Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The visitors: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of Neil Gaiman and Iain Banks, Simon Sylvester brings an ancient myth to life with this lush, atmospheric coming-of-age taleNobody comes to the remote Scottish island of Bancree, and seventeen-year-old Flora can't wait to move to the mainland when she finishes school. So when a mysterious man and his daughter move into isolated Dog Cottage, Flora is curious. What could have brought these strangers to the island? The man is seductive but radiates menace, while Flo finds a kindred spirit in his daughter, Ailsa. Meanwhile, several of the men on Bancree have disappeared, unnerving the community. When a body washes ashore, suspicion turns to the newcomers. But Flo suspects something else, even though it seems impossible: She asks local residents for anything they know about"selkies," the mythical women who can turn from seal to human and back again. Convinced of her new neighbors' innocence, Flo is fiercely determined to protect her friend Ailsa. Can the answer to the disappearances, and to the pull of her own heart, lie out there, beyond the waves?From the Trade Paperback edition.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781612194639
9781612194646
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID9363b655-0bdc-c16f-b3b0-b2eecff5aef2
Grouping Titlevisitors
Grouping Authorsimon sylvester
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-04-19 02:27:05AM
Last Indexed2021-04-19 03:03:12AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781612194639

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorSimon Sylvester
author_displaySylvester, Simon
available_at_catalogCentral
Colonial Heights
North Natomas
detailed_location_catalogCentral
Colonial Heights
North Natomas
display_descriptionIn the tradition of Neil Gaiman and Iain Banks, Simon Sylvester brings an ancient myth to life with this lush, atmospheric coming-of-age tale

Nobody comes to the remote Scottish island of Bancree, and seventeen-year-old Flora can't wait to move to the mainland when she finishes school. So when a mysterious man and his daughter move into isolated Dog Cottage, Flora is curious. What could have brought these strangers to the island? The man is seductive but radiates menace, while Flo finds a kindred spirit in his daughter, Ailsa.

Meanwhile, several of the men on Bancree have disappeared, unnerving the community. When a body washes ashore, suspicion turns to the newcomers. But Flo suspects something else, even though it seems impossible: She asks local residents for anything they know about"selkies," the mythical women who can turn from seal to human and back again.

Convinced of her new neighbors' innocence, Flo is fiercely determined to protect her friend Ailsa. Can the answer to the disappearances, and to the pull of her own heart, lie out there, beyond the waves?

From the Trade Paperback edition.
format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
id9363b655-0bdc-c16f-b3b0-b2eecff5aef2
isbn9781612194639
9781612194646
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b23883182.i73141197Colonial HeightsFICTION Sylvester, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfchsag
ils:.b23883182.i73141173CentralFICTION Sylvester, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b23883182.i73165888North NatomasFICTION Sylvester, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
overdrive:33631c15-6889-4468-836a-8725428b3184-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-04-19T10:03:12.931Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Sylvester, S.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCentral
Colonial Heights
North Natomas
primary_isbn9781612194639
publishDate2015
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b23883182BookBooksEnglishMelville House, [2015]357 pages ; 21 cm
overdrive:33631c15-6889-4468-836a-8725428b3184eBookeBookEnglishMelville House2015
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b23883182.i73141197On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b23883182.i73141173On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b23883182.i73165888On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
overdrive:33631c15-6889-4468-836a-8725428b3184-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetIslands -- Scotland -- Fiction
Murder -- Fiction
Mystery fiction
Scotland -- Fiction
Selkies -- Fiction
title_displayThe visitors : a novel
title_fullThe Visitors
The visitors : a novel / Simon Sylvester
title_shortThe visitors
title_suba novel
topic_facetFiction
Islands
Literature
Murder
Selkies
Thriller