Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Justinian's flea: plague, empire, and the birth of Europe

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2007.
Language:
English
Description
The Emperor Justinian reunified Rome's fractured empire by defeating the Goths and Vandals who had separated Italy, Spain, and North Africa from imperial rule. At his capital in Constantinople, he built the world's most beautiful building, married its most powerful empress, and wrote its most enduring legal code, seemingly restoring Rome's fortunes for the next 500 years. Then, in the summer of 542, he encountered a flea. The ensuing outbreak of bubonic plague killed 5,000 people a day in Constantinople and nearly killed Justinian himself. Weaving together evolutionary microbiology, economics, military strategy, ecology, and ancient and modern medicine, William Rosen offers a sweeping narrative of one of the great hinge moments in history, one that will appeal to readers of John Kelly's The Great Mortality, John Barry's The Great Influenza, and Jared Diamond's Collapse.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780670038558
9781400123858
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID644084cb-2abf-6e96-84e9-9d21d7550c52
Grouping Titlejustinians flea plague empire and the birth of europe
Grouping Authorwilliam rosen
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-09-25 02:30:03AM
Last Indexed2021-09-25 03:02:05AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Whitener, Barrett, 1960-
authorWilliam Rosen
author2-roleWhitener, Barrett,1960-
hoopla digital.
author_displayRosen, William
available_at_catalogElk Grove
Rancho Cordova
detailed_location_catalogElk Grove
Rancho Cordova
display_descriptionThe Emperor Justinian reunified Rome's fractured empire by defeating the Goths and Vandals who had separated Italy, Spain, and North Africa from imperial rule. At his capital in Constantinople, he built the world's most beautiful building, married its most powerful empress, and wrote its most enduring legal code, seemingly restoring Rome's fortunes for the next 500 years. Then, in the summer of 542, he encountered a flea. The ensuing outbreak of bubonic plague killed 5,000 people a day in Constantinople and nearly killed Justinian himself. Weaving together evolutionary microbiology, economics, military strategy, ecology, and ancient and modern medicine, William Rosen offers a sweeping narrative of one of the great hinge moments in history, one that will appeal to readers of John Kelly's The Great Mortality, John Barry's The Great Influenza, and Jared Diamond's Collapse.
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id644084cb-2abf-6e96-84e9-9d21d7550c52
isbn9780670038558
9781400123858
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b1815993x.i52814919Rancho Cordova949.5013 R813 20071falsefalseOn Shelfranag
ils:.b1815993x.i52814907Elk Grove949.5013 R813 20071falsefalseOn Shelfelkag
hoopla:MWT10755513Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/10755513?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:5986b337-9eb0-45b2-9f3b-ac17c34827bf-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
itype_catalogAdult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed2021-09-25T10:02:05.852Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog949.5013 R813 2007
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogElk Grove
Rancho Cordova
primary_isbn9780670038558
publishDate2007
publisherTantor Audio,
Tantor Media, Inc.
Viking,
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b1815993xBookBooksEnglishViking, 2007.367 p. : maps ; 25 cm.
hoopla:MWT10755513eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishTantor Audio, 2007.1 online resource (1 audio file (720 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:5986b337-9eb0-45b2-9f3b-ac17c34827bfeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishTantor Media, Inc.2007
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b1815993x.i52814919On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b1815993x.i52814907On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
hoopla:MWT10755513Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:5986b337-9eb0-45b2-9f3b-ac17c34827bf-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetByzantine Empire -- History -- Justinian I, 527-565
Byzantine Empire -- History -- To 527
Plague -- History -- To 1500
title_displayJustinian's flea : plague, empire, and the birth of Europe
title_fullJustinian's Flea Plague, Empire, and the Birth of Europe
Justinian's flea : plague, empire, and the birth of Europe / William Rosen
Justinian's flea : plague, empire, and the birth of Europe [electronic resource] / William Rosen
title_shortJustinian's flea
title_subplague, empire, and the birth of Europe
topic_facetHistory
Nonfiction
Plague