We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Flyover lives: a memoir

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2014
Language:
English
Description
"From the New York Times bestselling author of Le Divorce, a dazzling meditation on the mysteries of the "wispy but material" family ghosts who shape us. Growing up in the small river town of Moline, Illinois, Diane Johnson always dreamed of floating down the Mississippi and off to see the world. Years later, at home in France, a French friend teases her: 'Indifference to history--that's why you Americans seem so naive and don't really know where you're from.' The j'accuse stayed with Johnson. Were Americans indifferent to history? Her own family seemed always to have been in the Midwest. Surely they had got there from somewhere? In digging around, she discovers letters and memoirs written by generations of stalwart pioneer ancestors that testify to more complex times than the derisive nickname 'The Flyover' gives the region credit for. With the acuity and sympathy that her novels are known for, she captures the magnetic pull of home against our lust for escape and self-invention. This spellbinding memoir will appeal to fans of Bill Bryson, Patricia Hampl, and Annie Dillard"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780670016402
9780698137486
9780142181249
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID5e1893bb-1970-915e-1937-c269562c87b6
Grouping Titleflyover lives
Grouping Authordiane johnson
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-08-08 02:08:34AM
Last Indexed2022-08-08 02:50:02AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Johnson, Diane, 1934-
author_display
Johnson, Diane
available_at_catalog
Carmichael
Central
North Highlands-Antelope
Orangevale
Southgate
detailed_location_catalog
Carmichael
Central
North Highlands-Antelope
Orangevale
Rio Linda
Southgate
display_description
"From the New York Times bestselling author of Le Divorce, a dazzling meditation on the mysteries of the "wispy but material" family ghosts who shape us. Growing up in the small river town of Moline, Illinois, Diane Johnson always dreamed of floating down the Mississippi and off to see the world. Years later, at home in France, a French friend teases her: 'Indifference to history--that's why you Americans seem so naive and don't really know where you're from.' The j'accuse stayed with Johnson. Were Americans indifferent to history? Her own family seemed always to have been in the Midwest. Surely they had got there from somewhere? In digging around, she discovers letters and memoirs written by generations of stalwart pioneer ancestors that testify to more complex times than the derisive nickname 'The Flyover' gives the region credit for. With the acuity and sympathy that her novels are known for, she captures the magnetic pull of home against our lust for escape and self-invention. This spellbinding memoir will appeal to fans of Bill Bryson, Patricia Hampl, and Annie Dillard"--
format_catalog
Book
eBook
format_category_catalog
Books
eBook
id
5e1893bb-1970-915e-1937-c269562c87b6
isbn
9780142181249
9780670016402
9780698137486
itype_catalog
Adult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed
2022-08-08T09:50:02.724Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
813.54 J66 2014
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Carmichael
Central
North Highlands-Antelope
Orangevale
Rio Linda
Southgate
primary_isbn
9780670016402
publishDate
2014
publisher
Penguin Publishing Group
Viking
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Home -- Middle West
Johnson, Diane, -- 1934- -- Family
Middle West -- Biography
Middle West -- Social life and customs
Moline (Ill.) -- Biography
Novelists, American -- Biography
Pioneers -- Middle West -- Biography
title_display
Flyover lives : a memoir
title_full
Flyover Lives A Memoir
Flyover lives : a memoir / Diane Johnson
title_short
Flyover lives
title_sub
a memoir
topic_facet
Biography & Autobiography
Family
Home
Johnson, Diane
Nonfiction
Novelists, American
Pioneers
Social life and customs

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b22444749.i69115886Rio Linda813.54 J66 20141falsefalseOn Holdshelfrioag
ils:.b22444749.i69115904Carmichael813.54 J66 20141falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
ils:.b22444749.i69115849North Highlands-Antelope813.54 J66 20141falsefalseOn Shelfnhiag
ils:.b22444749.i69115916Southgate813.54 J66 20141falsefalseOn Shelfsouag
ils:.b22444749.i69115928Orangevale813.54 J66 20141falsefalseOn Shelforaag
ils:.b22444749.i69115862Carmichael813.54 J66 20141falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
ils:.b22444749.i69115837Central813.54 J66 20141falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
overdrive:8e7e08e5-c869-413d-8e70-fac168a5e35a-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b22444749BookBooksEnglishViking2014xviii, 263 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
overdrive:8e7e08e5-c869-413d-8e70-fac168a5e35aeBookeBookEnglishPenguin Publishing Group2014

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b22444749.i69115886Checked OutOn Holdshelffalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b22444749.i69115904On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b22444749.i69115849On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b22444749.i69115916On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b22444749.i69115928On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b22444749.i69115862On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b22444749.i69115837On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
overdrive:8e7e08e5-c869-413d-8e70-fac168a5e35a-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse