Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Holding: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description
"From Graham Norton, the BAFTA-award-winning Irish television host and author of the "sparkling and impish" (Daily Mail) memoirs The Life and Loves of a He Devil and So Me, comes a charming debut novel set in an idyllic Irish village where a bumbling investigator has to sort through decades of gossip and secrets to solve a mysterious crime. The remote Irish village of Duneen has known little drama but when human remains are discovered on an old farm, suspected to be that of Tommy Burke--a former lover of two different inhabitants--the village's dark past begins to unravel. As the frustrated sergeant PJ Collins struggles to solve a genuine case for the first time in his life, he unearths a community's worth of anger and resentments, secrets and regret. In this darkly comic, touching, and at times heartbreaking novel, perfect for fans of J.K. Rowling's The Casual Vacancy, Graham Norton employs his acerbic wit to breathe life into a host of loveable characters, and explore--with searing honesty--the complexities and contradictions that make us human"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781501173264
9781508245230
9781501173288
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID8494bfb4-551c-3e82-11c8-59b33d002932
Grouping Titleholding
Grouping Authorgraham norton
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-30 02:38:41AM
Last Indexed2020-09-30 04:03:20AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorNorton, Graham, 1963-
author_displayNorton, Graham
available_at_catalogFair Oaks
North Highlands-Antelope
detailed_location_catalogFair Oaks
North Highlands-Antelope
display_description"From Graham Norton, the BAFTA-award-winning Irish television host and author of the "sparkling and impish" (Daily Mail) memoirs The Life and Loves of a He Devil and So Me, comes a charming debut novel set in an idyllic Irish village where a bumbling investigator has to sort through decades of gossip and secrets to solve a mysterious crime. The remote Irish village of Duneen has known little drama but when human remains are discovered on an old farm, suspected to be that of Tommy Burke--a former lover of two different inhabitants--the village's dark past begins to unravel. As the frustrated sergeant PJ Collins struggles to solve a genuine case for the first time in his life, he unearths a community's worth of anger and resentments, secrets and regret. In this darkly comic, touching, and at times heartbreaking novel, perfect for fans of J.K. Rowling's The Casual Vacancy, Graham Norton employs his acerbic wit to breathe life into a host of loveable characters, and explore--with searing honesty--the complexities and contradictions that make us human"--
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id8494bfb4-551c-3e82-11c8-59b33d002932
isbn9781501173264
9781501173288
9781508245230
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:4cff9e53-646e-4675-937c-60d21a997218-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b25174708.i76829078Fair OaksFICTION Norton, G.1falsefalseOn Shelffaiag
ils:.b25174708.i7682908xFair OaksFICTION Norton, G.1falsefalseOn Shelffaiag
ils:.b25174708.i76829066North Highlands-AntelopeFICTION Norton, G.1falsefalseOn Shelfnhiag
overdrive:9206997f-69d7-4de4-b8c9-57caca75fedd-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2020-09-30T11:03:20.87Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Norton, G.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogFair Oaks
North Highlands-Antelope
primary_isbn9781501173264
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:4cff9e53-646e-4675-937c-60d21a997218eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishSimon & Schuster Audio2017
ils:.b25174708BookBooksFirst American hardcover edition.EnglishAtria Books, 2017.264 pages ; 24 cm.
overdrive:9206997f-69d7-4de4-b8c9-57caca75feddeBookeBookEnglishAtria Books2017
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:4cff9e53-646e-4675-937c-60d21a997218-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b25174708.i76829078On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25174708.i7682908xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25174708.i76829066On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
overdrive:9206997f-69d7-4de4-b8c9-57caca75fedd-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetCork (Ireland : County) -- Fiction
Missing persons -- Fiction
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction
Mystery fiction
Police -- Ireland -- Fiction
Secrecy -- Fiction
Villages -- Fiction
title_displayHolding : a novel
title_fullHolding : a novel / Graham Norton
Holding A Novel
title_shortHolding
title_suba novel
topic_facetFiction
Investigation
Literature
Missing persons
Murder
Mystery
Police
Secrecy
Villages