We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The Orphan Choir

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2014
Language:
English
Description
"Louise Beeston is haunted... Louise has no reason left to stay in the city. She can't see her son, Joseph, who is away at boarding school where he performs in a prestigious boys' choir. And her troublesome neighbor has begun blasting choral music all hours of the night. And to make matters worse, she's the only one who can hear it. Hoping to find some peace, Louise convinces her husband, David, to buy them a country house in an idyllic, sun-dappled community called Swallowfield. But it seems that the haunting melodies of the choir have followed her there. Could it be that her city neighbor has trailed her to Swallowfield, just to play an elaborate, malicious prank? Is there really a ghostly chorus playing outside her door? And why won't they stop? Growing desperate, she begins to worry about her mental health. Against the pleas and growing disquiet of her husband, Louise starts to suspect that this sinister choir is not only real, but a warning. But of what? And how can it be, when no one else can hear it? In The Orphan Choir, Sophie Hannah brings us along on a darkly suspenseful investigation of obsession, loss, and the malevolent forces that threaten to break apart a loving family. - The Orphan Choir was a major bestseller in the U.K. when it published in June 2013, outselling Hannah's immensely popular Zailer and Waterhouse series. - For fans of Shirley Jackson and Stephen King "--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781250041029
9781629233772
9781250041036
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID607fb1c7-dbec-a741-3bbc-7617485d85ae
Grouping Titleorphan choir
Grouping Authorsophie hannah
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-02-27 02:25:04AM
Last Indexed2024-02-26 02:59:50AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Shelbourne-Timm, Rebecca
author
Hannah, Sophie, 1971-
author2-role
Shelbourne-Timm, Rebecca,reader
hoopla digital
author_display
Hannah, Sophie
available_at_catalog
Arcade
Central
Martin Luther King Jr.
McKinley
North Highlands-Antelope
Southgate
Valley Hi-North Laguna
detailed_location_catalog
Arcade
Central
Martin Luther King, Jr.
McKinley
North Highlands-Antelope
Southgate
Valley Hi-North Laguna
display_description
"Louise Beeston is haunted... Louise has no reason left to stay in the city. She can't see her son, Joseph, who is away at boarding school where he performs in a prestigious boys' choir. And her troublesome neighbor has begun blasting choral music all hours of the night. And to make matters worse, she's the only one who can hear it. Hoping to find some peace, Louise convinces her husband, David, to buy them a country house in an idyllic, sun-dappled community called Swallowfield. But it seems that the haunting melodies of the choir have followed her there. Could it be that her city neighbor has trailed her to Swallowfield, just to play an elaborate, malicious prank? Is there really a ghostly chorus playing outside her door? And why won't they stop? Growing desperate, she begins to worry about her mental health. Against the pleas and growing disquiet of her husband, Louise starts to suspect that this sinister choir is not only real, but a warning. But of what? And how can it be, when no one else can hear it? In The Orphan Choir, Sophie Hannah brings us along on a darkly suspenseful investigation of obsession, loss, and the malevolent forces that threaten to break apart a loving family. - The Orphan Choir was a major bestseller in the U.K. when it published in June 2013, outselling Hannah's immensely popular Zailer and Waterhouse series. - For fans of Shirley Jackson and Stephen King "--
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
607fb1c7-dbec-a741-3bbc-7617485d85ae
isbn
9781250041029
9781250041036
9781629233772
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2024-02-26T10:59:50.629Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Hannah, S.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Arcade
Central
Martin Luther King Jr.
McKinley
North Highlands-Antelope
Southgate
Valley Hi-North Laguna
primary_isbn
9781250041029
publishDate
2014
publisher
Dreamscape Media
Picador
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Detective and mystery fiction
Electronic books
Fiction
Horror fiction
Psychological fiction
Psychological fiction -- Fiction
Suspense fiction
Thrillers (Fiction)
title_display
The Orphan Choir
title_full
The Orphan Choir / Sophie Hannah
The Orphan Choir : A Novel [electronic resource] / Sophie Hannah
The Orphan Choir : a novel [electronic resource] / Sophie Hannah
The Orphan Choir A Novel
title_short
The Orphan Choir
topic_facet
Electronic books
Fiction
Horror
Psychological fiction
Suspense
Thriller

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
hoopla:MWT11053726Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11053726?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
overdrive:b302206c-dded-4b2a-b2c5-9a7ebffe84cb-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
ils:.b22376434.i69192029Martin Luther King, Jr.FICTION Hannah, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfkinag
ils:.b22376434.i69192054McKinleyFICTION Hannah, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfmckag
ils:.b22376434.i69191918North Highlands-AntelopeFICTION Hannah, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfnhiag
ils:.b22376434.i69191943SouthgateFICTION Hannah, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfsouag
ils:.b22376434.i69192042Valley Hi-North LagunaFICTION Hannah, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfvalag
ils:.b22376434.i69191967ArcadeFICTION Hannah, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfarcag
ils:.b22376434.i69192030CentralFICTION Hannah, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
hoopla:MWT16170044Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13977493?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT11053726eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishDreamscape Media20141 online resource (1 audio file (6hr., 31 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:b302206c-dded-4b2a-b2c5-9a7ebffe84cbeBookeBookEnglishPicador2014
ils:.b22376434BookBooksFirst U.S. editionEnglishPicador2014273 pages ; 22 cm
hoopla:MWT16170044eBookeBookEnglishPicador20141 online resource (288 pages)

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT11053726Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:b302206c-dded-4b2a-b2c5-9a7ebffe84cb-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b22376434.i69192029On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b22376434.i69192054On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b22376434.i69191918On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b22376434.i69191943On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b22376434.i69192042On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b22376434.i69191967On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b22376434.i69192030On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
hoopla:MWT16170044Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse