We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The great suppression: voting rights, corporate cash, and the conservative assault on democracy

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"A deeply reported look inside the new conservative movement working to undermine American democracy. Control of the country is up for grabs--and Republicans have been rigging the game in their favor. Twenty-two states have passed restrictions on voting. Ruthless gerrymandering has given the GOP a long-term grip on Congress. Meanwhile, the Supreme Court has eviscerated campaign finance laws, boosting candidates backed by big money. It would be worrying enough if these were just schemes for partisan advantage. But the reality is even more disturbing. As reporter Zachary Roth reveals, a growing number of Republicans distrust the very idea of democracy--and they're doing everything they can to limit it. In The Great Suppression, Roth unearths the deep historical roots of this anti-egalitarian worldview, and introduces us to its modern-day proponents: The GOP officials pushing to make it harder to cast a ballot; the lawyers looking to scrap all limits on money in politics; the libertarian scholars reclaiming judicial activism to roll back the New Deal; and the corporate lobbyists working to ban local action on everything from the minimum wage to the environment. And he travels from Rust Belt cities to southern towns to show us how these efforts are hurting the most vulnerable Americans and preventing progress on pressing issues. A sharp, searing polemic in the tradition of Rachel Maddow and Matt Taibbi, The Great Suppressionis an urgent wake-up call about a threat to our most cherished values, and a rousing argument for why we need democracy now more than ever"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781101905777
9781101905784
9781504704144
9781982499327
9781101905760
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID98418796-4b44-fcc6-6637-db46c6014b53
Grouping Titlegreat suppression voting rights corporate cash and the conservative assault on democracy
Grouping Authorzachary roth
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-08-08 02:08:34AM
Last Indexed2022-08-08 02:50:02AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Villa, Zach
author
Roth, Zachary
author2-role
Villa, Zach,narrator
hoopla digital
author_display
Roth, Zachary
available_at_catalog
Central
Isleton
North Highlands-Antelope
detailed_location_catalog
Central
Colonial Heights
Isleton
North Highlands-Antelope
Sacramento Public Library Storage
display_description
"A deeply reported look inside the new conservative movement working to undermine American democracy. Control of the country is up for grabs--and Republicans have been rigging the game in their favor. Twenty-two states have passed restrictions on voting. Ruthless gerrymandering has given the GOP a long-term grip on Congress. Meanwhile, the Supreme Court has eviscerated campaign finance laws, boosting candidates backed by big money. It would be worrying enough if these were just schemes for partisan advantage. But the reality is even more disturbing. As reporter Zachary Roth reveals, a growing number of Republicans distrust the very idea of democracy--and they're doing everything they can to limit it. In The Great Suppression, Roth unearths the deep historical roots of this anti-egalitarian worldview, and introduces us to its modern-day proponents: The GOP officials pushing to make it harder to cast a ballot; the lawyers looking to scrap all limits on money in politics; the libertarian scholars reclaiming judicial activism to roll back the New Deal; and the corporate lobbyists working to ban local action on everything from the minimum wage to the environment. And he travels from Rust Belt cities to southern towns to show us how these efforts are hurting the most vulnerable Americans and preventing progress on pressing issues. A sharp, searing polemic in the tradition of Rachel Maddow and Matt Taibbi, The Great Suppressionis an urgent wake-up call about a threat to our most cherished values, and a rousing argument for why we need democracy now more than ever"--
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
98418796-4b44-fcc6-6637-db46c6014b53
isbn
9781101905760
9781101905777
9781101905784
9781504704144
9781982499327
itype_catalog
Adult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed
2022-08-08T09:50:02.724Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
320.52 R845 2016
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Central
Colonial Heights
Isleton
North Highlands-Antelope
primary_isbn
9781101905777
publishDate
2016
2017
publisher
Blackstone Publishing
Crown
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Campaign funds -- United States
Conservatism -- United States
Democracy -- United States
Political culture -- United States
Right-wing extremists -- United States
Voting -- United States
title_display
The great suppression : voting rights, corporate cash, and the conservative assault on democracy
title_full
The Great Suppression Voting Rights, Corporate Cash, and the Conservative Assault on Democracy
The great suppression : voting rights, corporate cash, and the conservative assault on democracy / Zachary Roth
The great suppression : voting rights, corporate cash, and the conservative assault on democracy [electronic resource] / Zachary Roth
title_short
The great suppression
title_sub
voting rights, corporate cash, and the conservative assault on democracy
topic_facet
Campaign funds
Conservatism
Democracy
History
Nonfiction
Political culture
Politics
Right-wing extremists
Voting

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
hoopla:MWT11679980Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11679980?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:61f0ce1e-916a-4e3d-a3be-a6772d9fbe20-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b24335915.i74440548Sacramento Public Library Storage320.52 R845 20161falsefalseOn Shelfhotag
ils:.b24335915.i74440536North Highlands-Antelope320.52 R845 20161falsefalseOn Shelfnhiag
ils:.b24335915.i74440524Central320.52 R845 20161falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b24335915.i74440561Isleton320.52 R845 20161falsefalseOn Shelfislag
ils:.b24335915.i7444055xColonial Heights320.52 R845 20161falsefalseDue Aug 20, 2022chsag
overdrive:8558a4d3-bb1e-4d9e-9a88-791350be801a-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT11679980eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishBlackstone Publishing20171 online resource (1 audio file (5hr., 05 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:61f0ce1e-916a-4e3d-a3be-a6772d9fbe20eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Publishing2016
ils:.b24335915BookBooksFirst editionEnglishCrown2016246 pages ; 22 cm
overdrive:8558a4d3-bb1e-4d9e-9a88-791350be801aeBookeBookEnglishCrown2016

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT11679980Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:61f0ce1e-916a-4e3d-a3be-a6772d9fbe20-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24335915.i74440548On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24335915.i74440536On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24335915.i74440524On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24335915.i74440561On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24335915.i7444055xChecked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
overdrive:8558a4d3-bb1e-4d9e-9a88-791350be801a-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse