We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Among the lesser gods: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"For fans of authors like Barbara Kingsolver and Leif Enger, a stunning new voice in contemporary literary fiction. "Tragedy and blessing. Leave them alone long enough, and it gets real hard to tell them apart." Elena Alvarez is living a cursed life. From the deadly fire she accidentally set as a child, to her mother's abandonment, and now to an unwanted pregnancy, she knows better than most that small actions can have terrible consequences. Driven to the high mountains surrounding Leadville, Colorado by her latest bad decision, she's intent on putting off the future. Perhaps there she can just hide in her grandmother's isolated cabin and wait for something-anything-to make her next choice for her. Instead, she is confronted by reflections of her own troubles wherever she turns-the recent widower and his two children adrift in a changed world, Elena's own mysterious family history, and the interwoven lives within the town itself. Bit by bit, Elena begins to question her understanding of cause and effect, reexamining the tragedies she's held on to and the wounds she's refused to let heal. But when the children go missing, Elena's fragile new peace is shattered. It's only at the prospect of fresh loss and blame that she will discover the truth of the terrible burdens we take upon ourselves, the way tragedy and redemption are inevitably intertwined-and how curses can sometimes lead to blessings, however disguised"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781628727395
9781628727401
9781666574937
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDa9a80c3b-bd38-9860-220d-bd5122a81536
Grouping Titleamong the lesser gods
Grouping Authormargo catts
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-05-21 02:10:58AM
Last Indexed2024-05-21 02:21:14AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Farrell, Cynthia
author
Catts, Margo
author2-role
Farrell, Cynthia,reader
hoopla digital
author_display
Catts, Margo
available_at_catalog
Central
North Natomas
South Natomas
detailed_location_catalog
Central
North Natomas
South Natomas
display_description
"For fans of authors like Barbara Kingsolver and Leif Enger, a stunning new voice in contemporary literary fiction. "Tragedy and blessing. Leave them alone long enough, and it gets real hard to tell them apart." Elena Alvarez is living a cursed life. From the deadly fire she accidentally set as a child, to her mother's abandonment, and now to an unwanted pregnancy, she knows better than most that small actions can have terrible consequences. Driven to the high mountains surrounding Leadville, Colorado by her latest bad decision, she's intent on putting off the future. Perhaps there she can just hide in her grandmother's isolated cabin and wait for something-anything-to make her next choice for her. Instead, she is confronted by reflections of her own troubles wherever she turns-the recent widower and his two children adrift in a changed world, Elena's own mysterious family history, and the interwoven lives within the town itself. Bit by bit, Elena begins to question her understanding of cause and effect, reexamining the tragedies she's held on to and the wounds she's refused to let heal. But when the children go missing, Elena's fragile new peace is shattered. It's only at the prospect of fresh loss and blame that she will discover the truth of the terrible burdens we take upon ourselves, the way tragedy and redemption are inevitably intertwined-and how curses can sometimes lead to blessings, however disguised"--
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
a9a80c3b-bd38-9860-220d-bd5122a81536
isbn
9781628727395
9781628727401
9781666574937
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2024-05-21T09:21:14.881Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Catts, M.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Central
North Natomas
South Natomas
primary_isbn
9781628727395
publishDate
2017
2019
publisher
Arcade
Arcade Publishing
Dreamscape Media
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Coming of age -- Fiction
Detective and mystery fiction
Electronic books
Families -- Fiction
Fiction
Literature -- Fiction
Psychological fiction
Rural development -- Fiction
Suspense fiction
Thrillers (Fiction)
Women -- Colorado -- Fiction
Women -- Fiction
title_display
Among the lesser gods : a novel
title_full
Among the Lesser Gods [electronic resource] / Margo Catts
Among the Lesser Gods: a Novel
Among the lesser gods : a novel / Margo Catts
title_short
Among the lesser gods
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Coming of age
Electronic books
Families
Fiction
Literature
Rural development
Women

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
hoopla:MWT12291146Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12291146?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
ils:.b25008705.i76329525South NatomasFICTION Catts, M.1falsefalseOn Shelfnatag
ils:.b25008705.i76329513North NatomasFICTION Catts, M.1falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
ils:.b25008705.i76329501CentralFICTION Catts, M.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
overdrive:94df764c-bfea-41b6-9bcc-d8f9dba0366b-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT12356932Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12356932?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT12291146eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishDreamscape Media20191 online resource (1 audio file (11hr., 10 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b25008705BookBooksFirst editionEnglishArcade Publishing[2017]323 pages ; 24 cm
overdrive:94df764c-bfea-41b6-9bcc-d8f9dba0366beBookeBookEnglishArcade2017
hoopla:MWT12356932eBookeBookEnglishArcade20171 online resource (336 pages)

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT12291146Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b25008705.i76329525On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b25008705.i76329513On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b25008705.i76329501On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
overdrive:94df764c-bfea-41b6-9bcc-d8f9dba0366b-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT12356932Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse