We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Real artists have day jobs: (and other awesome things they don't teach you in school)

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for Real artists have day jobs

Average user rating: 4 stars
User ratings:
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Publication Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English

Description

For readers of Lena Dunham, Mindy Kaling, and #Girlboss, a hilarious-yet heartfelt-guide to growing up and taking your place in the world by the popular comedian and author of the highly praised Agorafabulous! While the practical aspects of new adulthood can be nerve-wracking-dating, job-hunting, money-managing-the most important task of all is figuring out who you are and where you fit in the world. Author and comedian Sara Benincasa, now in her mid-thirties, had an absolutely harrowing early twenties and now, on the other side, she has a LOT of hard-earned wisdom and common sense to share. Real Artists Have Day Jobs includes 52 witty, provocative essays on how to live like a real adult-especially for those who have chosen a slightly more offbeat path to get there. Chock full of information and advice, Sara's warm, smart, empathetic, and quirky voice is relatable to everyone from twenty-somethings and recent college grads to anyone a bit older who's still trying to figure things out. While Sara doesn't have all of life's answers, this indispensable book has more than its share! Essays include: - How to Read a Book - Real Artists Have Day Jobs - The Power of Being a Dork - Put Your Clutter in Purgatory - Ask for Exactly What You Want - Elect Your Own Executive Board Equal parts entertaining and educational, Real Artists Have Day Jobs is a life-changing book for strivers and misunderstood creatives everywhere.

Also in This Series

More Like This

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

Contributors:
ISBN:
9780062369819
9780062369826

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID93ffa1f2-105a-8815-c5fc-c48e83afddc4
Grouping Titlereal artists have day jobs and other awesome things they don t teach you in school
Grouping Authorsara benincasa
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-07-19 02:10:40AM
Last Indexed2024-07-19 02:21:53AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Benincasa, Sara
author2-role
hoopla digital
author_display
Benincasa, Sara
available_at_catalog
Carmichael
Central
Valley Hi-North Laguna
detailed_location_catalog
Carmichael
Central
Valley Hi-North Laguna
display_description
For readers of Lena Dunham, Mindy Kaling, and #Girlboss, a hilarious-yet heartfelt-guide to growing up and taking your place in the world by the popular comedian and author of the highly praised Agorafabulous! While the practical aspects of new adulthood can be nerve-wracking-dating, job-hunting, money-managing-the most important task of all is figuring out who you are and where you fit in the world. Author and comedian Sara Benincasa, now in her mid-thirties, had an absolutely harrowing early twenties and now, on the other side, she has a LOT of hard-earned wisdom and common sense to share. Real Artists Have Day Jobs includes 52 witty, provocative essays on how to live like a real adult-especially for those who have chosen a slightly more offbeat path to get there. Chock full of information and advice, Sara's warm, smart, empathetic, and quirky voice is relatable to everyone from twenty-somethings and recent college grads to anyone a bit older who's still trying to figure things out. While Sara doesn't have all of life's answers, this indispensable book has more than its share! Essays include: - How to Read a Book - Real Artists Have Day Jobs - The Power of Being a Dork - Put Your Clutter in Purgatory - Ask for Exactly What You Want - Elect Your Own Executive Board Equal parts entertaining and educational, Real Artists Have Day Jobs is a life-changing book for strivers and misunderstood creatives everywhere.
format_catalog
Book
eBook
format_category_catalog
Books
eBook
id
93ffa1f2-105a-8815-c5fc-c48e83afddc4
isbn
9780062369819
9780062369826
itype_catalog
Adult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed
2024-07-19T09:21:53.996Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
817 B467 2016
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Carmichael
Central
Valley Hi-North Laguna
primary_isbn
9780062369819
publishDate
2016
publisher
HarperCollins
William Morrow, an imprint of Harper Collins Publishers
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Affirmations
Anecdotes
Autobiography
Biography
Electronic books
Humor
Idea (Philosophy)
Quotations
Self-actualization (Psychology) -- Miscellanea
Self-confidence -- Miscellanea
title_display
Real artists have day jobs : (and other awesome things they don't teach you in school)
title_full
Real Artists Have Day Jobs : (And Other Awesome Things They Don't Teach You in School) [electronic resource] / Sara Benincasa
Real artists have day jobs : (and other awesome things they don't teach you in school) / Sara Benincasa
title_short
Real artists have day jobs
title_sub
(and other awesome things they don't teach you in school)
topic_facet
Affirmations
Anecdotes
Autobiography
Biography
Electronic books
Humor
Idea (Philosophy)
Quotations
Self-actualization (Psychology)
Self-confidence

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocationCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
hoopla:MWT16734943Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/16734366?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
ils:.b24149287.i7431063xValley Hi-North Laguna817 B467 20161falsefalseOn Shelfvalag
ils:.b24149287.i73872039Carmichael817 B467 20161falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
ils:.b24149287.i73872027Central817 B467 20161falsefalseOn Shelfcenag

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT16734943eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins20161 online resource (263 pages)
ils:.b24149287BookBooksFirst editionEnglishWilliam Morrow, an imprint of Harper Collins Publishers[2016]259 pages ; 21 cm

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT16734943Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24149287.i7431063xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 38, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b24149287.i73872039On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 38, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b24149287.i73872027On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 38, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011