Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The gallery of unfinished girls

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 5.2 - AR Pts: 13
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 780L
Description
A beautiful and evocative look at identity and creativity, The Gallery of Unfinished Girls is a stunning debut in magical realism. Perfect for fans of The Walls Around Us and Bone Gap. Mercedes Moreno is an artist. At least, she thinks she could be, even though she hasn't been able to paint anything worthwhile in the past year. Her lack of inspiration might be because her abuela is in a coma. Or the fact that Mercedes is in love with her best friend, Victoria, but is too afraid to admit her true feelings. Despite Mercedes's creative block, art starts to show up in unexpected ways. A piano appears on her front lawn one morning, and a mysterious new neighbor invites Mercedes to paint with her at the Red Mangrove Estate. At the Estate, Mercedes can create in ways she hasn't ever before. But Mercedes can't take anything out of the Estate, including her new-found clarity. Mercedes can't live both lives forever, and ultimately she must choose between this perfect world of art and truth and a much messier reality. "A dreamy and subtle work of art, The Gallery of Unfinished Girls explores love, family, and the maddening, magical drive to create art."--Adi Alsaid, author of Let's Get Lost.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780062467775
9780062467799
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.2, 13 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 780L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID7bb34173-bea6-8c31-cf4e-f5f12ba3d4d3
Grouping Titlegallery of unfinished girls
Grouping Authorlauren karcz
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-08-02 02:27:10AM
Last Indexed2021-08-01 03:51:40AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780062467775

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelUG
accelerated_reader_point_value13
accelerated_reader_reading_level5.2
authorLauren Karcz
author2-rolehoopla digital.
author_displayKarcz, Lauren
available_at_catalogCentral
Elk Grove
Franklin
Valley Hi-North Laguna
detailed_location_catalogBelle Cooledge Teen Area
Central Teen Area - 3rd Floor
Elk Grove Teen Area
Franklin Teen
Valley Hi-North Laguna Teen Area
display_descriptionA beautiful and evocative look at identity and creativity, The Gallery of Unfinished Girls is a stunning debut in magical realism. Perfect for fans of The Walls Around Us and Bone Gap. Mercedes Moreno is an artist. At least, she thinks she could be, even though she hasn't been able to paint anything worthwhile in the past year. Her lack of inspiration might be because her abuela is in a coma. Or the fact that Mercedes is in love with her best friend, Victoria, but is too afraid to admit her true feelings. Despite Mercedes's creative block, art starts to show up in unexpected ways. A piano appears on her front lawn one morning, and a mysterious new neighbor invites Mercedes to paint with her at the Red Mangrove Estate. At the Estate, Mercedes can create in ways she hasn't ever before. But Mercedes can't take anything out of the Estate, including her new-found clarity. Mercedes can't live both lives forever, and ultimately she must choose between this perfect world of art and truth and a much messier reality. "A dreamy and subtle work of art, The Gallery of Unfinished Girls explores love, family, and the maddening, magical drive to create art."--Adi Alsaid, author of Let's Get Lost.
format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
id7bb34173-bea6-8c31-cf4e-f5f12ba3d4d3
isbn9780062467775
9780062467799
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT12458110Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12458110?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:4b9811c2-4d06-49dd-b41a-596a58d9e302-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
ils:.b25011224.i76465123Valley Hi-North Laguna Teen AreaTEEN FICTION Karcz, L.1falsefalseOn Shelfvaltg
ils:.b25011224.i76465147Belle Cooledge Teen AreaTEEN FICTION Karcz, L.1falsefalseDue Oct 31, 2020cootg
ils:.b25011224.i76465135Franklin TeenTEEN FICTION Karcz, L.1falsefalseOn Shelffratg
ils:.b25011224.i76465111Central Teen Area - 3rd FloorTEEN FICTION Karcz, L.1falsefalseOn Shelfcentg
ils:.b25011224.i7646510xElk Grove Teen AreaTEEN FICTION Karcz, L.1falsefalseOn Shelfelktg
itype_catalogTeen Book
last_indexed2021-08-01T10:51:40.657Z
lexile_codeHL: High-Low
lexile_score780
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogTEEN FICTION Karcz, L.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogBelle Cooledge
Central
Elk Grove
Franklin
Valley Hi-North Laguna
primary_isbn9780062467775
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT12458110eBookeBookEnglishHarper Collins Publishers, 2017.1 online resource
overdrive:4b9811c2-4d06-49dd-b41a-596a58d9e302eBookeBookEnglishHarperTeen2017
ils:.b25011224BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishHarperTeen, [2017]340 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT12458110Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:4b9811c2-4d06-49dd-b41a-596a58d9e302-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b25011224.i76465123On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25011224.i76465147Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25011224.i76465135On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25011224.i76465111On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25011224.i7646510xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
subject_facetArtists -- Fiction
Artists -- Juvenile fiction
Creative ability -- Fiction
Creative ability -- Juvenile fiction
Electronic books
Teenagers -- Fiction
Teenagers -- Juvenile fiction
Young adult fiction
title_displayThe gallery of unfinished girls
title_fullThe Gallery of Unfinished Girls
The gallery of unfinished girls / Lauren Karcz
The gallery of unfinished girls [electronic resource] / Lauren Karcz
title_shortThe gallery of unfinished girls
topic_facetArtists
Creative ability
Electronic books
Fantasy
Teenagers
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature