Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The physics of sorrow

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2015.
Language:
English
Description

"Georgi Gospodinov wants to blow your mind—or maybe just provide the ultimate bathroom reader. . . . The formal playfulness suggests Kundera with A.D.D. and potty jokes."—Ed Park, The Village Voice

A finalist for both the Strega Europeo and Gregor von Rezzori awards (and winner of every Bulgarian honor possible), The Physics of Sorrow reaffirms Georgi Gospodinov's place as one of Europe's most inventive and daring writers.

Using the myth of the Minotaur as its organizing image, the narrator of Gospodinov's long-awaited novel constructs a labyrinth of stories about his family, jumping from era to era and viewpoint to viewpoint, exploring the mindset and trappings of Eastern Europeans. Incredibly moving—such as with the story of his grandfather accidentally being left behind at a mill—and extraordinarily funny—see the section on the awfulness of the question "how are you?"—Physics is a book that you can inhabit, tracing connections, following the narrator down various "side passages," getting pleasantly lost in the various stories and empathizing with the sorrowful, misunderstood Minotaur at the center of it all.

The Physics of Sorrow will appeal to fans of Dave Eggers, Tom McCarthy, and Dubravka Ugresic for its unique structure, humanitarian concerns, and stunning storytelling.

Georgi Gospodinov's Natural Novel was published by Dalkey Archive Press in 2005 and was praised by the New Yorker, New York Times, and several other prestigious review outlets.

Angela Rodel won a PEN Translation Fund Grant in 2010 for Georgi Tenev's short story collection. She is one of the most prolific translators of Bulgarian literature working today and received an NEA Fellowship for her translation of Gospodinov's The Physics of Sorrow.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781940953090
9781940953106
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID6626a4ae-0d00-42c6-fea5-108a785fbdb7
Grouping Titlephysics of sorrow
Grouping Authorgeorgi gospodinov
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-24 02:32:15AM
Last Indexed2020-09-24 02:50:22AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Rodel, Angela,
authorGospodinov, Georgi, 1968-
author2-roleRodel, Angela,translator.
author_displayGospodinov, Georgi
available_at_catalogCentral
detailed_location_catalogCentral
display_description

"Georgi Gospodinov wants to blow your mind—or maybe just provide the ultimate bathroom reader. . . . The formal playfulness suggests Kundera with A.D.D. and potty jokes."—Ed Park, The Village Voice

A finalist for both the Strega Europeo and Gregor von Rezzori awards (and winner of every Bulgarian honor possible), The Physics of Sorrow reaffirms Georgi Gospodinov's place as one of Europe's most inventive and daring writers.

Using the myth of the Minotaur as its organizing image, the narrator of Gospodinov's long-awaited novel constructs a labyrinth of stories about his family, jumping from era to era and viewpoint to viewpoint, exploring the mindset and trappings of Eastern Europeans. Incredibly moving—such as with the story of his grandfather accidentally being left behind at a mill—and extraordinarily funny—see the section on the awfulness of the question "how are you?"—Physics is a book that you can inhabit, tracing connections, following the narrator down various "side passages," getting pleasantly lost in the various stories and empathizing with the sorrowful, misunderstood Minotaur at the center of it all.

The Physics of Sorrow will appeal to fans of Dave Eggers, Tom McCarthy, and Dubravka Ugresic for its unique structure, humanitarian concerns, and stunning storytelling.

Georgi Gospodinov's Natural Novel was published by Dalkey Archive Press in 2005 and was praised by the New Yorker, New York Times, and several other prestigious review outlets.

Angela Rodel won a PEN Translation Fund Grant in 2010 for Georgi Tenev's short story collection. She is one of the most prolific translators of Bulgarian literature working today and received an NEA Fellowship for her translation of Gospodinov's The Physics of Sorrow.

format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
id6626a4ae-0d00-42c6-fea5-108a785fbdb7
isbn9781940953090
9781940953106
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:1115d047-0baa-4b46-b675-488844f54f80-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b23624887.i71886424CentralFICTION Gospodinov, G.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2020-09-24T09:50:22.039Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Gospodinov, G.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCentral
primary_isbn9781940953090
publishDate2015
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:1115d047-0baa-4b46-b675-488844f54f80eBookeBookEnglishOpen Letter2015
ils:.b23624887BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishOpen Letter, 2015.283 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:1115d047-0baa-4b46-b675-488844f54f80-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b23624887.i71886424On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
title_displayThe physics of sorrow
title_fullThe Physics of Sorrow
The physics of sorrow / by Georgi Gospodinov ; translated from the Bulgarian by Angela Rodel
title_shortThe physics of sorrow
topic_facetFiction
Literature
Mythology