We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The bookshop of second chances: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"An utterly heartwarming debut novel filled with fresh starts, unexpected love, and Scottish charm, perfect for readers of Evvie Drake Starts Over. Thea Mottram is having a bad month. Her husband of nearly twenty years has just left her for one of her friends, and to top it off, she is let go from her office job--on Valentine's Day, of all days. Bewildered and completely lost, Thea doesn't know what to do. But when she learns that a distant great uncle in Scotland has passed away--leaving her his home and a hefty antique book collection--she decides to leave Sussex for a few weeks. Escaping to a small coastal town where no one knows her seems to be exactly what she needs. Almost instantly, Thea becomes enamored with the quaint cottage, comforted by its cozy rooms and shaggy, tulip-covered lawn. The locals in nearby Baldochrie are just as warm, quirky, and inviting. The only person she can't seem to win over is bookshop owner Edward Maltravers, to whom she hopes to sell her uncle's antique novel collection. His gruff attitude--fueled by an infamous, long-standing feud with his brother, a local Lord--tests Thea's patience. But bickering with Edward proves oddly refreshing and exciting, leading Thea to develop feelings she hasn't felt in a long time. As she follows a thrilling (yet terrifying) impulse to stay in Scotland indefinitely, Thea realizes that her new life may quickly become just as complicated as the one she was running from"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780593355657
9780593355664
9780593400449
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID967deb53-f485-9f55-b631-2975a99365b6
Grouping Titlebookshop of second chances
Grouping Authorjackie fraser
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-01-18 09:16:57AM
Last Indexed2022-01-18 09:18:45AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorFraser, Jackie
author_displayFraser, Jackie
detailed_location_catalogCarmichael
Central New Books - 1st Floor
Courtland
Mobile Services
North Sacramento-Hagginwood
Orangevale
Rancho Cordova
South Natomas
display_description"An utterly heartwarming debut novel filled with fresh starts, unexpected love, and Scottish charm, perfect for readers of Evvie Drake Starts Over. Thea Mottram is having a bad month. Her husband of nearly twenty years has just left her for one of her friends, and to top it off, she is let go from her office job--on Valentine's Day, of all days. Bewildered and completely lost, Thea doesn't know what to do. But when she learns that a distant great uncle in Scotland has passed away--leaving her his home and a hefty antique book collection--she decides to leave Sussex for a few weeks. Escaping to a small coastal town where no one knows her seems to be exactly what she needs. Almost instantly, Thea becomes enamored with the quaint cottage, comforted by its cozy rooms and shaggy, tulip-covered lawn. The locals in nearby Baldochrie are just as warm, quirky, and inviting. The only person she can't seem to win over is bookshop owner Edward Maltravers, to whom she hopes to sell her uncle's antique novel collection. His gruff attitude--fueled by an infamous, long-standing feud with his brother, a local Lord--tests Thea's patience. But bickering with Edward proves oddly refreshing and exciting, leading Thea to develop feelings she hasn't felt in a long time. As she follows a thrilling (yet terrifying) impulse to stay in Scotland indefinitely, Thea realizes that her new life may quickly become just as complicated as the one she was running from"--
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id967deb53-f485-9f55-b631-2975a99365b6
isbn9780593355657
9780593355664
9780593400449
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:ea92fc87-6060-429c-b1f0-98ac48fe98f7-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:ea92fc87-6060-429c-b1f0-98ac48fe98f75Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:ea92fc87-6060-429c-b1f0-98ac48fe98f7-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook5falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:ea92fc87-6060-429c-b1f0-98ac48fe98f74Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:ea92fc87-6060-429c-b1f0-98ac48fe98f73Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:08edec3d-b0d7-4a53-a296-6f95cc9375e8-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books7falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b26777897.i84896255Rancho CordovaFICTION Fraser, J.1falsefalseDue Feb 1, 2022ranad
ils:.b26777897.i84896309CourtlandFICTION Fraser, J.1falsefalseOn Holdshelfcouad
ils:.b26777897.i84896292South NatomasFICTION Fraser, J.1falsefalseDue Feb 2, 2022natad
ils:.b26777897.i84896322OrangevaleFICTION Fraser, J.1falsefalseDue Jan 28, 2022oraad
ils:.b26777897.i84896280Mobile ServicesFICTION Fraser, J.1falsefalseDue Jan 20, 2022mobad
ils:.b26777897.i84896310Rancho CordovaFICTION Fraser, J.1falsefalseDue Jan 18, 2022ranad
ils:.b26777897.i84896346North Sacramento-HagginwoodFICTION Fraser, J.1falsefalseDue Jan 12, 2022nsaad
ils:.b26777897.i84896267Central New Books - 1st FloorFICTION Fraser, J.1falsefalseDue Feb 2, 2022cenad
ils:.b26777897.i84896279CarmichaelFICTION Fraser, J.1falsefalseDue Feb 2, 2022carad
ils:.b26777897.i84896334Rancho CordovaFICTION Fraser, J.1falsefalseDue Jan 29, 2022ranad
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2022-01-18T17:18:45.871Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Fraser, J.
local_time_since_added_catalogYear
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCarmichael
Central
Courtland
Mobile Services
North Sacramento-Hagginwood
Orangevale
Rancho Cordova
South Natomas
primary_isbn9780593355657
publishDate2021
publisherBallantine Books,
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
Random House Publishing Group
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:ea92fc87-6060-429c-b1f0-98ac48fe98f7eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2021
overdrive:08edec3d-b0d7-4a53-a296-6f95cc9375e8eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2021
ils:.b26777897BookBooksEnglishBallantine Books[2021]438 pages ; 21 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:ea92fc87-6060-429c-b1f0-98ac48fe98f7-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:08edec3d-b0d7-4a53-a296-6f95cc9375e8-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b26777897.i84896255Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b26777897.i84896309Checked OutOn Holdshelffalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b26777897.i84896292Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b26777897.i84896322Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b26777897.i84896280Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b26777897.i84896310Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b26777897.i84896346Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b26777897.i84896267Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b26777897.i84896279Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b26777897.i84896334Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
subject_facetBooksellers and bookselling -- Fiction
Love stories
Scotland -- Fiction
title_displayThe bookshop of second chances : a novel
title_fullThe Bookshop of Second Chances A Novel
The bookshop of second chances : a novel / Jackie Fraser
title_shortThe bookshop of second chances
title_subA Novel
topic_facetBooksellers and bookselling
Fiction
Humor (Fiction)
Literature
Romance