We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Justinian's flea: plague, empire, and the birth of Europe

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2007
Language:
English
Description
The Emperor Justinian reunified Rome's fractured empire by defeating the Goths and Vandals who had separated Italy, Spain, and North Africa from imperial rule. At his capital in Constantinople, he built the world's most beautiful building, married its most powerful empress, and wrote its most enduring legal code, seemingly restoring Rome's fortunes for the next 500 years. Then, in the summer of 542, he encountered a flea. The ensuing outbreak of bubonic plague killed 5,000 people a day in Constantinople and nearly killed Justinian himself. Weaving together evolutionary microbiology, economics, military strategy, ecology, and ancient and modern medicine, William Rosen offers a sweeping narrative of one of the great hinge moments in history, one that will appeal to readers of John Kelly's The Great Mortality, John Barry's The Great Influenza, and Jared Diamond's Collapse.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780670038558
9781400123858
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID644084cb-2abf-6e96-84e9-9d21d7550c52
Grouping Titlejustinians flea plague empire and the birth of europe
Grouping Authorwilliam rosen
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-09-29 02:08:36AM
Last Indexed2022-09-29 02:39:20AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Whitener, Barrett, 1960-
author
Rosen, William, 1955-
author2-role
Whitener, Barrett,1960-
hoopla digital
author_display
Rosen, William
available_at_catalog
McKinley
detailed_location_catalog
McKinley
Valley Hi-North Laguna
display_description
The Emperor Justinian reunified Rome's fractured empire by defeating the Goths and Vandals who had separated Italy, Spain, and North Africa from imperial rule. At his capital in Constantinople, he built the world's most beautiful building, married its most powerful empress, and wrote its most enduring legal code, seemingly restoring Rome's fortunes for the next 500 years. Then, in the summer of 542, he encountered a flea. The ensuing outbreak of bubonic plague killed 5,000 people a day in Constantinople and nearly killed Justinian himself. Weaving together evolutionary microbiology, economics, military strategy, ecology, and ancient and modern medicine, William Rosen offers a sweeping narrative of one of the great hinge moments in history, one that will appeal to readers of John Kelly's The Great Mortality, John Barry's The Great Influenza, and Jared Diamond's Collapse.
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
644084cb-2abf-6e96-84e9-9d21d7550c52
isbn
9780670038558
9781400123858
itype_catalog
Adult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed
2022-09-29T09:39:20.558Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
949.5013 R813 2007
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
McKinley
Valley Hi-North Laguna
primary_isbn
9780670038558
publishDate
2007
publisher
Tantor Media, Inc
Tantor Media, Inc.
Viking
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Byzantine Empire -- History -- Justinian I, 527-565
Byzantine Empire -- History -- To 527
Plague -- History -- To 1500
title_display
Justinian's flea : plague, empire, and the birth of Europe
title_full
Justinian's Flea Plague, Empire, and the Birth of Europe
Justinian's flea : plague, empire, and the birth of Europe / William Rosen
Justinian's flea : plague, empire, and the birth of Europe [electronic resource] / William Rosen
title_short
Justinian's flea
title_sub
plague, empire, and the birth of Europe
topic_facet
History
Nonfiction
Plague

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b1815993x.i52814919McKinley949.5013 R813 20071falsefalseOn Shelfmckag
ils:.b1815993x.i52814907Valley Hi-North Laguna949.5013 R813 20071falsefalseDue Oct 18, 2022valag
hoopla:MWT10755513Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/10755513?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:5986b337-9eb0-45b2-9f3b-ac17c34827bf-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b1815993xBookBooksEnglishViking2007367 p. : maps ; 25 cm.
hoopla:MWT10755513eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishTantor Media, Inc20071 online resource (1 audio file (720 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:5986b337-9eb0-45b2-9f3b-ac17c34827bfeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishTantor Media, Inc2007

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b1815993x.i52814919On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b1815993x.i52814907Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
hoopla:MWT10755513Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:5986b337-9eb0-45b2-9f3b-ac17c34827bf-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse