We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

A front page affair

Book Cover
Average Rating
NoveList Series:
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
It's 1915 in New York City and an intrepid young journalist is about to get her biggest story yet… The Lusitania has just been sunk, and headlines about a shooting at J.P. Morgan's mansion and the Great War are splashed across the front page of every newspaper. Capability "Kitty" Weeks would love nothing more than to report on the news of the day, but she's stuck writing about fashion and society gossip over on the Ladies' Page - until a man is murdered at a high society picnic on her beat. Determined to prove her worth as a journalist, Kitty finds herself plunged into the midst of a wartime conspiracy that threatens to derail the United States' attempt to remain neutral - and to disrupt the privileged life she has always known. The first book in a highly anticipated mystery series featuring rising journalism star Kitty Weeks packed full of historical detail, A Front Page Affair is perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen and Jacqueline WinspearPraise for A Front Page Affair 'A delightfully spunky heroine defies convention as an investigative reporter in this engaging historical mystery. The small factual details of New York life are gems' Rhys Bowen 'This lively and well-researched debut introduces a charming historical series and an appealing fish-out-of-water sleuth who seeks independence and a career in an age when most women are bent on getting married, particularly to titled Englishmen. Devotees of Rhys Bowen's mysteries will enjoy making the acquaintance of Miss Weeks.' Library Journal 'The fascinating historical details add flair to this thoroughly engaging mystery starring an intelligent amateur sleuth reminiscent of Rhys Bowen's Molly Murphy. Vatsal's debut will leave readers eager for Kitty's next adventure.' Booklist 'The mystery plot was enthralling in and of itself, but it was the portrait of Old New York that provided the wow factor - there are very few writers who can conjure up this kind of authenticity. A fun, fascinating, feminist read - especially if you love New York!' Reader review ????? 'It is very rare to find a debut novel so well written and so engrossing' Reader review ?????
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781492632665
9781541497948
9781788634250
9781492632672
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID61fc5299-3da7-8787-fdec-feb92b2c39d1
Grouping Titlefront page affair
Grouping Authorradha vatsal
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-04-20 02:11:00AM
Last Indexed2024-04-20 02:22:14AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Eyre, Justine
author
Vatsal, Radha, 1972-
author2-role
Eyre, Justine,reader
hoopla digital
author_display
Vatsal, Radha
available_at_catalog
Central
detailed_location_catalog
Central
display_description
It's 1915 in New York City and an intrepid young journalist is about to get her biggest story yet… The Lusitania has just been sunk, and headlines about a shooting at J.P. Morgan's mansion and the Great War are splashed across the front page of every newspaper. Capability "Kitty" Weeks would love nothing more than to report on the news of the day, but she's stuck writing about fashion and society gossip over on the Ladies' Page - until a man is murdered at a high society picnic on her beat. Determined to prove her worth as a journalist, Kitty finds herself plunged into the midst of a wartime conspiracy that threatens to derail the United States' attempt to remain neutral - and to disrupt the privileged life she has always known. The first book in a highly anticipated mystery series featuring rising journalism star Kitty Weeks packed full of historical detail, A Front Page Affair is perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen and Jacqueline WinspearPraise for A Front Page Affair 'A delightfully spunky heroine defies convention as an investigative reporter in this engaging historical mystery. The small factual details of New York life are gems' Rhys Bowen 'This lively and well-researched debut introduces a charming historical series and an appealing fish-out-of-water sleuth who seeks independence and a career in an age when most women are bent on getting married, particularly to titled Englishmen. Devotees of Rhys Bowen's mysteries will enjoy making the acquaintance of Miss Weeks.' Library Journal 'The fascinating historical details add flair to this thoroughly engaging mystery starring an intelligent amateur sleuth reminiscent of Rhys Bowen's Molly Murphy. Vatsal's debut will leave readers eager for Kitty's next adventure.' Booklist 'The mystery plot was enthralling in and of itself, but it was the portrait of Old New York that provided the wow factor - there are very few writers who can conjure up this kind of authenticity. A fun, fascinating, feminist read - especially if you love New York!' Reader review ????? 'It is very rare to find a debut novel so well written and so engrossing' Reader review ?????
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
61fc5299-3da7-8787-fdec-feb92b2c39d1
isbn
9781492632665
9781492632672
9781541497948
9781788634250
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2024-04-20T09:22:14.295Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
MYSTERY Vatsal, R.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Central
primary_isbn
9781492632665
publishDate
2016
2018
publisher
Canelo
Sourcebooks
Sourcebooks Inc
Sourcebooks Landmark
Tantor Media, Inc
recordtype
grouped_work
series
Kitty Weeks mysteries
series_with_volume
Kitty Weeks mysteries|1
subject_facet
Detective and mystery fiction
Electronic books
Historical fiction
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction
Mystery fiction
Women -- Fiction
Women journalists -- United States -- Fiction
World War, 1914-1918 -- United States -- Fiction
title_display
A front page affair
title_full
A Front Page Affair
A Front Page Affair : A Kitty Weeks Mystery [electronic resource] / Radha Vatsal
A Front Page Affair [electronic resource] / Radha Vatsal
A front page affair / Radha Vatsal
title_short
A front page affair
topic_facet
Electronic books
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Investigation
Murder
Mystery
Women
Women journalists
World War, 1914-1918

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
hoopla:MWT12070411Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12070411?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
hoopla:MWT15748540Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/15748540?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
overdrive:58760b8c-32b2-4b8a-a7a2-5cc1b6ab0a7c-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
hoopla:MWT11620329Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11620329?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
ils:.b24167617.i73929086CentralMYSTERY Vatsal, R.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT12070411eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishTantor Media, Inc20181 online resource (1 audio file (7hr., 31 min.)) : digital.
hoopla:MWT15748540eBookeBookEnglishCanelo20161 online resource (313 pages)
overdrive:58760b8c-32b2-4b8a-a7a2-5cc1b6ab0a7ceBookeBookEnglishSourcebooks2016
hoopla:MWT11620329eBookeBookEnglishSourcebooks Inc20161 online resource (336 pages)
ils:.b24167617BookBooksEnglishSourcebooks Landmark[2016]328 pages ; 21 cm

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT12070411Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT15748540Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:58760b8c-32b2-4b8a-a7a2-5cc1b6ab0a7c-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT11620329Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24167617.i73929086On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011