The house at Riverton: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
From the #1 internationally bestselling author of The Forgotten Garden comes a gorgeous novel set in England between World War I and World war II. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, it is the story of an aristocratic family, a house, a mysterious death and a way of life that vanished forever, told in flashback by a woman who witnessed it all and kept a secret for decades.Grace Bradley went to work at Riverton House as a servant when she was just a girl, before the First World War. For years her life was inextricably tied up with the Hartford family, most particularly the two daughters, Hannah and Emmeline. In the summer of 1924, at a glittering society party held at the house, a young poet shot himself. The only witnesses were Hannah and Emmeline and only they—and Grace—know the truth. In 1999, when Grace is ninety-eight years old and living out her last days in a nursing home, she is visited by a young director who is making a film about the events of that summer. She takes Grace back to Riverton House and reawakens her memories. Told in flashback, this is the story of Grace's youth during the last days of Edwardian aristocratic privilege shattered by war, of the vibrant twenties and the changes she witnessed as an entire way of life vanished forever. The novel is full of secrets—some revealed, others hidden forever, reminiscent of the romantic suspense of Daphne du Maurier. It is also a meditation on memory, the devastation of war and a beautifully rendered window into a fascinating time in history. Kate Morton's first novel, originally published to critical acclaim in Australia, and quickly becoming a #1 bestseller in England, The House at Riverton is a vivid, page-turning novel of suspense and passion, with characters—and an ending—readers won't soon forget.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781416550518
9781602852044
9781439152676
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID80321a1c-1ecf-be56-dca2-627591a50d67
Grouping Titlehouse at riverton
Grouping Authormorton kate
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-10-22 01:55:26AM
Last Indexed2019-10-21 02:34:21AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorMorton, Kate, 1976-
author_displayKate Morton
available_at_catalogElk Grove
detailed_location_catalogElk Grove
display_descriptionFrom the #1 internationally bestselling author of The Forgotten Garden comes a gorgeous novel set in England between World War I and World war II. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, it is the story of an aristocratic family, a house, a mysterious death and a way of life that vanished forever, told in flashback by a woman who witnessed it all and kept a secret for decades.
Grace Bradley went to work at Riverton House as a servant when she was just a girl, before the First World War. For years her life was inextricably tied up with the Hartford family, most particularly the two daughters, Hannah and Emmeline.

In the summer of 1924, at a glittering society party held at the house, a young poet shot himself. The only witnesses were Hannah and Emmeline and only they—and Grace—know the truth.

In 1999, when Grace is ninety-eight years old and living out her last days in a nursing home, she is visited by a young director who is making a film about the events of that summer. She takes Grace back to Riverton House and reawakens her memories. Told in flashback, this is the story of Grace's youth during the last days of Edwardian aristocratic privilege shattered by war, of the vibrant twenties and the changes she witnessed as an entire way of life vanished forever.

The novel is full of secrets—some revealed, others hidden forever, reminiscent of the romantic suspense of Daphne du Maurier. It is also a meditation on memory, the devastation of war and a beautifully rendered window into a fascinating time in history.

Kate Morton's first novel, originally published to critical acclaim in Australia, and quickly becoming a #1 bestseller in England, The House at Riverton is a vivid, page-turning novel of suspense and passion, with characters—and an ending—readers won't soon forget.
format_catalogBook
Large Print
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
id80321a1c-1ecf-be56-dca2-627591a50d67
isbn9781416550518
9781439152676
9781602852044
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b1895618x.i55911183Elk GroveLARGE PRINT FICTION Morton, K.1falsefalseOn Shelfelka
ils:.b1895618x.i55097339Woodland Public LibraryLARGE PRINT FICTION Morton1falsefalseOn Shelfwdpa
ils:.b18681888.i7967141xSutter County Main BranchFICTION Morton, K.1falsefalseOn Shelfsuta
ils:.b18681888.i69446568Folsom AdultFICTION Morton, K.1falsefalseOn Shelffola
ils:.b18681888.i5563171xSutter County Main BranchFICTION Morton, K.1falsefalseOn Shelfsuta
ils:.b18681888.i72320151Woodland Public LibraryFICTION Morton, K.1falsefalseOn Shelfwdpa
overdrive:6019169c-a056-434d-ae62-0f3553e1d7ed-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
itype_catalogAdu Large Print
Adult Fiction
last_indexed2019-10-21T09:34:21.031Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogLARGE PRINT FICTION Morton, K.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogElk Grove
primary_isbn9781416550518
publishDate2008
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b1895618xLarge PrintBooksCenter Point large print ed.EnglishCenter Point Pub., 2008.614 p. (large print) ; 23 cm.
ils:.b18681888BookBooks1st Atria Books hardcover ed.EnglishAtria Books, 2008, c2006.vi, 473 p. ; 24 cm.
overdrive:6019169c-a056-434d-ae62-0f3553e1d7edeBookeBookEnglishAtria Books2008
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b1895618x.i55911183On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b1895618x.i55097339On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 69, 70, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120
ils:.b18681888.i7967141xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b18681888.i69446568On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b18681888.i5563171xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b18681888.i72320151On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 69, 70, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120
overdrive:6019169c-a056-434d-ae62-0f3553e1d7ed-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetEngland -- Fiction
Great Britain -- Social life and customs -- 1918-1945 -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Large type books
Poets -- Crimes against -- Fiction
Reminiscing in old age -- Fiction
Romantic suspense fiction
Upper class families -- Fiction
Women domestics -- Fiction
title_displayThe house at Riverton : a novel
title_fullThe House at Riverton A Novel
The house at Riverton : a novel / Kate Morton
The house at Riverton [text (large print)] : [a novel]/ Kate Morton
title_shortThe house at Riverton
title_subA Novel
topic_facetCrimes against
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Literature
Poets
Reminiscing in old age
Social life and customs
Upper class families
Women domestics