We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The visitors: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Melville House
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of Neil Gaiman and Iain Banks, Simon Sylvester brings an ancient myth to life with this lush, atmospheric coming-of-age tale

Nobody comes to the remote Scottish island of Bancree, and seventeen-year-old Flora can't wait to move to the mainland when she finishes school. So when a mysterious man and his daughter move into isolated Dog Cottage, Flora is curious. What could have brought these strangers to the island? The man is seductive but radiates menace, while Flo finds a kindred spirit in his daughter, Ailsa.

Meanwhile, several of the men on Bancree have disappeared, unnerving the community. When a body washes ashore, suspicion turns to the newcomers. But Flo suspects something else, even though it seems impossible: She asks local residents for anything they know about"selkies," the mythical women who can turn from seal to human and back again.

Convinced of her new neighbors' innocence, Flo is fiercely determined to protect her friend Ailsa. Can the answer to the disappearances, and to the pull of her own heart, lie out there, beyond the waves?

From the Trade Paperback edition.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781612194639
9781612194646
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID9363b655-0bdc-c16f-b3b0-b2eecff5aef2
Grouping Titlevisitors
Grouping Authorsimon sylvester
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-08-08 02:08:34AM
Last Indexed2022-08-08 02:58:41AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Sylvester, Simon, 1980-
author_display
Sylvester, Simon
available_at_catalog
Central
Colonial Heights
North Natomas
detailed_location_catalog
Central
Colonial Heights
North Natomas
display_description
In the tradition of Neil Gaiman and Iain Banks, Simon Sylvester brings an ancient myth to life with this lush, atmospheric coming-of-age tale

Nobody comes to the remote Scottish island of Bancree, and seventeen-year-old Flora can't wait to move to the mainland when she finishes school. So when a mysterious man and his daughter move into isolated Dog Cottage, Flora is curious. What could have brought these strangers to the island? The man is seductive but radiates menace, while Flo finds a kindred spirit in his daughter, Ailsa.

Meanwhile, several of the men on Bancree have disappeared, unnerving the community. When a body washes ashore, suspicion turns to the newcomers. But Flo suspects something else, even though it seems impossible: She asks local residents for anything they know about"selkies," the mythical women who can turn from seal to human and back again.

Convinced of her new neighbors' innocence, Flo is fiercely determined to protect her friend Ailsa. Can the answer to the disappearances, and to the pull of her own heart, lie out there, beyond the waves?

From the Trade Paperback edition.
format_catalog
Book
eBook
format_category_catalog
Books
eBook
id
9363b655-0bdc-c16f-b3b0-b2eecff5aef2
isbn
9781612194639
9781612194646
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2022-08-08T09:58:41.861Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Sylvester, S.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Central
Colonial Heights
North Natomas
primary_isbn
9781612194639
publishDate
2015
publisher
Melville House
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Islands -- Scotland -- Fiction
Murder -- Fiction
Mystery fiction
Scotland -- Fiction
Selkies -- Fiction
title_display
The visitors : a novel
title_full
The Visitors
The visitors : a novel / Simon Sylvester
title_short
The visitors
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Fiction
Islands
Literature
Murder
Selkies
Thriller

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b23883182.i73141197Colonial HeightsFICTION Sylvester, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfchsag
ils:.b23883182.i73165888North NatomasFICTION Sylvester, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
ils:.b23883182.i73141173CentralFICTION Sylvester, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
overdrive:33631c15-6889-4468-836a-8725428b3184-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b23883182BookBooksEnglishMelville House[2015]357 pages ; 21 cm
overdrive:33631c15-6889-4468-836a-8725428b3184eBookeBookEnglishMelville House2015

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b23883182.i73141197On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b23883182.i73165888On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b23883182.i73141173On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
overdrive:33631c15-6889-4468-836a-8725428b3184-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse