We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The boat people

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"For readers of Khaled Hosseini and Chris Cleave, The Boat People is an extraordinary novel about a group of refugees who survive a perilous ocean voyage only to face the threat of deportation amid accusations of terrorism When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the "boat people" are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks--and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum. Told through the alternating perspectives of Mahindan; his lawyer, Priya, a second-generation Sri Lankan Canadian who reluctantly represents the refugees; and Grace, a third-generation Japanese Canadian adjudicator who must decide Mahindan's fate as evidence mounts against him, The Boat People is a spellbinding and timely novel that provokes a deeply compassionate lens through which to view the current refugee crisis"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780385542296
9780771001871
9780385542302
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID773dfdfb-6ef5-bbe4-7c40-dfa8d70ba3a6
Grouping Titleboat people
Grouping Authorsharon bala
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-08-12 02:08:30AM
Last Indexed2022-08-12 02:55:36AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Bala, Sharon
author_display
Bala, Sharon
available_at_catalog
Carmichael
Central
Elk Grove
Franklin
Southgate
detailed_location_catalog
Carmichael
Central
Elk Grove
Franklin
Southgate
display_description
"For readers of Khaled Hosseini and Chris Cleave, The Boat People is an extraordinary novel about a group of refugees who survive a perilous ocean voyage only to face the threat of deportation amid accusations of terrorism When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the "boat people" are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks--and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum. Told through the alternating perspectives of Mahindan; his lawyer, Priya, a second-generation Sri Lankan Canadian who reluctantly represents the refugees; and Grace, a third-generation Japanese Canadian adjudicator who must decide Mahindan's fate as evidence mounts against him, The Boat People is a spellbinding and timely novel that provokes a deeply compassionate lens through which to view the current refugee crisis"--
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
773dfdfb-6ef5-bbe4-7c40-dfa8d70ba3a6
isbn
9780385542296
9780385542302
9780771001871
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2022-08-12T09:55:36.423Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Bala, S.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Carmichael
Central
Elk Grove
Franklin
Southgate
primary_isbn
9780385542296
publishDate
2018
publisher
Doubleday
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
McClelland & Stewart
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Domestic fiction
Fathers and sons -- Fiction
Legal stories
Refugees -- Canada -- Fiction
title_display
The boat people
title_full
The Boat People
The Boat People A Novel
The boat people / Sharon Bala
title_short
The boat people
topic_facet
Fathers and sons
Fiction
Literature
Refugees

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:055a99c1-6dc6-4d54-bb50-94d7484fdf8b-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b25235746.i77402492Elk GroveFICTION Bala, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfelkag
ils:.b25235746.i77402467CarmichaelFICTION Bala, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
ils:.b25235746.i77402455SouthgateFICTION Bala, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfsouag
ils:.b25235746.i77402479CentralFICTION Bala, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b25235746.i77402480FranklinFICTION Bala, S.1falsefalseOn Shelffraag
overdrive:fd6335a1-1ee8-487a-b6e7-9ce35a1903ac-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:055a99c1-6dc6-4d54-bb50-94d7484fdf8beAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishMcClelland & Stewart2018
ils:.b25235746BookBooksFirst editionEnglishDoubleday[2018]338 pages ; 25 cm
overdrive:fd6335a1-1ee8-487a-b6e7-9ce35a1903aceBookeBookEnglishKnopf Doubleday Publishing Group2018

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:055a99c1-6dc6-4d54-bb50-94d7484fdf8b-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b25235746.i77402492On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25235746.i77402467On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25235746.i77402455On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25235746.i77402479On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25235746.i77402480On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
overdrive:fd6335a1-1ee8-487a-b6e7-9ce35a1903ac-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse