Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Real artists have day jobs: (and other awesome things they don't teach you in school)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

For readers of Lena Dunham, Mindy Kaling, and #Girlboss, a hilarious—yet heartfelt—guide to growing up and taking your place in the world by the popular comedian and author of the highly praised Agorafabulous!

While the practical aspects of new adulthood can be nerve-wracking—dating, job-hunting, money-managing—the most important task of all is figuring out who you are and where you fit in the world. Author and comedian Sara Benincasa, now in her mid-thirties, had an absolutely harrowing early twenties and now, on the other side, she has a LOT of hard-earned wisdom and common sense to share.

Real Artists Have Day Jobs includes 52 witty, provocative essays on how to live like a real adult—especially for those who have chosen a slightly more offbeat path to get there. Chock full of information and advice, Sara's warm, smart, empathetic, and quirky voice is relatable to everyone from twenty-somethings and recent college grads to anyone a bit older who's still trying to figure things out. While Sara doesn't have all of life's answers, this indispensable book has more than its share!

Essays include:

  • How to Read a Book
  • Real Artists Have Day Jobs
  • The Power of Being a Dork
  • Put Your Clutter in Purgatory
  • Ask for Exactly What You Want
  • Elect Your Own Executive Board
  • Equal parts entertaining and educational, Real Artists Have Day Jobs is a life-changing book for strivers and misunderstood creatives everywhere.

    Also in This Series
    More Like This
    More Copies In LINK+
    Loading LINK+ Copies...
    More Details
    Contributors:
    ISBN:
    9780062369819
    9780062369826
    Reviews from GoodReads
    Loading GoodReads Reviews.
    Staff View

    Grouping Information

    Grouped Work ID93ffa1f2-105a-8815-c5fc-c48e83afddc4
    Grouping Titlereal artists have day jobs and other awesome things they don t teach you in school
    Grouping Authorsara benincasa
    Grouping Categorybook
    Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
    Last Grouping Update2020-10-25 03:13:34AM
    Last Indexed2020-10-25 03:44:28AM
    Novelist Primary ISBNnone

    Solr Details

    accelerated_reader_point_value0
    accelerated_reader_reading_level0
    authorSara Benincasa
    author2-rolehoopla digital.
    author_displayBenincasa, Sara
    available_at_catalogCentral
    North Highlands-Antelope
    Rancho Cordova
    detailed_location_catalogCentral
    Martin Luther King, Jr.
    North Highlands-Antelope
    Rancho Cordova
    display_description

    For readers of Lena Dunham, Mindy Kaling, and #Girlboss, a hilarious—yet heartfelt—guide to growing up and taking your place in the world by the popular comedian and author of the highly praised Agorafabulous!

    While the practical aspects of new adulthood can be nerve-wracking—dating, job-hunting, money-managing—the most important task of all is figuring out who you are and where you fit in the world. Author and comedian Sara Benincasa, now in her mid-thirties, had an absolutely harrowing early twenties and now, on the other side, she has a LOT of hard-earned wisdom and common sense to share.

    Real Artists Have Day Jobs includes 52 witty, provocative essays on how to live like a real adult—especially for those who have chosen a slightly more offbeat path to get there. Chock full of information and advice, Sara's warm, smart, empathetic, and quirky voice is relatable to everyone from twenty-somethings and recent college grads to anyone a bit older who's still trying to figure things out. While Sara doesn't have all of life's answers, this indispensable book has more than its share!

    Essays include:

  • How to Read a Book
  • Real Artists Have Day Jobs
  • The Power of Being a Dork
  • Put Your Clutter in Purgatory
  • Ask for Exactly What You Want
  • Elect Your Own Executive Board

  • Equal parts entertaining and educational, Real Artists Have Day Jobs is a life-changing book for strivers and misunderstood creatives everywhere.

    format_catalogBook
    eBook
    format_category_catalogBooks
    eBook
    id93ffa1f2-105a-8815-c5fc-c48e83afddc4
    isbn9780062369819
    9780062369826
    item_details
    Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
    overdrive:47b10a61-b0af-4bf5-bd9f-13c685649f11-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
    hoopla:MWT12347241Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12347241Available Online
    ils:.b24149287.i73872027Central817 B467 20161falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
    ils:.b24149287.i7431063xMartin Luther King, Jr.817 B467 20161falsefalseDue Oct 31, 2020kinag
    ils:.b24149287.i73872039North Highlands-Antelope817 B467 20161falsefalseOn Shelfnhiag
    ils:.b24149287.i73872040Rancho Cordova817 B467 20161falsefalseOn Shelfranag
    itype_catalogAdult Book Non-Fiction
    last_indexed2020-10-25T10:44:28.864Z
    lexile_score-1
    literary_formNon Fiction
    literary_form_fullNon Fiction
    local_callnumber_catalog817 B467 2016
    owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
    owning_location_catalogCentral
    Martin Luther King Jr.
    North Highlands-Antelope
    Rancho Cordova
    primary_isbn9780062369819
    publishDate2016
    record_details
    Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
    overdrive:47b10a61-b0af-4bf5-bd9f-13c685649f11eBookeBookEnglishWilliam Morrow Paperbacks2016
    hoopla:MWT12347241eBookeBookEnglishHarper Collins Publishers, 2016.1 online resource
    ils:.b24149287BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishWilliam Morrow, an imprint of Harper Collins Publishers, [2016]259 pages ; 21 cm
    recordtypegrouped_work
    scoping_details_catalog
    Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
    overdrive:47b10a61-b0af-4bf5-bd9f-13c685649f11-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
    hoopla:MWT12347241Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
    ils:.b24149287.i73872027On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
    ils:.b24149287.i7431063xChecked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
    ils:.b24149287.i73872039On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
    ils:.b24149287.i73872040On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
    subject_facetAffirmations
    Electronic books
    Humor
    Idea (Philosophy)
    Self-actualization (Psychology) -- Miscellanea
    Self-confidence -- Miscellanea
    title_displayReal artists have day jobs : (and other awesome things they don't teach you in school)
    title_fullReal Artists Have Day Jobs (And Other Awesome Things They Don't Teach You in School)
    Real artists have day jobs : (and other awesome things they don't teach you in school) / Sara Benincasa
    Real artists have day jobs : (and other awesome things they don't teach you in school) [electronic resource] / Sara Benincasa
    title_shortReal artists have day jobs
    title_sub(and other awesome things they don't teach you in school)
    topic_facetAffirmations
    Electronic books
    Humor
    Humor (Nonfiction)
    Idea (Philosophy)
    Nonfiction
    Reference
    Self-actualization (Psychology)
    Self-confidence