We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Secret Pizza Party

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for Secret Pizza Party

Average user rating: 4.2 stars
User ratings:
5 star
 
(5)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Publication Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: LG - BL: 2.3 - AR Pts: 0.5
Lexile measure:
AD: Adult Directed 530L

Description

Shhhh! Don't tell anyone about this mouth-watering book from the New York Times bestselling creators of Dragons Love Tacos and Robo-Sauce!
How does Racoon love pizza? Oh, let him count the ways. He loves the gooey cheesy-ness, salty pepperoni-ness, sweet sweet tomato-ness, and of course the crispity crunchity crust. But someone is always chasing poor Raccoon away from his favorite food with a broom! What's a hungry raccoon to do? Plan an elaborate secret pizza party, of course! 
But shhh! It’s a secret! In fact, you should probably just forget I told you. Nope, no secret pizza party happening here.You didn’t already tell all your friends, did you? Uh oh . . .
Fans of Jon Klassen and Mo Willems's humor will gobble up this quirky ode to the lengths we will go to for our heart's desire.
Praise for Dragons Love Tacos:
New York Times bestseller
A New York Times Notable Children's Book of 2012
"Rubin and Salmieri are two of the weirdest, funniest guys working in kids’ lit today. The team lets its geek flag fly in an obsessive how-to guide for would-be dragon taco party hosts. Why a taco party? As Rubin explains, 'The only things dragons love more than parties or tacos, is taco parties.' If further proof is required, Salmieri—whose poker-faced watercolor, gouache, and color pencil drawings set a benchmark for oddball observational humor—shows one odd, scaly creature with a carryout bag from 'Taco Cave' and another beaming with anticipation as it eagerly circles the date for a taco party on its taco-themed calendar. But beware: even if all the tips and rules are followed to the letter (on quantity:'The best way to judge is to get a boat and fill the boat with tacos'), all will be for naught if spicy salsa makes its way into the taco filling. In fact, the dragons will bring a whole new meaning to 'housewarming.' Off-kilter fun for those who like their picture books (and salsa) zesty and fresh."–Publishers Weekly, starred review
 
"Dragons Love Tacos is a heaping helping of silly.  Little kids will relate to the anti-spicy bias and chuckle over Salmieri's watercolor and gouache cartoon illustrations showing literally boatloads of tacos and all sizes of dragons enjoying their favorite food at pool parties, costume parties and, well, taco parties." –San Francisco Chronicle
 
"The perfect book for kids who love dragons and mild tacos." –Kirkus Reviews
 
"The watercolor, gouache, and colored pencil cartoon illustrations are the real stars here. Regardless of, or perhaps because of, the absurdity of the story, this tale should be a big hit with anyone with an affinity for dragons." –School Library Journal

Also in This Series

More Like This

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

ISBN:
9780803739475
9780593460276
9780399539329
Accelerated Reader:
LG
Level 2.3, 0.5 Points
Lexile measure:
AD: Adult Directed 530L

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID8978c308-3ddd-fe1c-c728-dd4af4bde851
Grouping Titlesecret pizza party
Grouping Authoradam rubin
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-06-22 02:43:44AM
Last Indexed2024-06-22 03:11:49AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_interest_level
LG
accelerated_reader_point_value
0.5
accelerated_reader_reading_level
2.3
auth_author2
Salmieri, Daniel, 1983-
author
Rubin, Adam
author2-role
Salmieri, Daniel,1983-illustrator
author_display
Rubin, Adam
available_at_catalog
Elk Grove
Franklin
North Natomas
Pocket-Greenhaven
detailed_location_catalog
Central Kids Place
Elk Grove Kids' Place
Franklin Children's
North Natomas Children's Area
Pocket-Greenhaven Kids' Place
Sacramento Public Library Storage
Sylvan Oaks Children's Area
display_description
Shhhh! Don't tell anyone about this mouth-watering book from the New York Times bestselling creators of Dragons Love Tacos and Robo-Sauce!
How does Racoon love pizza? Oh, let him count the ways. He loves the gooey cheesy-ness, salty pepperoni-ness, sweet sweet tomato-ness, and of course the crispity crunchity crust. But someone is always chasing poor Raccoon away from his favorite food with a broom! What's a hungry raccoon to do? Plan an elaborate secret pizza party, of course! 
But shhh! It’s a secret! In fact, you should probably just forget I told you. Nope, no secret pizza party happening here.You didn’t already tell all your friends, did you? Uh oh . . .
Fans of Jon Klassen and Mo Willems's humor will gobble up this quirky ode to the lengths we will go to for our heart's desire.
Praise for Dragons Love Tacos:
New York Times bestseller
A New York Times Notable Children's Book of 2012
"Rubin and Salmieri are two of the weirdest, funniest guys working in kids’ lit today. The team lets its geek flag fly in an obsessive how-to guide for would-be dragon taco party hosts. Why a taco party? As Rubin explains, 'The only things dragons love more than parties or tacos, is taco parties.' If further proof is required, Salmieri—whose poker-faced watercolor, gouache, and color pencil drawings set a benchmark for oddball observational humor—shows one odd, scaly creature with a carryout bag from 'Taco Cave' and another beaming with anticipation as it eagerly circles the date for a taco party on its taco-themed calendar. But beware: even if all the tips and rules are followed to the letter (on quantity:'The best way to judge is to get a boat and fill the boat with tacos'), all will be for naught if spicy salsa makes its way into the taco filling. In fact, the dragons will bring a whole new meaning to 'housewarming.' Off-kilter fun for those who like their picture books (and salsa) zesty and fresh."–Publishers Weekly, starred review
 
