Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

My fair junkie: a memoir of getting dirty and staying clean

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description
A former stand-up comic and prolific online writer chronicles her twenty-year battle with sex, drug, and alcohol addiction, and what happened when she finally emerged on the other side.
"Growing up in Beverly Hills, Amy Dresner had it all: a top-notch private school education, the most expensive summer camps, and even a weekly clothing allowance. But at 24, she started dabbling in meth in San Francisco and unleashed a fiendish addiction monster. Soon, if you could snort it, smoke it, or have sex with, she did. Smart and charming, with Daddy's money to fall back on, she sort of managed to keep it all together. But on Christmas Eve 2011 all of that changed when, high on Oxycontin, she stupidly 'brandished' a bread knife on her husband and was promptly arrested for 'felony domestic violence with a deadly weapon.' Within months, she found herself in the psych ward--and then penniless, divorced, and looking at 240 hours of court-ordered community service. For two years, assigned to a Hollywood Boulevard "chain gang," she swept up syringes (and worse) as she bounced from rehabs to halfway houses, all while struggling with sobriety, sex addiction, and starting over in her forties. In the tradition of Orange Is the New Black and Jerry Stahl's Permanent Midnight, Amy Dresner's My Fair Junkie is an insightful, darkly funny, and shamelessly honest memoir of one woman's battle with all forms of addiction, hitting rock bottom, and forging a path to a life worth living."
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780316430937
9780316430951
9780316430920
9781478976974
9780316430968
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDaa7d40cb-35d1-2698-0e07-a13ab643ca58
Grouping Titlemy fair junkie a memoir of getting dirty and staying clean
Grouping Authoramy dresner
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-01-19 02:26:39AM
Last Indexed2021-01-19 02:47:23AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780316430951

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorDresner, Amy,
author_displayDresner, Amy
available_at_catalogCarmichael
Fair Oaks
North Natomas
Walnut Grove
detailed_location_catalogCarmichael
Central
Fair Oaks
North Natomas
Walnut Grove
display_descriptionA former stand-up comic and prolific online writer chronicles her twenty-year battle with sex, drug, and alcohol addiction, and what happened when she finally emerged on the other side. "Growing up in Beverly Hills, Amy Dresner had it all: a top-notch private school education, the most expensive summer camps, and even a weekly clothing allowance. But at 24, she started dabbling in meth in San Francisco and unleashed a fiendish addiction monster. Soon, if you could snort it, smoke it, or have sex with, she did. Smart and charming, with Daddy's money to fall back on, she sort of managed to keep it all together. But on Christmas Eve 2011 all of that changed when, high on Oxycontin, she stupidly 'brandished' a bread knife on her husband and was promptly arrested for 'felony domestic violence with a deadly weapon.' Within months, she found herself in the psych ward--and then penniless, divorced, and looking at 240 hours of court-ordered community service. For two years, assigned to a Hollywood Boulevard "chain gang," she swept up syringes (and worse) as she bounced from rehabs to halfway houses, all while struggling with sobriety, sex addiction, and starting over in her forties. In the tradition of Orange Is the New Black and Jerry Stahl's Permanent Midnight, Amy Dresner's My Fair Junkie is an insightful, darkly funny, and shamelessly honest memoir of one woman's battle with all forms of addiction, hitting rock bottom, and forging a path to a life worth living."
format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
idaa7d40cb-35d1-2698-0e07-a13ab643ca58
isbn9780316430920
9780316430937
9780316430951
9780316430968
9781478976974
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:b12464c0-6fea-46e5-8c4d-bf8d6cc5758f-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
ils:.b24980730.i7663033xCentral616.86 D773 20171falsefalseDue Jan 12, 2021cenag
ils:.b24980730.i76630341Fair Oaks616.86 D773 20171falsefalseOn Shelffaiag
ils:.b24980730.i76630377North Natomas616.86 D773 20171falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
ils:.b24980730.i76630365Walnut Grove616.86 D773 20171falsefalseOn Shelfwalag
ils:.b24980730.i76630353Carmichael616.86 D773 20171falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
itype_catalogAdult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed2021-01-19T10:47:23.004Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog616.86 D773 2017
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCarmichael
Central
Fair Oaks
North Natomas
Walnut Grove
primary_isbn9780316430937
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b26142193BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishHachette Books, 2017.242 pages ; 24 cm
overdrive:b12464c0-6fea-46e5-8c4d-bf8d6cc5758feBookeBookEnglishHachette Books2017
ils:.b24980730BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishHachette Books, 2017.242 pages ; 24 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:b12464c0-6fea-46e5-8c4d-bf8d6cc5758f-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24980730.i7663033xChecked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24980730.i76630341On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24980730.i76630377On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24980730.i76630365On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24980730.i76630353On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
subject_facetAddicts
Addicts -- Rehabilitation
Addicts -- Rehabilitation -- United States
Addicts -- United States -- Biography
Autobiographies
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY -- Personal Memoirs
Biography
Dresner, Amy
Drug addicts
Drug addicts -- United States -- Biography
Nonfiction
Substance abuse
Substance abuse -- United States
United States
title_displayMy fair junkie : a memoir of getting dirty and staying clean
title_fullMy Fair Junkie A Memoir of Getting Dirty and Staying Clean
My fair junkie : a memoir of getting dirty and staying clean / Amy Dresner
title_shortMy fair junkie
title_suba memoir of getting dirty and staying clean
topic_facetAddicts
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY
Biography & Autobiography
Dresner, Amy
Drug addicts
Nonfiction
Personal Memoirs
Psychology
Rehabilitation
Self-Improvement
Substance abuse