Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Friday black

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(1)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2018.
Language:
English
Description

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER"An unbelievable debut, one that announces a new and necessary American voice." Tommy Orange, New York Times Book Review"An excitement and a wonder: strange, crazed, urgent and funny."George Saunders"Dark and captivating and essential . . . A call to arms and a condemnation . . . Read this book." Roxane GayA National Book Foundation "5 Under 35" honoree, chosen by Colson Whitehead Winner of the PEN/Jean Stein Book Award Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle's John Leonard Award for Best First BookA piercingly raw debut story collection from a young writer with an explosive voice; a treacherously surreal, and, at times, heartbreakingly satirical look at what it's like to be young and black in America. From the start of this extraordinary debut, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah's writing will grab you, haunt you, enrage and invigorate you. By placing ordinary characters in extraordinary situations, Adjei-Brenyah reveals the violence, injustice, and painful absurdities that black men and women contend with every day in this country. These stories tackle urgent instances of racism and cultural unrest, and explore the many ways we fight for humanity in an unforgiving world. In "The Finkelstein Five," Adjei-Brenyah gives us an unforgettable reckoning of the brutal prejudice of our justice system. In "Zimmer Land," we see a far-too-easy-to-believe imagining of racism as sport. And "Friday Black" and "How to Sell a Jacket as Told by Ice King" show the horrors of consumerism and the toll it takes on us all. Entirely fresh in its style and perspective, and sure to appeal to fans of Colson Whitehead, Marlon James, and George Saunders, Friday Black confronts readers with a complicated, insistent, wrenching chorus of emotions, the final note of which, remarkably, is hope.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID7aa3cded-3d29-23a6-7fe7-bd88dba6df94
Grouping Titlefriday black
Grouping Authornana kwame adjei brenyah
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-18 02:33:10AM
Last Indexed2020-09-17 15:19:02PM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781328911247

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Adjei-Brenyah, Nana Kwame.
authorAdjei-Brenyah, Nana Kwame,
author2-roleAdjei-Brenyah, Nana Kwame.Era.
Adjei-Brenyah, Nana Kwame.Finkelstein.
Adjei-Brenyah, Nana Kwame.Hospital where.
Adjei-Brenyah, Nana Kwame.How to sell a jacket as told by IceKing.
Adjei-Brenyah, Nana Kwame.In retail.
Adjei-Brenyah, Nana Kwame.Lark Street.
Adjei-Brenyah, Nana Kwame.Light spitter.
Adjei-Brenyah, Nana Kwame.Lion & the spider.
Adjei-Brenyah, Nana Kwame.Things my mother said.
Adjei-Brenyah, Nana Kwame.Through the flash.
Adjei-Brenyah, Nana Kwame.Zimmer land.
author_displayAdjei-Brenyah, Nana Kwame
available_at_catalogIsleton
detailed_location_catalogCentral
Colonial Heights
Isleton
Martin Luther King, Jr. African American Collection
display_description

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
"An unbelievable debut, one that announces a new and necessary American voice." Tommy Orange, New York Times Book Review
"An excitement and a wonder: strange, crazed, urgent and funny."George Saunders
"Dark and captivating and essential . . . A call to arms and a condemnation . . . Read this book." Roxane Gay
A National Book Foundation "5 Under 35" honoree, chosen by Colson Whitehead
Winner of the PEN/Jean Stein Book Award
Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle's John Leonard Award for Best First Book

A piercingly raw debut story collection from a young writer with an explosive voice; a treacherously surreal, and, at times, heartbreakingly satirical look at what it's like to be young and black in America.
From the start of this extraordinary debut, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah's writing will grab you, haunt you, enrage and invigorate you. By placing ordinary characters in extraordinary situations, Adjei-Brenyah reveals the violence, injustice, and painful absurdities that black men and women contend with every day in this country.
These stories tackle urgent instances of racism and cultural unrest, and explore the many ways we fight for humanity in an unforgiving world. In "The Finkelstein Five," Adjei-Brenyah gives us an unforgettable reckoning of the brutal prejudice of our justice system. In "Zimmer Land," we see a far-too-easy-to-believe imagining of racism as sport. And "Friday Black" and "How to Sell a Jacket as Told by Ice King" show the horrors of consumerism and the toll it takes on us all.
Entirely fresh in its style and perspective, and sure to appeal to fans of Colson Whitehead, Marlon James, and George Saunders, Friday Black confronts readers with a complicated, insistent, wrenching chorus of emotions, the final note of which, remarkably, is hope.

format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id7aa3cded-3d29-23a6-7fe7-bd88dba6df94
isbn9781328911247
9781328915139
9781432862336
9781980002819
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:1e0fc018-87c2-4385-9934-473fb5d4e51d-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books3falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b25739293.i81275742Martin Luther King, Jr. African American CollectionFICTION Adjei-Brenyah, N.1falsefalseDue Oct 31, 2020kinaa
ils:.b25739293.i79645744CentralFICTION Adjei-Brenyah, N.1falsefalseDue Oct 29, 2020cenag
ils:.b25739293.i7964577xColonial HeightsFICTION Adjei-Brenyah, N.1falsefalseDue Oct 31, 2020chsag
ils:.b25739293.i80135225IsletonFICTION Adjei-Brenyah, N.1falsefalseDue Oct 31, 2020islag
ils:.b25739293.i79633067Folsom AdultSHORT STORIES Adeji-Brenyah, N.1falsefalseOn Shelffola
ils:.b25739293.i79813768Woodland Public LibraryFICTION Adjei-Brenyah, N.1falsefalseOn Shelfwdpa
ils:.b25739293.i80836124IsletonFICTION Adjei-Brenyah, N.1falsefalseOn Shelfislag
overdrive:c778388d-18c9-48bf-adc8-019e589a9c07-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:c778388d-18c9-48bf-adc8-019e589a9c074Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:c778388d-18c9-48bf-adc8-019e589a9c075Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:c778388d-18c9-48bf-adc8-019e589a9c07-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook12falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:c778388d-18c9-48bf-adc8-019e589a9c073Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2020-09-17T22:19:02.952Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
Short Stories
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Adjei-Brenyah, N.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCentral
Colonial Heights
Isleton
Martin Luther King Jr.
primary_isbn9781328911247
publishDate2018
2019
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b26037919Large PrintBooksLarge print edition.EnglishThorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2019.297 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.
overdrive:1e0fc018-87c2-4385-9934-473fb5d4e51deAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishRecorded Books, Inc.2018
ils:.b25739293BookBooksEnglishHoughton Mifflin Harcourt, 2018.194 pages ; 21 cm
overdrive:c778388d-18c9-48bf-adc8-019e589a9c07eBookeBookEnglishHMH Books2018
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:1e0fc018-87c2-4385-9934-473fb5d4e51d-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b25739293.i81275742Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25739293.i79645744Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25739293.i7964577xChecked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25739293.i80135225Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25739293.i79633067On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b25739293.i79813768On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 73, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120
ils:.b25739293.i80836124On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
overdrive:c778388d-18c9-48bf-adc8-019e589a9c07-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
seriesThorndike Press large print Bill's bookshelf
series_with_volumeThorndike Press large print Bill's bookshelf|
subject_facetFICTION / African American
FICTION / Literary
FICTION / Satire
Fiction
Large type books
Racism
Racism -- Fiction
Short stories
title_displayFriday black
title_fullFriday Black
Friday black / Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
Friday black / by Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
title_shortFriday black
topic_facetAfrican American Fiction
FICTION / African American
FICTION / Literary
FICTION / Satire
Fiction
Large type books
Racism
Short Stories