We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The sea beach line: a Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2015
Language:
English
Description

Set in post-Giuliani New York City, The Sea Beach Line melds mid-20th- century pulp fiction and traditional Jewish folklore as it updates the classic story of a young man trying to find his place in the world.
After being expelled from Oberlin for hallucinogenic drug use, Izzy Edel seeks out his estranged father—a Polish Jew turned Israeli soldier turned New York street vendor named Alojzy who is reported to be missing, possibly dead. To learn about Alojzy's life and discover the truth behind his disappearance, Izzy takes over his father's outdoor bookselling business and meets the hustlers, gangsters, and members of a religious sect who peopled his father's world. He also falls in love.
As Izzy soon discovers, appearances can deceive; no one, not even his own father, is quite whom he seems to be. Vowing to prove himself equal to Alojzy's legacy of fearlessness, Izzy plunges forward on a criminal enterprise that will bring him answers—at great personal cost.
Fans of Jonathan Lethem's Motherless Brooklyn, Nathan Englander's For the Relief of Unbearable Urges, and Michael Chabon's The Yiddish Policemen's Union will relish to Ben Nadler's combined mystery, love story, and homage to text and custom.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9781941493083
9781941493090
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID810d517b-2840-2742-708e-abbf506ffa28
Grouping Titlesea beach line
Grouping Authorben nadler
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-05-27 10:49:10AM
Last Indexed2022-05-27 10:49:45AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorNadler, Ben
author2-rolehoopla digital
author_displayNadler, Ben
available_at_catalogBelle Cooledge
Central
Fair Oaks
detailed_location_catalogBelle Cooledge
Central
Fair Oaks
display_description

Set in post-Giuliani New York City, The Sea Beach Line melds mid-20th- century pulp fiction and traditional Jewish folklore as it updates the classic story of a young man trying to find his place in the world.
After being expelled from Oberlin for hallucinogenic drug use, Izzy Edel seeks out his estranged father—a Polish Jew turned Israeli soldier turned New York street vendor named Alojzy who is reported to be missing, possibly dead. To learn about Alojzy's life and discover the truth behind his disappearance, Izzy takes over his father's outdoor bookselling business and meets the hustlers, gangsters, and members of a religious sect who peopled his father's world. He also falls in love.
As Izzy soon discovers, appearances can deceive; no one, not even his own father, is quite whom he seems to be. Vowing to prove himself equal to Alojzy's legacy of fearlessness, Izzy plunges forward on a criminal enterprise that will bring him answers—at great personal cost.
Fans of Jonathan Lethem's Motherless Brooklyn, Nathan Englander's For the Relief of Unbearable Urges, and Michael Chabon's The Yiddish Policemen's Union will relish to Ben Nadler's combined mystery, love story, and homage to text and custom.

format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
id810d517b-2840-2742-708e-abbf506ffa28
isbn9781941493083
9781941493090
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:c4f39cd9-748d-496b-8f27-3e7a657e3da8-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b2382573x.i72750212Belle CooledgeFICTION Nadler, B.1falsefalseOn Shelfcooag
ils:.b2382573x.i72750236Fair OaksFICTION Nadler, B.1falsefalseOn Shelffaiag
ils:.b2382573x.i72750200CentralFICTION Nadler, B.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
hoopla:MWT11825899Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11825899Available Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2022-05-27T17:49:45.608Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
Novels
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Nadler, B.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogBelle Cooledge
Central
Fair Oaks
primary_isbn9781941493083
publishDate2015
publisherFig Tree Books LLC
Fig Tree Books LLC,
Fig Tree Books,
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:c4f39cd9-748d-496b-8f27-3e7a657e3da8eBookeBookEnglishFig Tree Books LLC2015
ils:.b2382573xBookBooksEnglishFig Tree Books2015385 pages ; 23 cm.
hoopla:MWT11825899eBookeBookEnglishFig Tree Books LLC20151 online resource
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:c4f39cd9-748d-496b-8f27-3e7a657e3da8-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b2382573x.i72750212On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b2382573x.i72750236On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b2382573x.i72750200On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
hoopla:MWT11825899Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetBooksellers and bookselling -- New York (State) -- New York -- Fiction
Electronic books
Fathers and sons -- Fiction
Jews -- United States -- Fiction
Missing persons -- Fiction
New York (N.Y.) -- Fiction
New York (N.Y.) -- Social life and customs -- Fiction
Organized crime -- New York (State) -- New York -- Fiction
title_displayThe sea beach line : a novel
title_fullThe Sea Beach Line : a Novel [electronic resource] / Ben Nadler
The Sea Beach Line A Novel
The sea beach line : a novel / Ben Nadler
title_shortThe sea beach line
title_suba Novel
topic_facetBooksellers and bookselling
Electronic books
Fathers and sons
Fiction
Jews
Literature
Missing persons
Organized crime
Social life and customs