and those who do so for higher education and then return. Kahakauwila is a careful observer of her protagonists' actions - and, sometimes, their inaction. Her portrayal of people whose lives have lost their centre of gravity is acute, often heartbreaking, and suffused with a deeply felt empathy. With a contemporary edginess, a mature style, and a sense of history reverberating into the present, This is Paradise is an incredible debut"--
format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
idad45656b-ba8c-1599-22c1-5b8fb222f47f
isbn9780770436254
9780770436261
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b22183814.i68134290CentralFICTION Kahakauwila, K.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b22183814.i68134307Sylvan OaksFICTION Kahakauwila, K.1falsefalseDue Mar 19, 2021sylag
overdrive:b2d1be1e-9b21-49ff-8a9c-848b914bc7a5-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-03-02T10:57:47.872Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
Short Stories
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Kahakauwila, K.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCentral
Sylvan Oaks
primary_isbn9780770436254
publishDate2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b22183814BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishHogarth, [2013], ©2013.238 pages ; 21 cm
overdrive:b2d1be1e-9b21-49ff-8a9c-848b914bc7a5eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2013
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b22183814.i68134290On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b22183814.i68134307Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
overdrive:b2d1be1e-9b21-49ff-8a9c-848b914bc7a5-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetHawaii -- Social life and customs -- 21st century -- Fiction
Short stories
title_displayThis is paradise : stories
title_fullThis Is Paradise Stories
This is paradise : stories / Kristiana Kahakauwila
title_shortThis is paradise
title_substories
topic_facetFiction
Literature
Short Stories
Social life and customs