Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The boat people: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"For readers of Khaled Hosseini and Chris Cleave, The Boat People is an extraordinary novel about a group of refugees who survive a perilous ocean voyage only to face the threat of deportation amid accusations of terrorism When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the "boat people" are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks--and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum. Told through the alternating perspectives of Mahindan; his lawyer, Priya, a second-generation Sri Lankan Canadian who reluctantly represents the refugees; and Grace, a third-generation Japanese Canadian adjudicator who must decide Mahindan's fate as evidence mounts against him, The Boat People is a spellbinding and timely novel that provokes a deeply compassionate lens through which to view the current refugee crisis"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780385542296
9780771001871
9780385542302
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID773dfdfb-6ef5-bbe4-7c40-dfa8d70ba3a6
Grouping Titleboat people
Grouping Authorsharon bala
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-06-13 03:31:49AM
Last Indexed2021-06-13 04:01:16AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780385542296

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorBala, Sharon,
author_displayBala, Sharon
available_at_catalogCentral
Elk Grove
Pocket-Greenhaven
Southgate
detailed_location_catalogCentral
Elk Grove
Pocket-Greenhaven
Southgate
display_description"For readers of Khaled Hosseini and Chris Cleave, The Boat People is an extraordinary novel about a group of refugees who survive a perilous ocean voyage only to face the threat of deportation amid accusations of terrorism When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the "boat people" are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks--and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum. Told through the alternating perspectives of Mahindan; his lawyer, Priya, a second-generation Sri Lankan Canadian who reluctantly represents the refugees; and Grace, a third-generation Japanese Canadian adjudicator who must decide Mahindan's fate as evidence mounts against him, The Boat People is a spellbinding and timely novel that provokes a deeply compassionate lens through which to view the current refugee crisis"--
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id773dfdfb-6ef5-bbe4-7c40-dfa8d70ba3a6
isbn9780385542296
9780385542302
9780771001871
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:055a99c1-6dc6-4d54-bb50-94d7484fdf8b-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b25235746.i77402480Elk GroveFICTION Bala, S.1falsefalseDue Apr 28, 2021elkag
ils:.b25235746.i77402455SouthgateFICTION Bala, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfsouag
ils:.b25235746.i77402492Elk GroveFICTION Bala, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfelkag
ils:.b25235746.i77402467Pocket-GreenhavenFICTION Bala, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfpocag
ils:.b25235746.i77402479CentralFICTION Bala, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
overdrive:fd6335a1-1ee8-487a-b6e7-9ce35a1903ac-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-06-13T11:01:16.808Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Bala, S.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCentral
Elk Grove
Pocket-Greenhaven
Southgate
primary_isbn9780385542296
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:055a99c1-6dc6-4d54-bb50-94d7484fdf8beAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishMcClelland & Stewart2018
ils:.b25235746BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishDoubleday, [2018]338 pages ; 25 cm
overdrive:fd6335a1-1ee8-487a-b6e7-9ce35a1903aceBookeBookEnglishKnopf Doubleday Publishing Group2018
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:055a99c1-6dc6-4d54-bb50-94d7484fdf8b-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b25235746.i77402480Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25235746.i77402455On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25235746.i77402492On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25235746.i77402467On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25235746.i77402479On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
overdrive:fd6335a1-1ee8-487a-b6e7-9ce35a1903ac-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetDomestic fiction
Fathers and sons -- Fiction
Legal stories
Refugees -- Canada -- Fiction
title_displayThe boat people
title_fullThe Boat People
The Boat People A Novel
The boat people / Sharon Bala
title_shortThe boat people
title_subA Novel
topic_facetFathers and sons
Fiction
Literature
Refugees