Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

A dangerous age: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2008.
Language:
English
Description
"Ellen Gilchrist is one of America's most celebrated and respected authors, a classic writer in the tradition of Eudora Welty, Flannery OConnor, and Elizabeth Spencer. The author of more than twenty books, she was awarded the National Book Award for her short story collection Victory Over Japan. Now, with her first novel in more than a decade, she returns in top form. A Dangerous Age tells the story of the women of the Hand family, three cousins in a Southern dynasty rich with history and tradition who are no strangers to either controversy or sadness. By turns humorous and heartbreaking, the novel is a celebration of the strength of these women, and of others like them. In her characteristically clear and direct prose, with its wry, no-nonsense approach to the world and the people who inhabit it, Gilchrist gives voice to women on a collision course with a distant war that, in truth, is never more than a breath away. As the Washington Post has said, To say that Ellen Gilchrist can write is to say that Placido Domingo can sing. All you need to do is listen."--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9781565125421
9781565126626
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID6d1b5910-83d7-87a6-2687-d7a90bd1027f
Grouping Titledangerous age
Grouping Authorellen gilchrist
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-23 02:27:19AM
Last Indexed2020-09-23 03:41:24AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorEllen Gilchrist
author2-rolehoopla digital.
author_displayGilchrist, Ellen
available_at_catalogCentral
detailed_location_catalogCentral
display_description"Ellen Gilchrist is one of America's most celebrated and respected authors, a classic writer in the tradition of Eudora Welty, Flannery OConnor, and Elizabeth Spencer. The author of more than twenty books, she was awarded the National Book Award for her short story collection Victory Over Japan. Now, with her first novel in more than a decade, she returns in top form. A Dangerous Age tells the story of the women of the Hand family, three cousins in a Southern dynasty rich with history and tradition who are no strangers to either controversy or sadness. By turns humorous and heartbreaking, the novel is a celebration of the strength of these women, and of others like them. In her characteristically clear and direct prose, with its wry, no-nonsense approach to the world and the people who inhabit it, Gilchrist gives voice to women on a collision course with a distant war that, in truth, is never more than a breath away. As the Washington Post has said, To say that Ellen Gilchrist can write is to say that Placido Domingo can sing. All you need to do is listen."--
format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
id6d1b5910-83d7-87a6-2687-d7a90bd1027f
isbn9781565125421
9781565126626
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b18927609.i55214071CentralFICTION Gilchrist, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
overdrive:ee9e9ca3-3045-4673-b9ba-c6ed42fbaf42-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
enki:10000035581000003558EnkiOnline EnkieBookeBook1falsetrueEnkihttps://folsom.enkilibrary.org/EcontentRecord/38Available OnlineEnki
hoopla:MWT11688632Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11688632Available Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2020-09-23T10:41:24.808Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
Novels
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Gilchrist, E.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCentral
primary_isbn9781565125421
publishDate2008
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b18927609BookBooks1st ed.EnglishAlgonquin Books of Chapel Hill, 2008.245 p. ; 23 cm.
overdrive:ee9e9ca3-3045-4673-b9ba-c6ed42fbaf42eBookeBookEnglishAlgonquin Books2008
enki:1000003558eBookeBookEnglishAlgonquin Books of Chapel Hill, 2008.1 online resource (245 pages)
hoopla:MWT11688632eBookeBookEnglishAlgonquin Books, 2008.1 online resource
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b18927609.i55214071On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
overdrive:ee9e9ca3-3045-4673-b9ba-c6ed42fbaf42-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT11688632Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetDomestic fiction
Electronic books
Families
Iraq War, 2003- -- Fiction
Iraq War, 2003-2011 -- Fiction
Suspense fiction
War fiction
title_displayA dangerous age : a novel
title_fullA Dangerous Age : A Novel / Ellen Gilchrist
A Dangerous Age A Novel
A dangerous age : a novel / by Ellen Gilchrist
A dangerous age : a novel [electronic resource] Gilchrist, Ellen, 1935-
title_shortA dangerous age
title_subA Novel
topic_facetElectronic books
Families
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Iraq War, 2003-
Iraq War, 2003-2011