We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The tell-tale tarte

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
NoveList Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017
Language:
English
Description

The life and work of Edgar Allan Poe spices up this culinary mystery from the author of Final Fondue. Includes recipes!

It's a cold January in the Chesapeake Bay area, but Cool Down Café manager Val Deniston has plenty to sweat over—like catering a book club event, testing recipes for her Granddad's cookbook, and catching the author of a deadly tale of murder . . .
The last thing Val needs in her life is an unsolved murder, especially when the victim, an actor famed for impersonating Edgar Allan Poe, happens to be dressed exactly like her Granddad. To keep an eye on Granddad, whose latest job takes him to the home of Rick Usher, a local author inspired by Poe, Val gets herself hired as a cook in Rick's House of Usher. When she discovers the actor wasn't the only one doing an impersonation, separating the innocent from the murderous becomes a real-life horror story. But Val must decipher a killer's M.O. sooner rather than later . . . or she can forget about finding poetic justice.
Includes 6 delicious five-ingredient recipes!

Praise for the Five-Ingredient Mysteries

"Cozy mystery readers will love the puzzle and the enjoyable look into this small tourist town by the sea."—Nancy Coco, author of the Candy-Coated Mysteries

"Suspects abound and the puzzle solution is deftly handled in this charming cozy . . . With recipes included, this is definitely a starter for fans of Diane Mott Davidson, Lou Jane Temple, and Virginia Rich."—Library Journal

"Corrigan keeps her simple mixture of pleasant characters, murder, and recipes in the oven."—Kirkus Reviews

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9781496709172
9781432840457
9781496709189
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID73422493-77e4-edd6-4327-cfb46ad63ce0
Grouping Titletell tale tarte
Grouping Authormaya corrigan
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-05-25 02:08:31AM
Last Indexed2022-05-25 02:59:30AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781496709172

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorCorrigan, Maya
author2-rolehoopla digital
author_displayCorrigan, Maya
available_at_catalogArcade
Central
Fair Oaks
North Highlands-Antelope
North Natomas
North Sacramento-Hagginwood
Pocket-Greenhaven
South Natomas
Southgate
Valley Hi-North Laguna
detailed_location_catalogArcade
Central
Fair Oaks
North Highlands-Antelope
North Natomas
North Sacramento-Hagginwood
Pocket-Greenhaven
South Natomas
Southgate
Valley Hi-North Laguna
display_description

The life and work of Edgar Allan Poe spices up this culinary mystery from the author of Final Fondue. Includes recipes!

It's a cold January in the Chesapeake Bay area, but Cool Down Café manager Val Deniston has plenty to sweat over—like catering a book club event, testing recipes for her Granddad's cookbook, and catching the author of a deadly tale of murder . . .
The last thing Val needs in her life is an unsolved murder, especially when the victim, an actor famed for impersonating Edgar Allan Poe, happens to be dressed exactly like her Granddad. To keep an eye on Granddad, whose latest job takes him to the home of Rick Usher, a local author inspired by Poe, Val gets herself hired as a cook in Rick's House of Usher. When she discovers the actor wasn't the only one doing an impersonation, separating the innocent from the murderous becomes a real-life horror story. But Val must decipher a killer's M.O. sooner rather than later . . . or she can forget about finding poetic justice.
Includes 6 delicious five-ingredient recipes!

Praise for the Five-Ingredient Mysteries

"Cozy mystery readers will love the puzzle and the enjoyable look into this small tourist town by the sea."—Nancy Coco, author of the Candy-Coated Mysteries

"Suspects abound and the puzzle solution is deftly handled in this charming cozy . . . With recipes included, this is definitely a starter for fans of Diane Mott Davidson, Lou Jane Temple, and Virginia Rich."—Library Journal

"Corrigan keeps her simple mixture of pleasant characters, murder, and recipes in the oven."—Kirkus Reviews

format_catalogBook
Large Print
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
id73422493-77e4-edd6-4327-cfb46ad63ce0
isbn9781432840457
9781496709172
9781496709189
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b2489705x.i78486075South NatomasMYSTERY Corrigan, M.1falsefalseOn Shelfnatag
ils:.b2489705x.i78678675ArcadeMYSTERY Corrigan, M.1falsefalseOn Shelfarcag
ils:.b2489705x.i78486063North Highlands-AntelopeMYSTERY Corrigan, M.1falsefalseOn Shelfnhiag
ils:.b2489705x.i78149745Valley Hi-North LagunaMYSTERY Corrigan, M.1falsefalseOn Shelfvalag
ils:.b2489705x.i78334779Pocket-GreenhavenMYSTERY Corrigan, M.1falsefalseOn Shelfpocag
ils:.b2489705x.i76413937North NatomasMYSTERY Corrigan, M.1falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
ils:.b2489705x.i76413949Fair OaksMYSTERY Corrigan, M.1falsefalseOn Shelffaiag
ils:.b25010785.i76632635SouthgateLARGE PRINT MYSTERY Corrigan, M.1falsefalseOn Shelfsouag
ils:.b25010785.i76632659North Sacramento-HagginwoodLARGE PRINT MYSTERY Corrigan, M.1falsefalseOn Shelfnsaag
ils:.b25010785.i76632647CentralLARGE PRINT MYSTERY Corrigan, M.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b25010785.i76632660North Highlands-AntelopeLARGE PRINT MYSTERY Corrigan, M.1falsefalseOn Shelfnhiag
overdrive:03acd361-7a4b-4b55-82b7-ee7c7571e341-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT12421576Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12421576?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdu Large Print
Adult Fiction
last_indexed2022-05-25T09:59:30.156Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogLARGE PRINT MYSTERY Corrigan, M.
MYSTERY Corrigan, M.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogArcade
Central
Fair Oaks
North Highlands-Antelope
North Natomas
North Sacramento-Hagginwood
Pocket-Greenhaven
South Natomas
Southgate
Valley Hi-North Laguna
primary_isbn9781496709172
publishDate2017
publisherKensington Books
Kensington Books,
Kensington Publishing Corp.,
Thorndike Press,
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b2489705xBookBooksFirst Kensington mass market editionEnglishKensington Publishing Corp.2017314 pages ; 18 cm.
ils:.b25010785Large PrintBooksLarge print edEnglishThorndike Press2017399 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.
overdrive:03acd361-7a4b-4b55-82b7-ee7c7571e341eBookeBookEnglishKensington Books2017
hoopla:MWT12421576eBookeBookEnglishKensington Books20171 online resource
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b2489705x.i78486075On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b2489705x.i78678675On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b2489705x.i78486063On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b2489705x.i78149745On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b2489705x.i78334779On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b2489705x.i76413937On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b2489705x.i76413949On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25010785.i76632635On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25010785.i76632659On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25010785.i76632647On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25010785.i76632660On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
overdrive:03acd361-7a4b-4b55-82b7-ee7c7571e341-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT12421576Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
seriesFive ingredient mysteries
series_with_volumeFive ingredient mysteries|4
subject_facetDetective and mystery fiction
Electronic books
Grandfathers -- Ficiton
Large type books
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction
Mystery fiction
Women cooks -- Fiction
title_displayThe tell-tale tarte
title_fullThe Tell-Tale Tarte
The tell-tale tarte / Maya Corrigan
The tell-tale tarte [electronic resource] / Maya Corrigan
The tell-tale tarte [text (large print)] / by Maya Corrigan
title_shortThe tell-tale tarte
topic_facetElectronic books
Fiction
Grandfathers
Investigation
Murder
Mystery
Women cooks