Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The World of Ice & Fire: the untold history of Westeros and the Game of Thrones

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(3)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2014
Language:
English
Description
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
  • Perfect for fans of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO's Game of Thrones—an epic history of Westeros and the lands beyond, featuring hundreds of pages of all-new material from George R. R. Martin!If the past is prologue, then George R. R. Martin's masterwork—the most inventive and entertaining fantasy saga of our time—warrants one hell of an introduction. At long last, it has arrived with The World of Ice & Fire.This lavishly illustrated volume is a comprehensive history of the Seven Kingdoms, providing vividly constructed accounts of the epic battles, bitter rivalries, and daring rebellions that lead to the events of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO's Game of Thrones. In a collaboration that's been years in the making, Martin has teamed with Elio M. García, Jr., and Linda Antonsson, the founders of the renowned fan site Westeros.org—perhaps the only people who know this world almost as well as its visionary creator.Collected here is all the accumulated knowledge, scholarly speculation, and inherited folk tales of maesters and septons, maegi and singers, including
  • full-color artwork and maps, with more than 170 original pieces
  • full family trees for Houses Stark, Lannister, and Targaryen
  • in-depth explorations of the history and culture of Westeros
  • 100% all-new material, more than half of which Martin wrote specifically for this bookThe definitive companion piece to George R. R. Martin's dazzlingly conceived universe, The World of Ice & Fire is indeed proof that the pen is mightier than a storm of swords.
  • Also in This Series
    More Like This
    More Copies In LINK+
    Loading LINK+ Copies...
    More Details
    ISBN:
    9780553805444
    9780345535559
    9780553410075
    Reviews from GoodReads
    Loading GoodReads Reviews.
    Staff View

    Grouping Information

    Grouped Work ID847bbdb6-6a26-59df-941d-2299b6fb122a
    Grouping Titleworld of ice and fire the untold history of westeros and the game of thrones
    Grouping Authorgeorge r r martin
    Grouping Categorybook
    Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
    Last Grouping Update2021-02-28 03:09:43AM
    Last Indexed2021-02-28 04:42:44AM
    Novelist Primary ISBN9780553805444

    Solr Details

    accelerated_reader_point_value0
    accelerated_reader_reading_level0
    auth_author2Antonsson, Linda.
    Garcia, Elio.
    authorMartin, George R. R.
    author2-roleAntonsson, Linda.
    Garcia, Elio.
    author_displayMartin, George R. R
    available_at_catalogArcade
    North Natomas
    Valley Hi-North Laguna
    detailed_location_catalogArcade
    Carmichael
    Elk Grove
    Galt
    North Natomas
    Valley Hi-North Laguna
    display_descriptionNEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
  • Perfect for fans of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO's Game of Thrones—an epic history of Westeros and the lands beyond, featuring hundreds of pages of all-new material from George R. R. Martin!
    If the past is prologue, then George R. R. Martin's masterwork—the most inventive and entertaining fantasy saga of our time—warrants one hell of an introduction. At long last, it has arrived with The World of Ice & Fire.
    This lavishly illustrated volume is a comprehensive history of the Seven Kingdoms, providing vividly constructed accounts of the epic battles, bitter rivalries, and daring rebellions that lead to the events of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO's Game of Thrones. In a collaboration that's been years in the making, Martin has teamed with Elio M. García, Jr., and Linda Antonsson, the founders of the renowned fan site Westeros.org—perhaps the only people who know this world almost as well as its visionary creator.
    Collected here is all the accumulated knowledge, scholarly speculation, and inherited folk tales of maesters and septons, maegi and singers, including

