We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The weaver: a novel

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for The weaver

Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Publication Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English

Description

The author of the critically acclaimed Memory of Water returns with this literary ecological tale in the vein of Ursula K. Le Guin and Sheri S. Tepper, in which an innocent young woman becomes entangled in a web of ancient secrets and deadly lies that lie at the dark center of her prosperous island world.

Eliana is a model citizen of the island, a weaver in the prestigious House of Webs. She also harbors a dangerous secret—she can dream, an ability forbidden by the island’s elusive council of elders. No one talks about the dreamers, the undesirables ostracized from society.

But the web of protection Eliana has woven around herself begins to unravel when a young girl is found lying unconscious in a pool of blood on the stones outside the house. Robbed of speech by her attackers, the only clue to her identity is one word tattooed in invisible ink across her palm: Eliana. Why does this mysterious girl bear her name? What links her to the weaver—and could she hold Eliana’s fate in her hand?

As Eliana finds herself growing closer to this injured girl she is bound to in ways she doesn’t understand, the enchanting lies of the island begin to crumble, revealing a deep and ancient corruption. Joining a band of brave rebels determined to expose the island’s dark secrets, Eliana becomes a target of ruthless forces determined to destroy her. To save herself and those she loves, she must call on the power within her she thought was her greatest weakness: her dreams.

Also in This Series

More Like This

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

ISBN:
9780062326171
9780062471451
9780062326195

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID72074901-7843-ab12-7bfa-19e6ff5bd126
Grouping Titleweaver
Grouping Authoremmi itaranta
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-06-23 04:31:58AM
Last Indexed2024-06-23 04:45:26AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Kala, Aysha
author
Itäranta, Emmi, 1976-
author2-role
Kala, Aysha,reader
hoopla digital
author_display
Itäranta, Emmi
available_at_catalog
Pocket-Greenhaven
Valley Hi-North Laguna
detailed_location_catalog
Pocket-Greenhaven
Valley Hi-North Laguna
display_description

The author of the critically acclaimed Memory of Water returns with this literary ecological tale in the vein of Ursula K. Le Guin and Sheri S. Tepper, in which an innocent young woman becomes entangled in a web of ancient secrets and deadly lies that lie at the dark center of her prosperous island world.

Eliana is a model citizen of the island, a weaver in the prestigious House of Webs. She also harbors a dangerous secret—she can dream, an ability forbidden by the island’s elusive council of elders. No one talks about the dreamers, the undesirables ostracized from society.

But the web of protection Eliana has woven around herself begins to unravel when a young girl is found lying unconscious in a pool of blood on the stones outside the house. Robbed of speech by her attackers, the only clue to her identity is one word tattooed in invisible ink across her palm: Eliana. Why does this mysterious girl bear her name? What links her to the weaver—and could she hold Eliana’s fate in her hand?

As Eliana finds herself growing closer to this injured girl she is bound to in ways she doesn’t understand, the enchanting lies of the island begin to crumble, revealing a deep and ancient corruption. Joining a band of brave rebels determined to expose the island’s dark secrets, Eliana becomes a target of ruthless forces determined to destroy her. To save herself and those she loves, she must call on the power within her she thought was her greatest weakness: her dreams.

format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
72074901-7843-ab12-7bfa-19e6ff5bd126
isbn
9780062326171
9780062326195
9780062471451
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2024-06-23T11:45:26.977Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
SCIENCE FICTION Itaranta, E.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Pocket-Greenhaven
Valley Hi-North Laguna
primary_isbn
9780062326171
publishDate
2016
publisher
Harper Voyager
HarperAudio
HarperCollins
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Abnormalities, Human -- Fiction
Action and adventure fiction
Dystopian fiction
Dystopias
Electronic books
Fantasy fiction
Political corruption -- Fiction
Science fiction
Secrecy -- Fiction
Speculative fiction
Urban fiction
title_display
The weaver : a novel
title_full
The Weaver : A Novel [electronic resource] / Emmi Itäranta
The Weaver : a novel [electronic resource] / Emmi Itaranta
The Weaver A Novel
The weaver : a novel / Emmi Itäranta
title_short
The weaver
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Abnormalities, Human
Electronic books
Fantasy
Fiction
Political corruption
Science Fiction
Secrecy

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocationCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
hoopla:MWT11681162Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11681162?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
hoopla:MWT16510389Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/16510389?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
ils:.b24459586.i74880287Valley Hi-North LagunaSCIENCE FICTION Itaranta, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfvalag
ils:.b24459586.i75037543Pocket-GreenhavenSCIENCE FICTION Itaranta, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfpocag
overdrive:50d9be3b-a669-4a9f-bc8e-9af16ca00c0c-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT11681162eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishHarperAudio20161 online resource (1 audio file (11hr., 35 min.)) : digital.
hoopla:MWT16510389eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins20161 online resource (320 pages)
ils:.b24459586BookBooksFirst US editionEnglishHarper Voyager[2016]310 pages ; 21 cm
overdrive:50d9be3b-a669-4a9f-bc8e-9af16ca00c0ceBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2016

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT11681162Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT16510389Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24459586.i74880287On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b24459586.i75037543On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
overdrive:50d9be3b-a669-4a9f-bc8e-9af16ca00c0c-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse