Marooned: Jamestown, shipwreck, and a new history of America's orginin

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Bloomsbury Publishing,
Pub. Date:
2018.
Language:
English
Description
"For readers of Nathaniel Philbrick's Mayflower, a groundbreaking history that makes the case for replacing Plymouth Rock with Jamestown as America's founding myth. We all know the great American origin story. It begins with an exodus. Fleeing religious persecution, the hardworking, pious Pilgrims thrived in the wilds of New England, where they built their fabled city on a hill. Legend goes that the colony in Jamestown was a false start, offering a cautionary tale. Lazy louts hunted gold till they starved, and the shiftless settlers had to be rescued by English food and the hard discipline of martial law. Neither story is true. In Marooned, Joseph Kelly reexamines the history of Jamestown and comes to a radically different and decidedly American interpretation of these first Virginians. In this gripping account of shipwrecks and mutiny in America's earliest settlements, Kelly argues that the colonists at Jamestown were literally and figuratively marooned, cut loose from civilization, and cast into the wilderness. The British caste system meant little on this frontier: those who wanted to survive had to learn to work and fight and intermingle with the nearby native populations. Ten years before the Mayflower Compact and decades before Hobbes and Locke, they invented the idea of government by the people. 150 years before Jefferson, they discovered the truth that all men were equal. The epic origin of America was not an exodus and a fledgling theocracy. It is a tale of shipwrecked castaways of all classes marooned in the wilderness fending for themselves in any way they could--a story that illuminates who we are today"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781632867773
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID a68a6896-7738-aa6b-335e-d024bd9ef130
Grouping Title marooned jamestown shipwreck and a new history of americas orginin
Grouping Author kelly joseph
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-05-15 01:47:57AM
Last Indexed 2019-05-23 02:08:29AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Kelly, Joseph, 1962-
author_display Kelly, Joseph
available_at_catalog Carmichael, Central, Rancho Cordova, Rio Linda, Valley Hi-North Laguna
detailed_location_catalog Carmichael, Central New Books - 1st Floor, Rancho Cordova, Rio Linda, Valley Hi-North Laguna
display_description "For readers of Nathaniel Philbrick's Mayflower, a groundbreaking history that makes the case for replacing Plymouth Rock with Jamestown as America's founding myth. We all know the great American origin story. It begins with an exodus. Fleeing religious persecution, the hardworking, pious Pilgrims thrived in the wilds of New England, where they built their fabled city on a hill. Legend goes that the colony in Jamestown was a false start, offering a cautionary tale. Lazy louts hunted gold till they starved, and the shiftless settlers had to be rescued by English food and the hard discipline of martial law. Neither story is true. In Marooned, Joseph Kelly reexamines the history of Jamestown and comes to a radically different and decidedly American interpretation of these first Virginians. In this gripping account of shipwrecks and mutiny in America's earliest settlements, Kelly argues that the colonists at Jamestown were literally and figuratively marooned, cut loose from civilization, and cast into the wilderness. The British caste system meant little on this frontier: those who wanted to survive had to learn to work and fight and intermingle with the nearby native populations. Ten years before the Mayflower Compact and decades before Hobbes and Locke, they invented the idea of government by the people. 150 years before Jefferson, they discovered the truth that all men were equal. The epic origin of America was not an exodus and a fledgling theocracy. It is a tale of shipwrecked castaways of all classes marooned in the wilderness fending for themselves in any way they could--a story that illuminates who we are today"--
format_catalog Book
format_category_catalog Books
id a68a6896-7738-aa6b-335e-d024bd9ef130
isbn 9781632867773
item_details ils:.b25809064|.i79655130|Carmichael|975.54251 K297 2018|||1|false|false|||||Due May 7, 2019||cara||, ils:.b25809064|.i79655142|Central New Books - 1st Floor|975.54251 K297 2018|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||cenad||, ils:.b25809064|.i79655154|Valley Hi-North Laguna|975.54251 K297 2018|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||vala||, ils:.b25809064|.i79655166|Rio Linda|975.54251 K297 2018|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||rioa||, ils:.b25809064|.i79655178|Carmichael|975.54251 K297 2018|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||cara||, ils:.b25809064|.i80154761|Rancho Cordova|975.54251 K297 2018|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||rana||
itype_catalog Adult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed 2019-05-23T09:08:29.552Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog 975.54251 K297 2018
local_time_since_added_catalog Year
owning_library_catalog Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog Carmichael, Central, Rancho Cordova, Rio Linda, Valley Hi-North Laguna
primary_isbn 9781632867773
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:.b25809064|Book|Books||English|Bloomsbury Publishing,|2018.|ix, 500 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b25809064 .i79655130 Checked Out Checked Out false false true true false true 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120 11
ils:.b25809064 .i79655142 On Shelf On Shelf false true true true false true 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120 11
ils:.b25809064 .i79655154 On Shelf On Shelf false true true true false true 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120 11
ils:.b25809064 .i80154761 On Shelf On Shelf false true true true false true 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120 11
ils:.b25809064 .i79655178 On Shelf On Shelf false true true true false true 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120 11
ils:.b25809064 .i79655166 On Shelf On Shelf false true true true false true 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120 11
subject_facet Frontier and pioneer life -- Virginia -- Jamestown, Jamestown (Va.) -- History -- 17th century, Virginia -- History -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775
title_display Marooned : Jamestown, shipwreck, and a new history of America's orginin
title_full Marooned : Jamestown, shipwreck, and a new history of America's orginin / Joseph Kelly
title_short Marooned :
title_sub Jamestown, shipwreck, and a new history of America's orginin
topic_facet Frontier and pioneer life, History