Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The great suppression: voting rights, corporate cash, and the conservative assault on democracy

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"A deeply reported look inside the new conservative movement working to undermine American democracy. Control of the country is up for grabs--and Republicans have been rigging the game in their favor. Twenty-two states have passed restrictions on voting. Ruthless gerrymandering has given the GOP a long-term grip on Congress. Meanwhile, the Supreme Court has eviscerated campaign finance laws, boosting candidates backed by big money. It would be worrying enough if these were just schemes for partisan advantage. But the reality is even more disturbing. As reporter Zachary Roth reveals, a growing number of Republicans distrust the very idea of democracy--and they're doing everything they can to limit it. In The Great Suppression, Roth unearths the deep historical roots of this anti-egalitarian worldview, and introduces us to its modern-day proponents: The GOP officials pushing to make it harder to cast a ballot; the lawyers looking to scrap all limits on money in politics; the libertarian scholars reclaiming judicial activism to roll back the New Deal; and the corporate lobbyists working to ban local action on everything from the minimum wage to the environment. And he travels from Rust Belt cities to southern towns to show us how these efforts are hurting the most vulnerable Americans and preventing progress on pressing issues. A sharp, searing polemic in the tradition of Rachel Maddow and Matt Taibbi, The Great Suppressionis an urgent wake-up call about a threat to our most cherished values, and a rousing argument for why we need democracy now more than ever"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781101905777
9781101905784
9781504704144
9781982499327
9781101905760
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID98418796-4b44-fcc6-6637-db46c6014b53
Grouping Titlegreat suppression voting rights corporate cash and the conservative assault on democracy
Grouping Authorzachary roth
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-02-24 02:27:19AM
Last Indexed2021-02-24 02:53:24AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781101905760

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Villa, Zach,
authorRoth, Zachary.
author2-roleVilla, Zach,narrator.
hoopla digital.
author_displayRoth, Zachary
available_at_catalogCentral
Colonial Heights
Elk Grove
Isleton
North Highlands-Antelope
detailed_location_catalogCentral
Colonial Heights
Elk Grove
Isleton
North Highlands-Antelope
display_description"A deeply reported look inside the new conservative movement working to undermine American democracy. Control of the country is up for grabs--and Republicans have been rigging the game in their favor. Twenty-two states have passed restrictions on voting. Ruthless gerrymandering has given the GOP a long-term grip on Congress. Meanwhile, the Supreme Court has eviscerated campaign finance laws, boosting candidates backed by big money. It would be worrying enough if these were just schemes for partisan advantage. But the reality is even more disturbing. As reporter Zachary Roth reveals, a growing number of Republicans distrust the very idea of democracy--and they're doing everything they can to limit it. In The Great Suppression, Roth unearths the deep historical roots of this anti-egalitarian worldview, and introduces us to its modern-day proponents: The GOP officials pushing to make it harder to cast a ballot; the lawyers looking to scrap all limits on money in politics; the libertarian scholars reclaiming judicial activism to roll back the New Deal; and the corporate lobbyists working to ban local action on everything from the minimum wage to the environment. And he travels from Rust Belt cities to southern towns to show us how these efforts are hurting the most vulnerable Americans and preventing progress on pressing issues. A sharp, searing polemic in the tradition of Rachel Maddow and Matt Taibbi, The Great Suppressionis an urgent wake-up call about a threat to our most cherished values, and a rousing argument for why we need democracy now more than ever"--
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id98418796-4b44-fcc6-6637-db46c6014b53
isbn9781101905760
9781101905777
9781101905784
9781504704144
9781982499327
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT11679980Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11679980?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:61f0ce1e-916a-4e3d-a3be-a6772d9fbe20-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b24335915.i74440524Central320.52 R845 20161falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b24335915.i7444055xColonial Heights320.52 R845 20161falsefalseOn Shelfchsag
ils:.b24335915.i74440548Elk Grove320.52 R845 20161falsefalseOn Shelfelkag
ils:.b24335915.i74440536North Highlands-Antelope320.52 R845 20161falsefalseOn Shelfnhiag
ils:.b24335915.i74440561Isleton320.52 R845 20161falsefalseOn Shelfislag
overdrive:8558a4d3-bb1e-4d9e-9a88-791350be801a-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
itype_catalogAdult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed2021-02-24T10:53:24.16Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog320.52 R845 2016
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCentral
Colonial Heights
Elk Grove
Isleton
North Highlands-Antelope
primary_isbn9781101905777
publishDate2016
2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT11679980eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishBlackstone Publishing, 2017.1 online resource (1 audio file (5hr., 05 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:61f0ce1e-916a-4e3d-a3be-a6772d9fbe20eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Publishing2016
ils:.b24335915BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishCrown, 2016.246 pages ; 22 cm.
overdrive:8558a4d3-bb1e-4d9e-9a88-791350be801aeBookeBookEnglishCrown2016
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT11679980Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:61f0ce1e-916a-4e3d-a3be-a6772d9fbe20-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24335915.i74440524On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24335915.i7444055xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24335915.i74440548On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24335915.i74440536On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24335915.i74440561On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
overdrive:8558a4d3-bb1e-4d9e-9a88-791350be801a-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetCampaign funds -- United States
Conservatism -- United States
Democracy -- United States
Political culture -- United States
Right-wing extremists -- United States
Voting -- United States
title_displayThe great suppression : voting rights, corporate cash, and the conservative assault on democracy
title_fullThe Great Suppression Voting Rights, Corporate Cash, and the Conservative Assault on Democracy
The great suppression : voting rights, corporate cash, and the conservative assault on democracy / Zachary Roth
The great suppression : voting rights, corporate cash, and the conservative assault on democracy [electronic resource] / Zachary Roth
title_shortThe great suppression
title_subvoting rights, corporate cash, and the conservative assault on democracy
topic_facetCampaign funds
Conservatism
Democracy
History
Nonfiction
Political culture
Politics
Right-wing extremists
Voting