Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The sisters of Versailles: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2015.
Language:
English
Description
"A sumptuous and sensual tale of power, romance, family, and betrayal centered around four sisters and one King. Carefully researched and ornately detailed, The Sisters of Versailles is the first book in an exciting new historical fiction trilogy about King Louis XV, France's most "well-beloved" monarch, and the women who shared his heart and his bed. Goodness, but sisters are a thing to fear. Set against the lavish backdrop of the French Court in the early years of the 18th century, The Sisters of Versailles is the extraordinary tale of the five Nesle sisters--Louise, Pauline, Diane, Hortense, and Marie-Anne--four of whom became mistresses to King Louis XV. Their scandalous story is stranger than fiction but true in every shocking, amusing, and heartbreaking detail. Court intriguers are beginning to sense that young King Louis XV, after seven years of marriage, is tiring of his Polish wife. The race is on to find a mistress for the royal bed as various factions put their best foot--and women--forward. The King's scheming ministers push Louise, the eldest of the aristocratic Nesle sisters, into the arms of the King. Over the following decade, the four sisters--sweet, nai;ve Louise; ambitious Pauline; complacent Diane, and cunning Marie Anne--will conspire, betray, suffer, and triumph in a desperate fight for both love and power. In the tradition of The Other Boleyn Girl, The Sisters of Versailles is a clever, intelligent, and absorbing novel that historical fiction fans will devour. Based on meticulous research on a group of women never before written about in English, Sally Christie's stunning debut is a complex exploration of power and sisterhood--of the admiration, competition, and even hatred that can coexist within a family when the stakes are high enough"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781501102967
9781501102981
9781494595364
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDac2c4b1f-60c0-e25f-e4bb-ccc4a7133803
Grouping Titlesisters of versailles
Grouping Authorsally christie
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-02-28 03:09:43AM
Last Indexed2021-02-28 04:48:09AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781501102967

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Wiley, Elizabeth, 1962 April 21-
authorChristie, Sally, 1971-
author2-roleWiley, Elizabeth,1962 April 21-narrator.
hoopla digital.
author_displayChristie, Sally
available_at_catalogPocket-Greenhaven
detailed_location_catalogPocket-Greenhaven
display_description"A sumptuous and sensual tale of power, romance, family, and betrayal centered around four sisters and one King. Carefully researched and ornately detailed, The Sisters of Versailles is the first book in an exciting new historical fiction trilogy about King Louis XV, France's most "well-beloved" monarch, and the women who shared his heart and his bed. Goodness, but sisters are a thing to fear. Set against the lavish backdrop of the French Court in the early years of the 18th century, The Sisters of Versailles is the extraordinary tale of the five Nesle sisters--Louise, Pauline, Diane, Hortense, and Marie-Anne--four of whom became mistresses to King Louis XV. Their scandalous story is stranger than fiction but true in every shocking, amusing, and heartbreaking detail. Court intriguers are beginning to sense that young King Louis XV, after seven years of marriage, is tiring of his Polish wife. The race is on to find a mistress for the royal bed as various factions put their best foot--and women--forward. The King's scheming ministers push Louise, the eldest of the aristocratic Nesle sisters, into the arms of the King. Over the following decade, the four sisters--sweet, nai;ve Louise; ambitious Pauline; complacent Diane, and cunning Marie Anne--will conspire, betray, suffer, and triumph in a desperate fight for both love and power. In the tradition of The Other Boleyn Girl, The Sisters of Versailles is a clever, intelligent, and absorbing novel that historical fiction fans will devour. Based on meticulous research on a group of women never before written about in English, Sally Christie's stunning debut is a complex exploration of power and sisterhood--of the admiration, competition, and even hatred that can coexist within a family when the stakes are high enough"--
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
idac2c4b1f-60c0-e25f-e4bb-ccc4a7133803
isbn9781494595364
9781501102967
9781501102981
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:f0d4d331-a9d1-4549-b9a2-318353ca925d-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT11427777Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11427777?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b23777242.i7263246xPocket-GreenhavenFICTION Christie, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfpocag
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-02-28T12:48:09.366Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Christie, S.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogPocket-Greenhaven
primary_isbn9781501102967
publishDate2015
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:f0d4d331-a9d1-4549-b9a2-318353ca925deBookeBookEnglishAtria Books2015
hoopla:MWT11427777eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishTantor Audio, 2015.1 online resource (1 audio file (15hr., 15 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b23777242BookBooksFirst Atria paperback edition.EnglishAtria Books, 2015.420 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:f0d4d331-a9d1-4549-b9a2-318353ca925d-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT11427777Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b23777242.i7263246xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
seriesMistresses of Versailles novels
series_with_volumeMistresses of Versailles novels|1
subject_facetBiographical fiction
Châteauroux, Marie Anne de Mailly-Nesle, -- duchesse de, -- 1717-1744 -- Fiction
Châteauroux, Marie Anne de Mailly-Nesle, -- duchesse de, -- 1717-1744 -- Fiction
France -- Court and courtiers -- Fiction
France -- History -- Louis XV, 1715-1774 -- Fiction
France -- Kings and rulers -- Paramours -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Louis -- XV, -- King of France, -- 1710-1774 -- Fiction
Mailly, Louise Julie, -- comtesse de, -- 1710-1751 -- Fiction
Vintimille Du Luc, Pauline de Mailly-Nesle, -- marquise de, -- 1712-1741 -- Fiction
title_displayThe sisters of Versailles : a novel
title_fullThe Sisters of Versailles A Novel
The sisters of Versailles : a novel / Sally Christie
The sisters of Versailles : a novel [electronic resource] / Sally Christie
title_shortThe sisters of Versailles
title_suba novel
topic_facetChâteauroux, Marie Anne de Mailly-Nesle
Châteauroux, Marie Anne de Mailly-Nesle
Court and courtiers
Fiction
Historical Fiction
History
Kings and rulers
Literature
Louis
Mailly, Louise Julie
Paramours
Vintimille Du Luc, Pauline de Mailly-Nesle