We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

In Manchuria: a village called Wasteland and the transformation of rural China

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2015
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of In Patagonia and Great Plains, Michael Meyer's In Manchuria is a scintillating combination of memoir, contemporary reporting, and historical research, presenting a unique profile of China's legendary northeast territory. For three years, Meyer rented a home in the rice-farming community of Wasteland, hometown to his wife's family. Their personal saga mirrors the tremendous change most of rural China is undergoing, in the form of a privately held rice company that has built new roads, introduced organic farming, and constructed high-rise apartments into which farmers can move in exchange for their land rights. Once a commune, Wasteland is now a company town, a phenomenon happening across China that Meyer documents for the first time; indeed, not since Pearl Buck wrote The Good Earth has anyone brought rural China to life as Meyer has here.

Amplifying the story of family and Wasteland, Meyer takes us on a journey across Manchuria's past, a history that explains much about contemporary China—from the fall of the last emperor to Japanese occupation and Communist victory. Through vivid local characters, Meyer illuminates the remnants of the imperial Willow Palisade, Russian and Japanese colonial cities and railways, and the POW camp into which a young American sergeant parachuted to free survivors of the Bataan Death March. In Manchuria is a rich and original chronicle of contemporary China and its people.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781620402863
9781620402870
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID66680568-2b76-6416-5c44-960a9600fff5
Grouping Titlein manchuria a village called wasteland and the transformation of rural china
Grouping Authormichael meyer
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-08-19 02:08:36AM
Last Indexed2022-08-19 02:43:22AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Meyer, Michael, 1972-
author_display
Meyer, Michael
available_at_catalog
Central
North Natomas
Valley Hi-North Laguna
detailed_location_catalog
Central
North Natomas
Valley Hi-North Laguna
display_description
In the tradition of In Patagonia and Great Plains, Michael Meyer's In Manchuria is a scintillating combination of memoir, contemporary reporting, and historical research, presenting a unique profile of China's legendary northeast territory. For three years, Meyer rented a home in the rice-farming community of Wasteland, hometown to his wife's family. Their personal saga mirrors the tremendous change most of rural China is undergoing, in the form of a privately held rice company that has built new roads, introduced organic farming, and constructed high-rise apartments into which farmers can move in exchange for their land rights. Once a commune, Wasteland is now a company town, a phenomenon happening across China that Meyer documents for the first time; indeed, not since Pearl Buck wrote The Good Earth has anyone brought rural China to life as Meyer has here.

Amplifying the story of family and Wasteland, Meyer takes us on a journey across Manchuria's past, a history that explains much about contemporary China—from the fall of the last emperor to Japanese occupation and Communist victory. Through vivid local characters, Meyer illuminates the remnants of the imperial Willow Palisade, Russian and Japanese colonial cities and railways, and the POW camp into which a young American sergeant parachuted to free survivors of the Bataan Death March. In Manchuria is a rich and original chronicle of contemporary China and its people.
format_catalog
Book
eBook
format_category_catalog
Books
eBook
id
66680568-2b76-6416-5c44-960a9600fff5
isbn
9781620402863
9781620402870
itype_catalog
Adult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed
2022-08-19T09:43:22.372Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
951.8 M612 2015
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Central
North Natomas
Valley Hi-North Laguna
primary_isbn
9781620402863
publishDate
2015
publisher
Bloomsbury Press
Bloomsbury Publishing
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Farm life -- China -- Manchuria
Manchuria (China) -- Description and travel
Manchuria (China) -- Rural conditions
Manchuria (China) -- Social life and customs
Meyer, Michael, -- 1972- -- Travel -- China -- Manchuria
Rice farmers -- China -- Manchuria
Rice farming -- China -- Manchuria
title_display
In Manchuria : a village called Wasteland and the transformation of rural China
title_full
In Manchuria : a village called Wasteland and the transformation of rural China / Michael Meyer
In Manchuria A Village Called Wasteland and the Transformation of Rural China
title_short
In Manchuria
title_sub
a village called Wasteland and the transformation of rural China
topic_facet
Biography & Autobiography
Description and travel
Farm life
History
Meyer, Michael
Nonfiction
Rice farmers
Rice farming
Rural conditions
Social life and customs
Travel

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:86ddd7c0-eac0-4615-af94-d5e864f40924-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
ils:.b23511023.i71520971North Natomas951.8 M612 20151falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
ils:.b23511023.i71520958Central951.8 M612 20151falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b23511023.i7152096xValley Hi-North Laguna951.8 M612 20151falsefalseOn Shelfvalag

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:86ddd7c0-eac0-4615-af94-d5e864f40924eBookeBookEnglishBloomsbury Publishing2015
ils:.b23511023BookBooksFirst U.S. editionEnglishBloomsbury Press2015365 pages : illustrations (some color) ; 25 cm

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:86ddd7c0-eac0-4615-af94-d5e864f40924-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b23511023.i71520971On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b23511023.i71520958On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b23511023.i7152096xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911