Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Terminal alliance

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description
The Krakau came to Earth to invite humanity into a growing alliance of sentient species. However, they happened to arrive after a mutated plague wiped out half the planet, turned the rest into shambling, near-unstoppable animals, and basically destroyed human civilization. You knowyour standard apocalypse. The Krakau's first impulse was to turn around and go home. (After all, it's hard to have diplomatic relations with mindless savages who eat your diplomats.) Their second impulse was to try to fix us. Now, a century later, human beings might not be what they once were, but at least they're no longer trying to eat everyone. Mostly. Marion "Mops" Adamopoulos is surprisingly bright (for a human). As a Lieutenant on the Earth Mercenary Corps Ship Pufferfish, she's in charge of the Shipboard Hygiene and Sanitation team. When a bioweapon attack wipes out the Krakau command crew and reverts the rest of the humans to their feral state, only Mops and her team are left with their minds intact. Escaping the attacking aliensnot to mention her shambling crewmatesis only the beginning. Sure, Mops and her team of space janitors and plumbers can clean the ship as well as anyone, but flying the damn thing is another matter. As they struggle to keep the Pufferfish functioning and find a cure for their crew, they stumble onto a conspiracy that could threaten the entire alliance... a conspiracy born from the truth of what happened on Earth all those years ago. Jim C. Hines has proven himself a master of humorous fantasy with his Jig the Goblin novels, and has turned the usual fantasy tropes sideways and upside down with his Princess and his Magic Ex Libris series. With Terminal Alliance, the debut novel in his humorous military science fiction series, Jim takes us into a brand-new universe of entertainment certain to appeal to fans of both Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780756412746
9781515995937
9780756412760
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID74434fb9-fffd-2ea9-9c5e-2c27fb10d578
Grouping Titleterminal alliance
Grouping Authorjim c hines
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-21 02:28:23AM
Last Indexed2020-10-21 02:53:29AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Mitchell, Rebecca,
authorHines, Jim C.,
author2-roleMitchell, Rebecca,narrator.
hoopla digital.
author_displayHines, Jim C
available_at_catalogCarmichael
detailed_location_catalogCarmichael
display_descriptionThe Krakau came to Earth to invite humanity into a growing alliance of sentient species. However, they happened to arrive after a mutated plague wiped out half the planet, turned the rest into shambling, near-unstoppable animals, and basically destroyed human civilization. You knowyour standard apocalypse. The Krakau's first impulse was to turn around and go home. (After all, it's hard to have diplomatic relations with mindless savages who eat your diplomats.) Their second impulse was to try to fix us. Now, a century later, human beings might not be what they once were, but at least they're no longer trying to eat everyone. Mostly. Marion "Mops" Adamopoulos is surprisingly bright (for a human). As a Lieutenant on the Earth Mercenary Corps Ship Pufferfish, she's in charge of the Shipboard Hygiene and Sanitation team. When a bioweapon attack wipes out the Krakau command crew and reverts the rest of the humans to their feral state, only Mops and her team are left with their minds intact. Escaping the attacking aliensnot to mention her shambling crewmatesis only the beginning. Sure, Mops and her team of space janitors and plumbers can clean the ship as well as anyone, but flying the damn thing is another matter. As they struggle to keep the Pufferfish functioning and find a cure for their crew, they stumble onto a conspiracy that could threaten the entire alliance... a conspiracy born from the truth of what happened on Earth all those years ago. Jim C. Hines has proven himself a master of humorous fantasy with his Jig the Goblin novels, and has turned the usual fantasy tropes sideways and upside down with his Princess and his Magic Ex Libris series. With Terminal Alliance, the debut novel in his humorous military science fiction series, Jim takes us into a brand-new universe of entertainment certain to appeal to fans of both Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett.
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id74434fb9-fffd-2ea9-9c5e-2c27fb10d578
isbn9780756412746
9780756412760
9781515995937
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:07230b72-c95a-47b3-b80d-6cac24d54b8d-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:2aca7a75-33ad-4bae-87f9-4fa0fe48d5bc-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT11990164Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11990164?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b25123129.i77218450CarmichaelSCIENCE FICTION Hines, J.1falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
ils:.b25123129.i77218449CarmichaelSCIENCE FICTION Hines, J.1falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2020-10-21T09:53:29.757Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogSCIENCE FICTION Hines, J.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCarmichael
primary_isbn9780756412746
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:07230b72-c95a-47b3-b80d-6cac24d54b8deAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishTantor Media, Inc.2017
overdrive:2aca7a75-33ad-4bae-87f9-4fa0fe48d5bceBookeBookEnglishDAW2017
hoopla:MWT11990164eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishTantor Audio, 2017.1 online resource (1 audio file (12hr., 10 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b25123129BookBooksFirst printing edition.EnglishDAW Books, Inc., 2017.viii, 358 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:07230b72-c95a-47b3-b80d-6cac24d54b8d-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:2aca7a75-33ad-4bae-87f9-4fa0fe48d5bc-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT11990164Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b25123129.i77218450On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25123129.i77218449On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
seriesJanitors of the Post-Apocalypse
series_with_volumeJanitors of the post-apocalypse|1
subject_facetBiological weapons -- Fiction
Human-alien encounters -- Fiction
Humorous fiction
Janitors -- Fiction
Science fiction
title_displayTerminal alliance
title_fullTerminal Alliance
Terminal alliance / Jim C. Hines
Terminal alliance [electronic resource] / Jim C. Hines
title_shortTerminal alliance
topic_facetBiological weapons
Fiction
Human-alien encounters
Janitors
Science Fiction