Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Secrets of Nanreath Hall: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2016.
Language:
English
Description
"This incredible debut historical novel--in the tradition of Beatriz Williams and Jennifer Robson--tells the fascinating story of a young mother who flees her home on the rocky cliffs of Cornwall and the daughter who finds her way back, seeking answers. Cornwall, 1940. Back in England after the harrowing evacuation at Dunkirk, WWII Red Cross nurse Anna Trenowyth is shocked to learn her adoptive parents Graham and Prue Handley have been killed in an air raid. She desperately needs their advice as she's been assigned to the military hospital that has set up camp inside her biological mother's childhood home--Nanreath Hall. Anna was just six-years-old when her mother, Lady Katherine Trenowyth, died. All she has left are vague memories that tease her with clues she can't unravel. Anna's assignment to Nanreath Hall could be the chance for her to finally become acquainted with the family she's never known--and to unbury the truth and secrets surrounding her past. Cornwall, 1913. In the luxury of pre-WWI England, Lady Katherine Trenowyth is expected to do nothing more than make a smart marriage and have a respectable life. When Simon Halliday, a bohemian painter, enters her world, Katherine begins to question the future that was so carefully laid out for her. Her choices begin to lead her away from the stability of her home and family toward a wild existence of life, art, and love. But as everything begins to fall apart, Katherine finds herself destitute and alone. As Anna is drawn into her newfound family's lives and their tangled loyalties, she discovers herself at the center of old heartbreaks and unbearable tragedies, leaving her to decide if the secrets of the past are too dangerous to unearth.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780062433183
9780062643209
9780062433190
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID9853c512-22c2-73c9-24bf-a4773723008b
Grouping Titlesecrets of nanreath hall
Grouping Authoralix rickloff
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-29 02:28:17AM
Last Indexed2020-10-29 02:55:23AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780062433183

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Irwin, Lauren,
Waddell, Laura,
authorAlix Rickloff
author2-roleIrwin, Lauren,narrator.
Waddell, Laura,narrator.
hoopla digital.
author_displayRickloff, Alix
available_at_catalogCentral
detailed_location_catalogCentral
display_description"This incredible debut historical novel--in the tradition of Beatriz Williams and Jennifer Robson--tells the fascinating story of a young mother who flees her home on the rocky cliffs of Cornwall and the daughter who finds her way back, seeking answers. Cornwall, 1940. Back in England after the harrowing evacuation at Dunkirk, WWII Red Cross nurse Anna Trenowyth is shocked to learn her adoptive parents Graham and Prue Handley have been killed in an air raid. She desperately needs their advice as she's been assigned to the military hospital that has set up camp inside her biological mother's childhood home--Nanreath Hall. Anna was just six-years-old when her mother, Lady Katherine Trenowyth, died. All she has left are vague memories that tease her with clues she can't unravel. Anna's assignment to Nanreath Hall could be the chance for her to finally become acquainted with the family she's never known--and to unbury the truth and secrets surrounding her past. Cornwall, 1913. In the luxury of pre-WWI England, Lady Katherine Trenowyth is expected to do nothing more than make a smart marriage and have a respectable life. When Simon Halliday, a bohemian painter, enters her world, Katherine begins to question the future that was so carefully laid out for her. Her choices begin to lead her away from the stability of her home and family toward a wild existence of life, art, and love. But as everything begins to fall apart, Katherine finds herself destitute and alone. As Anna is drawn into her newfound family's lives and their tangled loyalties, she discovers herself at the center of old heartbreaks and unbearable tragedies, leaving her to decide if the secrets of the past are too dangerous to unearth.
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id9853c512-22c2-73c9-24bf-a4773723008b
isbn9780062433183
9780062433190
9780062643209
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT11664685Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11664685?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT12457435Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12457435?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:230c61cf-6308-4056-aeb7-5a9d44b90e6c-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b24354922.i74469253CentralFICTION Rickloff, A.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2020-10-29T09:55:23.678Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Rickloff, A.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCentral
primary_isbn9780062433183
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
hoopla:MWT11664685eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishHarperAudio, 2016.1 online resource (1 audio file (12hr., 10 min.)) : digital.
hoopla:MWT12457435eBookeBookEnglishHarper Collins Publishers, 2016.1 online resource
overdrive:230c61cf-6308-4056-aeb7-5a9d44b90e6ceBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2016
ils:.b24354922BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishWilliam Morrow, 2016.391 pages ; 21 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT11664685Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT12457435Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:230c61cf-6308-4056-aeb7-5a9d44b90e6c-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24354922.i74469253On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
subject_facetElectronic books
Families -- England -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Love stories
Romantic suspense fiction
World War, 1914-1918 -- England -- Fiction
World War, 1939-1945 -- England -- Fiction
Young women -- England -- Fiction
title_displaySecrets of Nanreath Hall : a novel
title_fullSecrets of Nanreath Hall : a novel / Alix Rickloff
Secrets of Nanreath Hall : a novel [electronic resource] / Alix Rickloff
Secrets of Nanreath Hall A Novel
title_shortSecrets of Nanreath Hall
title_suba novel
topic_facetElectronic books
Families
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Literature
Romance
World War, 1914-1918
World War, 1939-1945
Young women