"Dragons Love Tacos is a heaping helping of silly.  Little kids will relate to the anti-spicy bias and chuckle over Salmieri's watercolor and gouache cartoon illustrations showing literally boatloads of tacos and all sizes of dragons enjoying their favorite food at pool parties, costume parties and, well, taco parties." –San Francisco Chronicle
 
"The perfect book for kids who love dragons and mild tacos." –Kirkus Reviews
 
"The watercolor, gouache, and colored pencil cartoon illustrations are the real stars here. Regardless of, or perhaps because of, the absurdity of the story, this tale should be a big hit with anyone with an affinity for dragons." –School Library Journal
format_catalog
Picture Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
8978c308-3ddd-fe1c-c728-dd4af4bde851
isbn
9780399539329
9780593460276
9780803739475
itype_catalog
Child Book
Picture Book
last_indexed
2024-06-22T10:11:49.818Z
lexile_code
AD: Adult Directed
lexile_score
530
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
PICTURE BOOK Rubin, A.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Central
Elk Grove
Franklin
North Natomas
Pocket-Greenhaven
Sylvan Oaks
primary_isbn
9780803739475
publishDate
2013
2021
publisher
Books on Tape
Dial Books for Young Readers
Penguin Young Readers Group
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Humorous stories
Parties -- Juvenile fiction
Pizza -- Juvenile fiction
Raccoon -- Juvenile fiction
Secrecy -- Juvenile fiction
title_display
Secret Pizza Party
title_full
Secret Pizza Party
Secret pizza party / by Adam Rubin ; illustrated by Daniel Salmieri
title_short
Secret Pizza Party
topic_facet
Humor (Fiction)
Humorous stories
Juvenile Fiction
Juvenile Literature
Parties
Pizza
Raccoon
Secrecy

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocationCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:d57f3714-42f1-4655-a3bd-c8a3a488d7c7-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
ils:.b22284400.i68375955Central Kids PlacePICTURE BOOK Rubin, A.1falsefalseDue Jul 9, 2024cencg
ils:.b22284400.i7917078xPocket-Greenhaven Kids' PlacePICTURE BOOK Rubin, A.1falsefalseOn Shelfpoccg
ils:.b22284400.i81749648Princeton Branch Library Children's CollectionE1falsefalseOn Shelfpric
ils:.b22284400.i68413907Woodland Public Library Children's AreaPICTURE BOOK STORIES Rub1falsefalseDue Jul 5, 2024wdpj
ils:.b22284400.i7917081xSacramento Public Library StoragePICTURE BOOK Rubin, A.1falsefalseIn Transithotcg
ils:.b22284400.i90277570Sutter County Main Branch Children's AreaPICTURE BOOK Rubin, A.1falsefalseDue Jul 9, 2024sutc
ils:.b22284400.i74940028Franklin Children'sPICTURE BOOK Rubin, A.1falsefalseOn Shelffracg
ils:.b22284400.i7494003xNorth Natomas Children's AreaPICTURE BOOK Rubin, A.1falsefalseOn Shelfnntcg
ils:.b22284400.i68376054Sylvan Oaks Children's AreaPICTURE BOOK Rubin, A.1falsefalseDue Jul 9, 2024sylcg
ils:.b22284400.i79170791Elk Grove Kids' PlacePICTURE BOOK Rubin, A.1falsefalseOn Shelfelkcg
overdrive:b6c2b7c8-e259-42ef-805d-95ee988ea434-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:d57f3714-42f1-4655-a3bd-c8a3a488d7c7eBookeBookEnglishPenguin Young Readers Group2013
ils:.b22284400Picture BookBooksEnglishDial Books for Young Readersc20131 v. (unpaged) : col. ill. ; 26 cm
overdrive:b6c2b7c8-e259-42ef-805d-95ee988ea434eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBooks on Tape2021

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:d57f3714-42f1-4655-a3bd-c8a3a488d7c7-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b22284400.i68375955Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue999911
ils:.b22284400.i7917078xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue999911
ils:.b22284400.i68413907Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 69, 70, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120
ils:.b22284400.i7917081xIn TransitIn Transitfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue999911
ils:.b22284400.i90277570Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b22284400.i74940028On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue999911
ils:.b22284400.i7494003xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue999911
ils:.b22284400.i68376054Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue999911
ils:.b22284400.i79170791On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue999911
overdrive:b6c2b7c8-e259-42ef-805d-95ee988ea434-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse