Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The weaver: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

The author of the critically acclaimed Memory of Water returns with this literary ecological tale in the vein of Ursula K. Le Guin and Sheri S. Tepper, in which an innocent young woman becomes entangled in a web of ancient secrets and deadly lies that lie at the dark center of her prosperous island world.

Eliana is a model citizen of the island, a weaver in the prestigious House of Webs. She also harbors a dangerous secret—she can dream, an ability forbidden by the island's elusive council of elders. No one talks about the dreamers, the undesirables ostracized from society.

But the web of protection Eliana has woven around herself begins to unravel when a young girl is found lying unconscious in a pool of blood on the stones outside the house. Robbed of speech by her attackers, the only clue to her identity is one word tattooed in invisible ink across her palm: Eliana. Why does this mysterious girl bear her name? What links her to the weaver—and could she hold Eliana's fate in her hand?

As Eliana finds herself growing closer to this injured girl she is bound to in ways she doesn't understand, the enchanting lies of the island begin to crumble, revealing a deep and ancient corruption. Joining a band of brave rebels determined to expose the island's dark secrets, Eliana becomes a target of ruthless forces determined to destroy her. To save herself and those she loves, she must call on the power within her she thought was her greatest weakness: her dreams.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780062326171
9780062471451
9780062326195
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID72074901-7843-ab12-7bfa-19e6ff5bd126
Grouping Titleweaver
Grouping Authoremmi itaranta
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-07-25 03:35:17AM
Last Indexed2021-07-25 04:03:02AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Kala, Aysha,
authorItäranta, Emmi, 1976-
author2-roleKala, Aysha,narrator.
hoopla digital.
author_displayItaranta, Emmi
available_at_catalogPocket-Greenhaven
Valley Hi-North Laguna
detailed_location_catalogPocket-Greenhaven
Valley Hi-North Laguna
display_description

The author of the critically acclaimed Memory of Water returns with this literary ecological tale in the vein of Ursula K. Le Guin and Sheri S. Tepper, in which an innocent young woman becomes entangled in a web of ancient secrets and deadly lies that lie at the dark center of her prosperous island world.

Eliana is a model citizen of the island, a weaver in the prestigious House of Webs. She also harbors a dangerous secret—she can dream, an ability forbidden by the island's elusive council of elders. No one talks about the dreamers, the undesirables ostracized from society.

But the web of protection Eliana has woven around herself begins to unravel when a young girl is found lying unconscious in a pool of blood on the stones outside the house. Robbed of speech by her attackers, the only clue to her identity is one word tattooed in invisible ink across her palm: Eliana. Why does this mysterious girl bear her name? What links her to the weaver—and could she hold Eliana's fate in her hand?

As Eliana finds herself growing closer to this injured girl she is bound to in ways she doesn't understand, the enchanting lies of the island begin to crumble, revealing a deep and ancient corruption. Joining a band of brave rebels determined to expose the island's dark secrets, Eliana becomes a target of ruthless forces determined to destroy her. To save herself and those she loves, she must call on the power within her she thought was her greatest weakness: her dreams.

format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id72074901-7843-ab12-7bfa-19e6ff5bd126
isbn9780062326171
9780062326195
9780062471451
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT12457749Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12457749?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT11681162Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11681162?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b24459586.i75037543Pocket-GreenhavenSCIENCE FICTION Itaranta, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfpocag
ils:.b24459586.i74880287Valley Hi-North LagunaSCIENCE FICTION Itaranta, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfvalag
overdrive:50d9be3b-a669-4a9f-bc8e-9af16ca00c0c-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-07-25T11:03:02.955Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogSCIENCE FICTION Itaranta, E.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogPocket-Greenhaven
Valley Hi-North Laguna
primary_isbn9780062326171
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT12457749eBookeBookEnglishHarper Collins Publishers, 2016.1 online resource
hoopla:MWT11681162eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishHarperAudio, 2016.1 online resource (1 audio file (11hr., 36 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b24459586BookBooksFirst US edition.EnglishHarper Voyager, [2016]310 pages ; 21 cm.
overdrive:50d9be3b-a669-4a9f-bc8e-9af16ca00c0ceBookeBookEnglishHarper Voyager2016
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT12457749Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT11681162Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24459586.i75037543On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24459586.i74880287On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
overdrive:50d9be3b-a669-4a9f-bc8e-9af16ca00c0c-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetAbnormalities, Human -- Fiction
Dreams -- Fiction
Dystopias
Electronic books
Islands -- Fiction
Political corruption -- Fiction
Science fiction
Secrecy -- Fiction
Speculative fiction
Weavers -- Fiction
Young women -- Fiction
title_displayThe weaver : a novel
title_fullThe Weaver
The weaver : a novel / Emmi Itäranta
The weaver : a novel [electronic resource] / Emmi Itaranta
The weaver [electronic resource] / Emmi Itaranta
title_shortThe weaver
title_suba novel
topic_facetAbnormalities, Human
Dreams
Electronic books
Fantasy
Fiction
Islands
Political corruption
Secrecy
Weavers
Young women