We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

My fair junkie: a memoir of getting dirty and staying clean

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description
A former stand-up comic and prolific online writer chronicles her twenty-year battle with sex, drug, and alcohol addiction, and what happened when she finally emerged on the other side.
"Growing up in Beverly Hills, Amy Dresner had it all: a top-notch private school education, the most expensive summer camps, and even a weekly clothing allowance. But at 24, she started dabbling in meth in San Francisco and unleashed a fiendish addiction monster. Soon, if you could snort it, smoke it, or have sex with, she did. Smart and charming, with Daddy's money to fall back on, she sort of managed to keep it all together. But on Christmas Eve 2011 all of that changed when, high on Oxycontin, she stupidly 'brandished' a bread knife on her husband and was promptly arrested for 'felony domestic violence with a deadly weapon.' Within months, she found herself in the psych ward--and then penniless, divorced, and looking at 240 hours of court-ordered community service. For two years, assigned to a Hollywood Boulevard "chain gang," she swept up syringes (and worse) as she bounced from rehabs to halfway houses, all while struggling with sobriety, sex addiction, and starting over in her forties. In the tradition of Orange Is the New Black and Jerry Stahl's Permanent Midnight, Amy Dresner's My Fair Junkie is an insightful, darkly funny, and shamelessly honest memoir of one woman's battle with all forms of addiction, hitting rock bottom, and forging a path to a life worth living."
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780316430937
9780316430951
9780316430920
9781478976974
9780316430968
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDaa7d40cb-35d1-2698-0e07-a13ab643ca58
Grouping Titlemy fair junkie a memoir of getting dirty and staying clean
Grouping Authoramy dresner
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-12-01 02:08:38AM
Last Indexed2021-12-01 02:49:58AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780316430951

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorDresner, Amy,
author_displayDresner, Amy
available_at_catalogCentral
Fair Oaks
Walnut Grove
detailed_location_catalogCarmichael
Central
Fair Oaks
Walnut Grove
display_descriptionA former stand-up comic and prolific online writer chronicles her twenty-year battle with sex, drug, and alcohol addiction, and what happened when she finally emerged on the other side. "Growing up in Beverly Hills, Amy Dresner had it all: a top-notch private school education, the most expensive summer camps, and even a weekly clothing allowance. But at 24, she started dabbling in meth in San Francisco and unleashed a fiendish addiction monster. Soon, if you could snort it, smoke it, or have sex with, she did. Smart and charming, with Daddy's money to fall back on, she sort of managed to keep it all together. But on Christmas Eve 2011 all of that changed when, high on Oxycontin, she stupidly 'brandished' a bread knife on her husband and was promptly arrested for 'felony domestic violence with a deadly weapon.' Within months, she found herself in the psych ward--and then penniless, divorced, and looking at 240 hours of court-ordered community service. For two years, assigned to a Hollywood Boulevard "chain gang," she swept up syringes (and worse) as she bounced from rehabs to halfway houses, all while struggling with sobriety, sex addiction, and starting over in her forties. In the tradition of Orange Is the New Black and Jerry Stahl's Permanent Midnight, Amy Dresner's My Fair Junkie is an insightful, darkly funny, and shamelessly honest memoir of one woman's battle with all forms of addiction, hitting rock bottom, and forging a path to a life worth living."
format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
idaa7d40cb-35d1-2698-0e07-a13ab643ca58
isbn9780316430920
9780316430937
9780316430951
9780316430968
9781478976974
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:b12464c0-6fea-46e5-8c4d-bf8d6cc5758f-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
ils:.b24980730.i76630377Fair Oaks616.86 D773 20171falsefalseOn Shelffaiag
ils:.b24980730.i76630353Carmichael616.86 D773 20171falsefalseDue Dec 7, 2021carag
ils:.b24980730.i7663033xCentral616.86 D773 20171falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b24980730.i76630341Fair Oaks616.86 D773 20171falsefalseOFF CAMPUSfaiag
ils:.b24980730.i76630365Walnut Grove616.86 D773 20171falsefalseOn Shelfwalag
itype_catalogAdult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed2021-12-01T10:49:58.565Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog616.86 D773 2017
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCarmichael
Central
Fair Oaks
Walnut Grove
primary_isbn9780316430937
publishDate2017
publisherHachette Books
Hachette Books,
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b26142193BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishHachette Books, 2017.242 pages ; 24 cm
overdrive:b12464c0-6fea-46e5-8c4d-bf8d6cc5758feBookeBookEnglishHachette Books2017
ils:.b24980730BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishHachette Books, 2017.242 pages ; 24 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:b12464c0-6fea-46e5-8c4d-bf8d6cc5758f-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24980730.i76630377On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24980730.i76630353Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24980730.i7663033xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24980730.i76630341Currently UnavailableOFF CAMPUSfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24980730.i76630365On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
subject_facetAddicts
Addicts -- Rehabilitation
Addicts -- Rehabilitation -- United States
Addicts -- United States -- Biography
Autobiographies
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY -- Personal Memoirs
Biography
Dresner, Amy
Drug addicts
Drug addicts -- United States -- Biography
Nonfiction
Substance abuse
Substance abuse -- United States
United States
title_displayMy fair junkie : a memoir of getting dirty and staying clean
title_fullMy Fair Junkie A Memoir of Getting Dirty and Staying Clean
My fair junkie : a memoir of getting dirty and staying clean / Amy Dresner
title_shortMy fair junkie
title_suba memoir of getting dirty and staying clean
topic_facetAddicts
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY
Biography & Autobiography
Dresner, Amy
Drug addicts
Nonfiction
Personal Memoirs
Psychology
Rehabilitation
Self-Improvement
Substance abuse