We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

A dangerous age: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2008
Language:
English
Description
"Ellen Gilchrist is one of America's most celebrated and respected authors, a classic writer in the tradition of Eudora Welty, Flannery OConnor, and Elizabeth Spencer. The author of more than twenty books, she was awarded the National Book Award for her short story collection Victory Over Japan. Now, with her first novel in more than a decade, she returns in top form. A Dangerous Age tells the story of the women of the Hand family, three cousins in a Southern dynasty rich with history and tradition who are no strangers to either controversy or sadness. By turns humorous and heartbreaking, the novel is a celebration of the strength of these women, and of others like them. In her characteristically clear and direct prose, with its wry, no-nonsense approach to the world and the people who inhabit it, Gilchrist gives voice to women on a collision course with a distant war that, in truth, is never more than a breath away. As the Washington Post has said, To say that Ellen Gilchrist can write is to say that Placido Domingo can sing. All you need to do is listen."--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781565125421
9781565126626
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID6d1b5910-83d7-87a6-2687-d7a90bd1027f
Grouping Titledangerous age
Grouping Authorellen gilchrist
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-09-27 02:08:29AM
Last Indexed2022-09-26 02:44:17AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Gilchrist, Ellen, 1935-
author_display
Gilchrist, Ellen
available_at_catalog
Central
detailed_location_catalog
Central
display_description
"Ellen Gilchrist is one of America's most celebrated and respected authors, a classic writer in the tradition of Eudora Welty, Flannery OConnor, and Elizabeth Spencer. The author of more than twenty books, she was awarded the National Book Award for her short story collection Victory Over Japan. Now, with her first novel in more than a decade, she returns in top form. A Dangerous Age tells the story of the women of the Hand family, three cousins in a Southern dynasty rich with history and tradition who are no strangers to either controversy or sadness. By turns humorous and heartbreaking, the novel is a celebration of the strength of these women, and of others like them. In her characteristically clear and direct prose, with its wry, no-nonsense approach to the world and the people who inhabit it, Gilchrist gives voice to women on a collision course with a distant war that, in truth, is never more than a breath away. As the Washington Post has said, To say that Ellen Gilchrist can write is to say that Placido Domingo can sing. All you need to do is listen."--
format_catalog
Book
eBook
format_category_catalog
Books
eBook
id
6d1b5910-83d7-87a6-2687-d7a90bd1027f
isbn
9781565125421
9781565126626
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2022-09-26T09:44:17.856Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
Novels
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Gilchrist, E.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Central
primary_isbn
9781565125421
publishDate
2008
publisher
Algonquin Books
Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Domestic fiction
Electronic books
Families
Iraq War, 2003- -- Fiction
Suspense fiction
War fiction
title_display
A dangerous age : a novel
title_full
A Dangerous Age : A Novel / Ellen Gilchrist
A Dangerous Age A Novel
A dangerous age : a novel / by Ellen Gilchrist
title_short
A dangerous age
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Families
Fiction
Iraq War, 2003-
Literature

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b18927609.i55214071CentralFICTION Gilchrist, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
overdrive:ee9e9ca3-3045-4673-b9ba-c6ed42fbaf42-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
enki:10000035581000003558EnkiOnline EnkieBookeBook1falsetrueEnkihttps://folsom.enkilibrary.org/EcontentRecord/38Available OnlineEnki

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b18927609BookBooks1st edEnglishAlgonquin Books of Chapel Hill2008245 p. ; 23 cm.
overdrive:ee9e9ca3-3045-4673-b9ba-c6ed42fbaf42eBookeBookEnglishAlgonquin Books2008
enki:1000003558eBookeBookEnglishAlgonquin Books of Chapel Hill20081 online resource (245 pages)

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b18927609.i55214071On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
overdrive:ee9e9ca3-3045-4673-b9ba-c6ed42fbaf42-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse