We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

A stone of hope: a memoir

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for A stone of hope

Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Publication Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English

Description

In the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and Just Mercy, a searing memoir and clarion call to save our at-risk youth by a young black man who himself was a lost cause—until he landed in a rehabilitation program that saved his life and gave him purpose.

Born into abject poverty in Haiti, young Jim St. Germain moved to Brooklyn's Crown Heights, into an overcrowded apartment with his family. He quickly adapted to street life and began stealing, dealing drugs, and growing increasingly indifferent to despair and violence. By the time he was arrested for dealing crack cocaine, he had been handcuffed more than a dozen times. At the age of fifteen the walls of the system were closing around him.

But instead of prison, St. Germain was placed in "Boys Town," a nonsecure detention facility designed for rehabilitation. Surrounded by mentors and positive male authority who enforced a system based on structure and privileges rather than intimidation and punishment, St. Germain slowly found his way, eventually getting his GED and graduating from college. Then he made the bravest decision of his life: to live, as an adult, in the projects where he had lost himself, and to work to reform the way the criminal justice system treats at-risk youth.

A Stone of Hope is more than an incredible coming-of-age story; told with a degree of candor that requires the deepest courage, it is also a rallying cry. No one is who they are going to be—or capable of being—at sixteen. St. Germain is living proof of this. He contends that we must work to build a world in which we do not give up on a swath of the next generation.

Passionate, eloquent, and timely, illustrated with photographs throughout, A Stone of Hope is an inspiring challenge for every American, and is certain to spark debate nationwide.

Also in This Series

More Like This

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

ISBN:
9780062458797
9780062458810

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID6074f058-d983-2224-0549-e5d12926126f
Grouping Titlestone of hope
Grouping Authorjim st germain
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-06-18 02:11:19AM
Last Indexed2024-06-18 02:23:35AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Sternfeld, Jon
author
St. Germain, Jim
author2-role
Sternfeld, Jon,author
author_display
St. Germain, Jim
available_at_catalog
Carmichael
detailed_location_catalog
Carmichael
display_description

In the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and Just Mercy, a searing memoir and clarion call to save our at-risk youth by a young black man who himself was a lost cause—until he landed in a rehabilitation program that saved his life and gave him purpose.

Born into abject poverty in Haiti, young Jim St. Germain moved to Brooklyn's Crown Heights, into an overcrowded apartment with his family. He quickly adapted to street life and began stealing, dealing drugs, and growing increasingly indifferent to despair and violence. By the time he was arrested for dealing crack cocaine, he had been handcuffed more than a dozen times. At the age of fifteen the walls of the system were closing around him.

But instead of prison, St. Germain was placed in "Boys Town," a nonsecure detention facility designed for rehabilitation. Surrounded by mentors and positive male authority who enforced a system based on structure and privileges rather than intimidation and punishment, St. Germain slowly found his way, eventually getting his GED and graduating from college. Then he made the bravest decision of his life: to live, as an adult, in the projects where he had lost himself, and to work to reform the way the criminal justice system treats at-risk youth.

A Stone of Hope is more than an incredible coming-of-age story; told with a degree of candor that requires the deepest courage, it is also a rallying cry. No one is who they are going to be—or capable of being—at sixteen. St. Germain is living proof of this. He contends that we must work to build a world in which we do not give up on a swath of the next generation.

Passionate, eloquent, and timely, illustrated with photographs throughout, A Stone of Hope is an inspiring challenge for every American, and is certain to spark debate nationwide.

format_catalog
Book
eBook
format_category_catalog
Books
eBook
id
6074f058-d983-2224-0549-e5d12926126f
isbn
9780062458797
9780062458810
itype_catalog
Adult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed
2024-06-18T09:23:35.184Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
353.48 S774 2017
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Carmichael
primary_isbn
9780062458797
publishDate
2017
publisher
Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers
HarperCollins
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
African American social reformers -- United States
Social advocacy -- United States
St. Germain, Jim
title_display
A stone of hope : a memoir
title_full
A Stone of Hope A Memoir
A stone of hope : a memoir / Jim St. Germain, with Jon Sternfeld
title_short
A stone of hope
title_sub
a memoir
topic_facet
African American social reformers
Biography & Autobiography
Nonfiction
Politics
Social advocacy
St. Germain, Jim

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocationCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:1f99fe5a-1597-4d64-be2f-d99d263378d5-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
ils:.b24875569.i76301242Carmichael353.48 S774 20171falsefalseOn Shelfcarag

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:1f99fe5a-1597-4d64-be2f-d99d263378d5eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2017
ils:.b24875569BookBooksFirst editionEnglishHarper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers[2017]x, 292 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:1f99fe5a-1597-4d64-be2f-d99d263378d5-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24875569.i76301242On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011