Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Born with wings: the spiritual journey of a modern Muslim woman

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2018.
Language:
English
Description
The dramatic, spiritual memoir of a prominent Muslim woman working to empower women and girls across the world—for readers of Malala Yousafzai and Azar Nafisi. Raised in a progressive Muslim family in the shadows of the Himalayan mountains, where she attended a Catholic girls' school, Daisy Khan experienced culture shock when her family sent her to the States to attend high school and live with an aunt and uncle in a mostly Jewish Long Island suburb. Ambitious and talented, she quickly climbed the corporate ladder after college as an architectural designer in New York City, where among other jobs she worked in the World Trade towers for Shearson Lehman Brothers. Though she loved the freedom that came with being a career woman, she felt that something was missing from her life. One day a friend suggested that she visit a Sufi mosque in Tribeca. To her surprise, she discovered a home there, eventually marrying the mosque's imam, Feisal Abdul Rauf, and finding herself, as his wife, at the center of a community in which women turned to her for advice. Guided by her faith, she embraced her role as a women's advocate and devised innovative ways to help end child marriage, fight against genital mutilation, and, most recently, educate young Muslims to resist the false, seductive promises of ISIS recruiters. Born with Wings is a powerful, moving, and eye-opening account of Daisy Khan's inspiring journey—of her self-actualization and her success in opening doors for other Muslim women and building bridges between cultures. It powerfully demonstrates what one woman can do—with faith, love, and resilience.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780812995268
9780812995275
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID6f14b9dc-69bc-77a5-0e02-0eeb9ca371da
Grouping Titleborn with wings the spiritual journey of a modern muslim woman
Grouping Authordaisy khan
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-20 03:38:09AM
Last Indexed2020-09-20 04:01:18AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorKhan, Daisy,
author_displayKhan, Daisy
available_at_catalogCarmichael
Central
North Natomas
Rancho Cordova
Southgate
detailed_location_catalogCarmichael
Central New Books - 1st Floor
North Natomas
Rancho Cordova
Southgate
display_descriptionThe dramatic, spiritual memoir of a prominent Muslim woman working to empower women and girls across the world—for readers of Malala Yousafzai and Azar Nafisi.

Raised in a progressive Muslim family in the shadows of the Himalayan mountains, where she attended a Catholic girls' school, Daisy Khan experienced culture shock when her family sent her to the States to attend high school and live with an aunt and uncle in a mostly Jewish Long Island suburb.

Ambitious and talented, she quickly climbed the corporate ladder after college as an architectural designer in New York City, where among other jobs she worked in the World Trade towers for Shearson Lehman Brothers. Though she loved the freedom that came with being a career woman, she felt that something was missing from her life. One day a friend suggested that she visit a Sufi mosque in Tribeca. To her surprise, she discovered a home there, eventually marrying the mosque's imam, Feisal Abdul Rauf, and finding herself, as his wife, at the center of a community in which women turned to her for advice. Guided by her faith, she embraced her role as a women's advocate and devised innovative ways to help end child marriage, fight against genital mutilation, and, most recently, educate young Muslims to resist the false, seductive promises of ISIS recruiters.

Born with Wings is a powerful, moving, and eye-opening account of Daisy Khan's inspiring journey—of her self-actualization and her success in opening doors for other Muslim women and building bridges between cultures. It powerfully demonstrates what one woman can do—with faith, love, and resilience.
format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
id6f14b9dc-69bc-77a5-0e02-0eeb9ca371da
isbn9780812995268
9780812995275
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:904782da-8a5b-4415-ad85-66c61c598292-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b25397242.i78340007Carmichael297.092 K452 20181falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
ils:.b25397242.i8015508xRancho Cordova297.092 K452 20181falsefalseOn Shelfranag
ils:.b25397242.i78715775North Natomas297.092 K452 20181falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
ils:.b25397242.i78715787Central New Books - 1st Floor297.092 K452 20181falsefalseOn Shelfcenad
ils:.b25397242.i78715799Carmichael297.092 K452 20181falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
ils:.b25397242.i78688577Southgate297.092 K452 20181falsefalseOn Shelfsouag
itype_catalogAdult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed2020-09-20T11:01:18.8Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog297.092 K452 2018
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCarmichael
Central
North Natomas
Rancho Cordova
Southgate
primary_isbn9780812995268
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:904782da-8a5b-4415-ad85-66c61c598292eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2018
ils:.b25397242BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishSpiegel & Grau, 2018.x, 351 pages ; 25 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:904782da-8a5b-4415-ad85-66c61c598292-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b25397242.i78340007On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25397242.i8015508xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25397242.i78715775On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25397242.i78715787On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25397242.i78715799On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25397242.i78688577On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
subject_facetIslam
Khan, Daisy
Muslim women -- Religious life
title_displayBorn with wings : the spiritual journey of a modern Muslim woman
title_fullBorn with Wings The Spiritual Journey of a Modern Muslim Woman
Born with wings : the spiritual journey of a modern Muslim woman / by Daisy Khan
title_shortBorn with wings
title_subthe spiritual journey of a modern Muslim woman
topic_facetBiography & Autobiography
Islam
Khan, Daisy
Muslim women
Nonfiction
Religious life
Sociology
Women's Studies