We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The greatest knight: the unsung story of the queen's champion

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for The greatest knight

Average user rating: 4.5 stars
User ratings:
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Publication Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English

Description

THE NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER!

"The best writer of medieval fiction currently around."—Historical Novels Review

Royal protector. Loyal servant. Forgotten hero.

12th century, England: A penniless young knight with few prospects, William Marshal is plucked from obscurity when he saves the life of Henry II's formidable queen, Eleanor of Aquitaine. In gratitude, she appoints him tutor to the heir to the throne, the volatile and fickle Prince Henry. But being a royal favorite brings its share of danger and jealousy as well as fame and reward.

A writer of uncommon historical integrity and accuracy, Elizabeth Chadwick resurrects the true story of one of England's greatest forgotten heroes in a captivating blend of fact and fiction. The Greatest Knight restores William Marshal to his rightful place at the pinnacle of the British Middle Ages, reflecting through him the triumphs, scandals, and power struggles that haven't changed in eight hundred years.

Fans of Phillipa Gregory, Susanna Kearsley, or Diana Gabaldon are sure to recognize The Greatest Knight as exceptional historical fiction, bringing medieval Britain to brilliant life.

More Novels of Elizabeth Chadwick's William Marshal:

The Greatest Knight

The Scarlet Lion

For the King's Favor

Templar Silks

To Defy a King

Also in This Series

More Like This

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

ISBN:
9781402225185
9781402228643

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID7d9888ed-5478-66a4-c131-8c7c9752ac0a
Grouping Titlegreatest knight the unsung story of the queens champion
Grouping Authorelizabeth chadwick
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-07-18 02:10:39AM
Last Indexed2024-07-18 02:21:50AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Chadwick, Elizabeth
author_display
Chadwick, Elizabeth
available_at_catalog
North Natomas
detailed_location_catalog
North Natomas
display_description

THE NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER!

"The best writer of medieval fiction currently around."—Historical Novels Review

Royal protector. Loyal servant. Forgotten hero.

12th century, England: A penniless young knight with few prospects, William Marshal is plucked from obscurity when he saves the life of Henry II's formidable queen, Eleanor of Aquitaine. In gratitude, she appoints him tutor to the heir to the throne, the volatile and fickle Prince Henry. But being a royal favorite brings its share of danger and jealousy as well as fame and reward.

A writer of uncommon historical integrity and accuracy, Elizabeth Chadwick resurrects the true story of one of England's greatest forgotten heroes in a captivating blend of fact and fiction. The Greatest Knight restores William Marshal to his rightful place at the pinnacle of the British Middle Ages, reflecting through him the triumphs, scandals, and power struggles that haven't changed in eight hundred years.

Fans of Phillipa Gregory, Susanna Kearsley, or Diana Gabaldon are sure to recognize The Greatest Knight as exceptional historical fiction, bringing medieval Britain to brilliant life.

More Novels of Elizabeth Chadwick's William Marshal:

The Greatest Knight

The Scarlet Lion

For the King's Favor

Templar Silks

To Defy a King

format_catalog
Book
eBook
format_category_catalog
Books
eBook
id
7d9888ed-5478-66a4-c131-8c7c9752ac0a
isbn
9781402225185
9781402228643
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2024-07-18T09:21:50.009Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Chadwick, E.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
North Natomas
primary_isbn
9781402225185
publishDate
2009
publisher
Sourcebooks
Sourcebooks Landmark
recordtype
grouped_work
series
William Marshal
series_with_volume
William Marshal|
subject_facet
Biographical fiction
Eleanor, -- of Aquitaine, Queen, consort of Henry II, King of England, -- 1122?-1204 -- Fiction
Favorites, Royal -- Great Britain -- Fiction
Great Britain -- Courts and courtiers -- Fiction
Great Britain -- History -- Henry II, 1154-1189 -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Knights and knighthood -- Great Britain -- Fiction
Pembroke, William Marshal, -- Earl of, -- 1144?-1219 -- Fiction
title_display
The greatest knight : the unsung story of the queen's champion
title_full
The Greatest Knight The Unsung Story of the Queen's Champion
The greatest knight : the unsung story of the queen's champion / Elizabeth Chadwick
title_short
The greatest knight
title_sub
the unsung story of the queen's champion
topic_facet
Courts and courtiers
Eleanor
Favorites, Royal
Fiction
Historical Fiction
History
Knights and knighthood
Literature
Pembroke, William Marshal

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocationCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:8d276b20-9065-458a-9b4a-3d4739b2a5b2-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
ils:.b20214479.i72243077North NatomasFICTION Chadwick, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfnntag

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:8d276b20-9065-458a-9b4a-3d4739b2a5b2eBookeBookEnglishSourcebooks
ils:.b20214479BookBooksEnglishSourcebooks Landmarkc2009549 p. : maps ; 21 cm.

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:8d276b20-9065-458a-9b4a-3d4739b2a5b2-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b20214479.i72243077On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 38, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011