We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Holding: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017
Language:
English
Description
"From Graham Norton, the BAFTA-award-winning Irish television host and author of the "sparkling and impish" (Daily Mail) memoirs The Life and Loves of a He Devil and So Me, comes a charming debut novel set in an idyllic Irish village where a bumbling investigator has to sort through decades of gossip and secrets to solve a mysterious crime. The remote Irish village of Duneen has known little drama but when human remains are discovered on an old farm, suspected to be that of Tommy Burke--a former lover of two different inhabitants--the village's dark past begins to unravel. As the frustrated sergeant PJ Collins struggles to solve a genuine case for the first time in his life, he unearths a community's worth of anger and resentments, secrets and regret. In this darkly comic, touching, and at times heartbreaking novel, perfect for fans of J.K. Rowling's The Casual Vacancy, Graham Norton employs his acerbic wit to breathe life into a host of loveable characters, and explore--with searing honesty--the complexities and contradictions that make us human"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781501173264
9781501173288
9781508245216
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID8494bfb4-551c-3e82-11c8-59b33d002932
Grouping Titleholding
Grouping Authorgraham norton
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-04-21 03:25:11AM
Last Indexed2024-04-20 02:22:14AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Norton, Graham, 1963-
author_display
Norton, Graham
available_at_catalog
Arden-Dimick
Martin Luther King Jr.
McClatchy
detailed_location_catalog
Arden-Dimick
Martin Luther King, Jr.
McClatchy
display_description
"From Graham Norton, the BAFTA-award-winning Irish television host and author of the "sparkling and impish" (Daily Mail) memoirs The Life and Loves of a He Devil and So Me, comes a charming debut novel set in an idyllic Irish village where a bumbling investigator has to sort through decades of gossip and secrets to solve a mysterious crime. The remote Irish village of Duneen has known little drama but when human remains are discovered on an old farm, suspected to be that of Tommy Burke--a former lover of two different inhabitants--the village's dark past begins to unravel. As the frustrated sergeant PJ Collins struggles to solve a genuine case for the first time in his life, he unearths a community's worth of anger and resentments, secrets and regret. In this darkly comic, touching, and at times heartbreaking novel, perfect for fans of J.K. Rowling's The Casual Vacancy, Graham Norton employs his acerbic wit to breathe life into a host of loveable characters, and explore--with searing honesty--the complexities and contradictions that make us human"--
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
8494bfb4-551c-3e82-11c8-59b33d002932
isbn
9781501173264
9781501173288
9781508245216
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2024-04-20T09:22:14.295Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Norton, G.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Arden-Dimick
Martin Luther King Jr.
McClatchy
primary_isbn
9781501173264
publishDate
2017
publisher
Atria Books
Simon & Schuster Audio
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Cork (Ireland : County) -- Fiction
Missing persons -- Fiction
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction
Mystery fiction
Police -- Ireland -- Fiction
Secrecy -- Fiction
Villages -- Fiction
title_display
Holding : a novel
title_full
Holding : a novel / Graham Norton
Holding A Novel
title_short
Holding
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Fiction
Investigation
Literature
Missing persons
Murder
Mystery
Police
Secrecy
Villages

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:4cff9e53-646e-4675-937c-60d21a997218-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
ils:.b25174708.i7682908xArden-DimickFICTION Norton, G.1falsefalseOn Shelfardag
ils:.b25174708.i76829066McClatchyFICTION Norton, G.1falsefalseOn Shelfmccag
ils:.b25174708.i76829078Martin Luther King, Jr.FICTION Norton, G.1falsefalseOn Shelfkinag
overdrive:9206997f-69d7-4de4-b8c9-57caca75fedd-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:4cff9e53-646e-4675-937c-60d21a997218eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishSimon & Schuster Audio2017
ils:.b25174708BookBooksFirst American hardcover editionEnglishAtria Books2017264 pages ; 24 cm
overdrive:9206997f-69d7-4de4-b8c9-57caca75feddeBookeBookEnglishAtria Books2017

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:4cff9e53-646e-4675-937c-60d21a997218-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b25174708.i7682908xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b25174708.i76829066On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b25174708.i76829078On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
overdrive:9206997f-69d7-4de4-b8c9-57caca75fedd-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse