Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Among the lesser gods: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"For fans of authors like Barbara Kingsolver and Leif Enger, a stunning new voice in contemporary literary fiction. "Tragedy and blessing. Leave them alone long enough, and it gets real hard to tell them apart." Elena Alvarez is living a cursed life. From the deadly fire she accidentally set as a child, to her mother's abandonment, and now to an unwanted pregnancy, she knows better than most that small actions can have terrible consequences. Driven to the high mountains surrounding Leadville, Colorado by her latest bad decision, she's intent on putting off the future. Perhaps there she can just hide in her grandmother's isolated cabin and wait for something-anything-to make her next choice for her. Instead, she is confronted by reflections of her own troubles wherever she turns-the recent widower and his two children adrift in a changed world, Elena's own mysterious family history, and the interwoven lives within the town itself. Bit by bit, Elena begins to question her understanding of cause and effect, reexamining the tragedies she's held on to and the wounds she's refused to let heal. But when the children go missing, Elena's fragile new peace is shattered. It's only at the prospect of fresh loss and blame that she will discover the truth of the terrible burdens we take upon ourselves, the way tragedy and redemption are inevitably intertwined-and how curses can sometimes lead to blessings, however disguised"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781628727395
9781628727401
9781974931590
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDa9a80c3b-bd38-9860-220d-bd5122a81536
Grouping Titleamong the lesser gods
Grouping Authormargo catts
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-02-27 02:28:01AM
Last Indexed2021-02-27 04:01:18AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781974931576

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Farrell, Cynthia,
authorMargo Catts
author2-roleFarrell, Cynthia,narrator.
hoopla digital.
author_displayCatts, Margo
available_at_catalogCarmichael
Central
detailed_location_catalogCarmichael
Central
display_description"For fans of authors like Barbara Kingsolver and Leif Enger, a stunning new voice in contemporary literary fiction. "Tragedy and blessing. Leave them alone long enough, and it gets real hard to tell them apart." Elena Alvarez is living a cursed life. From the deadly fire she accidentally set as a child, to her mother's abandonment, and now to an unwanted pregnancy, she knows better than most that small actions can have terrible consequences. Driven to the high mountains surrounding Leadville, Colorado by her latest bad decision, she's intent on putting off the future. Perhaps there she can just hide in her grandmother's isolated cabin and wait for something-anything-to make her next choice for her. Instead, she is confronted by reflections of her own troubles wherever she turns-the recent widower and his two children adrift in a changed world, Elena's own mysterious family history, and the interwoven lives within the town itself. Bit by bit, Elena begins to question her understanding of cause and effect, reexamining the tragedies she's held on to and the wounds she's refused to let heal. But when the children go missing, Elena's fragile new peace is shattered. It's only at the prospect of fresh loss and blame that she will discover the truth of the terrible burdens we take upon ourselves, the way tragedy and redemption are inevitably intertwined-and how curses can sometimes lead to blessings, however disguised"--
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
ida9a80c3b-bd38-9860-220d-bd5122a81536
isbn9781628727395
9781628727401
9781974931590
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT12291146Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12291146?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b25008705.i76329501CentralFICTION Catts, M.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b25008705.i76329513CarmichaelFICTION Catts, M.1falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
overdrive:94df764c-bfea-41b6-9bcc-d8f9dba0366b-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
hoopla:MWT12356932Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12356932Available Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-02-27T12:01:18.138Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Catts, M.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCarmichael
Central
primary_isbn9781628727395
publishDate2017
2019
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT12291146eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishDreamscape Media, LLC, 2019.1 online resource (1 audio file (11hr., 10 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b25008705BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishArcade Publishing, [2017]323 pages ; 24 cm
overdrive:94df764c-bfea-41b6-9bcc-d8f9dba0366beBookeBookEnglishArcade2017
hoopla:MWT12356932eBookeBookEnglishArcade, 2017.1 online resource
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT12291146Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b25008705.i76329501On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25008705.i76329513On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
overdrive:94df764c-bfea-41b6-9bcc-d8f9dba0366b-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT12356932Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetElectronic books
Guilt -- Fiction
Missing children -- Fiction
Suspense fiction
Thrillers (Fiction)
Women -- Colorado -- Fiction
title_displayAmong the lesser gods : a novel
title_fullAmong the Lesser Gods A Novel
Among the lesser gods : a novel / Margo Catts
Among the lesser gods : a novel [electronic resource] / Margo Catts
title_shortAmong the lesser gods
title_suba novel
topic_facetElectronic books
Fiction
Guilt
Literature
Missing children
Women