We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The sisters of Versailles: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
NoveList Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2015
Language:
English
Description
"A sumptuous and sensual tale of power, romance, family, and betrayal centered around four sisters and one King. Carefully researched and ornately detailed, The Sisters of Versailles is the first book in an exciting new historical fiction trilogy about King Louis XV, France's most "well-beloved" monarch, and the women who shared his heart and his bed. Goodness, but sisters are a thing to fear. Set against the lavish backdrop of the French Court in the early years of the 18th century, The Sisters of Versailles is the extraordinary tale of the five Nesle sisters--Louise, Pauline, Diane, Hortense, and Marie-Anne--four of whom became mistresses to King Louis XV. Their scandalous story is stranger than fiction but true in every shocking, amusing, and heartbreaking detail. Court intriguers are beginning to sense that young King Louis XV, after seven years of marriage, is tiring of his Polish wife. The race is on to find a mistress for the royal bed as various factions put their best foot--and women--forward. The King's scheming ministers push Louise, the eldest of the aristocratic Nesle sisters, into the arms of the King. Over the following decade, the four sisters--sweet, nai;ve Louise; ambitious Pauline; complacent Diane, and cunning Marie Anne--will conspire, betray, suffer, and triumph in a desperate fight for both love and power. In the tradition of The Other Boleyn Girl, The Sisters of Versailles is a clever, intelligent, and absorbing novel that historical fiction fans will devour. Based on meticulous research on a group of women never before written about in English, Sally Christie's stunning debut is a complex exploration of power and sisterhood--of the admiration, competition, and even hatred that can coexist within a family when the stakes are high enough"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781501102967
9781494595364
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDac2c4b1f-60c0-e25f-e4bb-ccc4a7133803
Grouping Titlesisters of versailles
Grouping Authorsally christie
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-08-10 02:08:24AM
Last Indexed2022-08-10 02:54:14AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Wiley, Elizabeth, 1962 April 21-
author
Christie, Sally, 1971-
author2-role
Wiley, Elizabeth,1962 April 21-narrator
hoopla digital
author_display
Christie, Sally
available_at_catalog
North Natomas
detailed_location_catalog
North Natomas
display_description
"A sumptuous and sensual tale of power, romance, family, and betrayal centered around four sisters and one King. Carefully researched and ornately detailed, The Sisters of Versailles is the first book in an exciting new historical fiction trilogy about King Louis XV, France's most "well-beloved" monarch, and the women who shared his heart and his bed. Goodness, but sisters are a thing to fear. Set against the lavish backdrop of the French Court in the early years of the 18th century, The Sisters of Versailles is the extraordinary tale of the five Nesle sisters--Louise, Pauline, Diane, Hortense, and Marie-Anne--four of whom became mistresses to King Louis XV. Their scandalous story is stranger than fiction but true in every shocking, amusing, and heartbreaking detail. Court intriguers are beginning to sense that young King Louis XV, after seven years of marriage, is tiring of his Polish wife. The race is on to find a mistress for the royal bed as various factions put their best foot--and women--forward. The King's scheming ministers push Louise, the eldest of the aristocratic Nesle sisters, into the arms of the King. Over the following decade, the four sisters--sweet, nai;ve Louise; ambitious Pauline; complacent Diane, and cunning Marie Anne--will conspire, betray, suffer, and triumph in a desperate fight for both love and power. In the tradition of The Other Boleyn Girl, The Sisters of Versailles is a clever, intelligent, and absorbing novel that historical fiction fans will devour. Based on meticulous research on a group of women never before written about in English, Sally Christie's stunning debut is a complex exploration of power and sisterhood--of the admiration, competition, and even hatred that can coexist within a family when the stakes are high enough"--
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
ac2c4b1f-60c0-e25f-e4bb-ccc4a7133803
isbn
9781494595364
9781501102967
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2022-08-10T09:54:14.577Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Christie, S.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
North Natomas
primary_isbn
9781501102967
publishDate
2015
publisher
Atria Books
Tantor Media, Inc
recordtype
grouped_work
series
Mistresses of Versailles novels
series_with_volume
Mistresses of Versailles novels|1
subject_facet
Biographical fiction
Châteauroux, Marie Anne de Mailly-Nesle, -- duchesse de, -- 1717-1744 -- Fiction
Châteauroux, Marie Anne de Mailly-Nesle, -- duchesse de, -- 1717-1744 -- Fiction
France -- Court and courtiers -- Fiction
France -- History -- Louis XV, 1715-1774 -- Fiction
France -- Kings and rulers -- Paramours -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Louis -- XV, -- King of France, -- 1710-1774 -- Fiction
Mailly, Louise Julie, -- comtesse de, -- 1710-1751 -- Fiction
Vintimille Du Luc, Pauline de Mailly-Nesle, -- marquise de, -- 1712-1741 -- Fiction
title_display
The sisters of Versailles : a novel
title_full
The sisters of Versailles : a novel / Sally Christie
The sisters of Versailles : a novel [electronic resource] / Sally Christie
title_short
The sisters of Versailles
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Châteauroux, Marie Anne de Mailly-Nesle
Châteauroux, Marie Anne de Mailly-Nesle
Court and courtiers
History
Kings and rulers
Louis
Mailly, Louise Julie
Paramours
Vintimille Du Luc, Pauline de Mailly-Nesle

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
hoopla:MWT11427777Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11427777?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b23777242.i7263246xNorth NatomasFICTION Christie, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfnntag

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT11427777eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishTantor Media, Inc20151 online resource (1 audio file (15hr., 15 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b23777242BookBooksFirst Atria paperback editionEnglishAtria Books2015420 pages ; 22 cm.

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT11427777Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b23777242.i7263246xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911