New holds can be placed for curbside pickup locations only. Sacramento Public Library locations remained closed to all but select curbside pickup locations in response to public health recommendations. See the Library Coronavirus Action Plan

Marooned: Jamestown, shipwreck, and a new history of America's orginin

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Bloomsbury Publishing,
Pub. Date:
2018.
Language:
English
Description
"For readers of Nathaniel Philbrick's Mayflower, a groundbreaking history that makes the case for replacing Plymouth Rock with Jamestown as America's founding myth. We all know the great American origin story. It begins with an exodus. Fleeing religious persecution, the hardworking, pious Pilgrims thrived in the wilds of New England, where they built their fabled city on a hill. Legend goes that the colony in Jamestown was a false start, offering a cautionary tale. Lazy louts hunted gold till they starved, and the shiftless settlers had to be rescued by English food and the hard discipline of martial law. Neither story is true. In Marooned, Joseph Kelly reexamines the history of Jamestown and comes to a radically different and decidedly American interpretation of these first Virginians. In this gripping account of shipwrecks and mutiny in America's earliest settlements, Kelly argues that the colonists at Jamestown were literally and figuratively marooned, cut loose from civilization, and cast into the wilderness. The British caste system meant little on this frontier: those who wanted to survive had to learn to work and fight and intermingle with the nearby native populations. Ten years before the Mayflower Compact and decades before Hobbes and Locke, they invented the idea of government by the people. 150 years before Jefferson, they discovered the truth that all men were equal. The epic origin of America was not an exodus and a fledgling theocracy. It is a tale of shipwrecked castaways of all classes marooned in the wilderness fending for themselves in any way they could--a story that illuminates who we are today"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781632867773
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDa68a6896-7738-aa6b-335e-d024bd9ef130
Grouping Titlemarooned jamestown shipwreck and a new history of americas orginin
Grouping Authorkelly joseph
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-07-02 02:38:44AM
Last Indexed2020-07-11 02:32:38AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorKelly, Joseph, 1962-
author_displayKelly, Joseph
available_at_catalogArden-Dimick
Carmichael
Rancho Cordova
Rio Linda
Valley Hi-North Laguna
detailed_location_catalogArden-Dimick
Carmichael
Galt
Rancho Cordova
Rio Linda
Valley Hi-North Laguna
display_description"For readers of Nathaniel Philbrick's Mayflower, a groundbreaking history that makes the case for replacing Plymouth Rock with Jamestown as America's founding myth. We all know the great American origin story. It begins with an exodus. Fleeing religious persecution, the hardworking, pious Pilgrims thrived in the wilds of New England, where they built their fabled city on a hill. Legend goes that the colony in Jamestown was a false start, offering a cautionary tale. Lazy louts hunted gold till they starved, and the shiftless settlers had to be rescued by English food and the hard discipline of martial law. Neither story is true. In Marooned, Joseph Kelly reexamines the history of Jamestown and comes to a radically different and decidedly American interpretation of these first Virginians. In this gripping account of shipwrecks and mutiny in America's earliest settlements, Kelly argues that the colonists at Jamestown were literally and figuratively marooned, cut loose from civilization, and cast into the wilderness. The British caste system meant little on this frontier: those who wanted to survive had to learn to work and fight and intermingle with the nearby native populations. Ten years before the Mayflower Compact and decades before Hobbes and Locke, they invented the idea of government by the people. 150 years before Jefferson, they discovered the truth that all men were equal. The epic origin of America was not an exodus and a fledgling theocracy. It is a tale of shipwrecked castaways of all classes marooned in the wilderness fending for themselves in any way they could--a story that illuminates who we are today"--
format_catalogBook
format_category_catalogBooks
ida68a6896-7738-aa6b-335e-d024bd9ef130
isbn9781632867773
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b25809064.i79655154Valley Hi-North Laguna975.54251 K297 20181falsefalseOn Shelfvalag
ils:.b25809064.i79655166Rio Linda975.54251 K297 20181falsefalseOn Shelfrioag
ils:.b25809064.i80865513Galt975.54251 K297 20181falsefalseDue Jul 31, 2020galag
ils:.b25809064.i79655130Arden-Dimick975.54251 K297 20181falsefalseOn Shelfardag
ils:.b25809064.i80154761Rancho Cordova975.54251 K297 20181falsefalseOn Shelfranag
ils:.b25809064.i79655178Carmichael975.54251 K297 20181falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
itype_catalogAdult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed2020-07-11T09:32:38.258Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog975.54251 K297 2018
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogArden-Dimick
Carmichael
Galt
Rancho Cordova
Rio Linda
Valley Hi-North Laguna
primary_isbn9781632867773
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b25809064BookBooksEnglishBloomsbury Publishing, 2018.ix, 500 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b25809064.i79655154On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25809064.i79655166On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25809064.i80865513Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25809064.i79655130On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25809064.i80154761On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25809064.i79655178On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
subject_facetFrontier and pioneer life -- Virginia -- Jamestown
Jamestown (Va.) -- History -- 17th century
Virginia -- History -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775
title_displayMarooned : Jamestown, shipwreck, and a new history of America's orginin
title_fullMarooned : Jamestown, shipwreck, and a new history of America's orginin / Joseph Kelly
title_shortMarooned
title_subJamestown, shipwreck, and a new history of America's orginin
topic_facetFrontier and pioneer life
History