  • full-color artwork and maps, with more than 170 original pieces
  • full family trees for Houses Stark, Lannister, and Targaryen
  • in-depth explorations of the history and culture of Westeros
  • 100% all-new material, more than half of which Martin wrote specifically for this book
    The definitive companion piece to George R. R. Martin's dazzlingly conceived universe, The World of Ice & Fire is indeed proof that the pen is mightier than a storm of swords.
  • format_catalogOversize
    eAudiobook
    eBook
    format_category_catalogAudio Books
    Books
    eBook
    id847bbdb6-6a26-59df-941d-2299b6fb122a
    isbn9780345535559
    9780553410075
    9780553805444
    item_details
    Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
    overdrive:e432d4e6-ab13-4044-9dd1-b34fe2f57b3d4Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
    overdrive:e432d4e6-ab13-4044-9dd1-b34fe2f57b3d5Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
    overdrive:e432d4e6-ab13-4044-9dd1-b34fe2f57b3d3Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
    overdrive:e432d4e6-ab13-4044-9dd1-b34fe2f57b3d-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
    overdrive:e432d4e6-ab13-4044-9dd1-b34fe2f57b3d-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
    overdrive:e62b268b-6e3c-44d4-b795-5dcd8064db87-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books7falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
    ils:.b23077943.i70911344CarmichaelOVERSIZE 813.6 M380 20141falsefalseDue Oct 31, 2020carag
    ils:.b23077943.i70911381Elk GroveOVERSIZE 813.6 M380 20141falsefalseDue Apr 1, 2021elkag
    ils:.b23077943.i70911411Valley Hi-North LagunaOVERSIZE 813.6 M380 20141falsefalseOn Shelfvalag
    ils:.b23077943.i70911332North NatomasOVERSIZE 813.6 M380 20141falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
    ils:.b23077943.i70911320ArcadeOVERSIZE 813.6 M380 20141falsefalseOn Shelfarcag
    ils:.b23077943.i71103491Folsom Adult813.6 MAR 20141falsefalseDue Feb 9, 2021fola
    ils:.b23077943.i7091137xValley Hi-North LagunaOVERSIZE 813.6 M380 20141falsefalseOn Shelfvalag
    ils:.b23077943.i70911368GaltOVERSIZE 813.6 M380 20141falsefalseDue Feb 23, 2021galag
    itype_catalogAdult Book Non-Fiction
    last_indexed2021-02-28T12:42:44.132Z
    lexile_score-1
    literary_formUnknown
    literary_form_fullUnknown
    local_callnumber_catalogOVERSIZE 813.6 M380 2014
    owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
    owning_location_catalogArcade
    Carmichael
    Elk Grove
    Galt
    North Natomas
    Valley Hi-North Laguna
    primary_isbn9780553805444
    publishDate2014
    record_details
    Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
    overdrive:e432d4e6-ab13-4044-9dd1-b34fe2f57b3deBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2014
    overdrive:e62b268b-6e3c-44d4-b795-5dcd8064db87eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2014
    ils:.b23077943OversizeBooksFirst edition.EnglishBantam Books, 2014.326 pages : color illustrations, maps, genealogical tables ; 31 cm.
    recordtypegrouped_work
    scoping_details_catalog
    Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
    overdrive:e432d4e6-ab13-4044-9dd1-b34fe2f57b3d-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
    overdrive:e62b268b-6e3c-44d4-b795-5dcd8064db87-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
    ils:.b23077943.i70911344Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
    ils:.b23077943.i70911381Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
    ils:.b23077943.i70911411On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
    ils:.b23077943.i70911332On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
    ils:.b23077943.i70911320On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
    ils:.b23077943.i71103491Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
    ils:.b23077943.i7091137xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
    ils:.b23077943.i70911368Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
    seriesSong of ice and fire
    series_with_volumeSong of ice and fire|
    subject_facetFantasy fiction -- History and criticism -- Handbooks, manuals, etc
    Game of thrones (Television program)
    title_displayThe World of Ice & Fire The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones
    title_fullThe World of Ice & Fire The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones
    The world of ice & fire : the untold history of Westeros and the Game of Thrones / George R.R. Martin, Elio Garcia, and Linda Antonsson
    title_shortThe World of Ice & Fire
    title_subthe untold history of Westeros and the Game of Thrones
    topic_facetFantasy
    Fantasy fiction
    Fiction
    History and criticism