We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Bad city: peril and power in the City of Angels

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2022
Language:
English
Description
"For fans of Spotlight and Catch and Kill comes a nonfiction thriller about corruption and betrayal radiating across Los Angeles from one of the region's most powerful institutions, a riveting tale from a Pulitzer-prize winning journalist who investigated the shocking events and helped bring justice in the face of formidable odds. On a cool, overcast afternoon in April 2016, a salacious tip arrived at the L.A. Times that reporter Paul Pringle thought should have taken, at most, a few weeks to check out: a drug overdose at a fancy hotel involving one of the University of Southern California's shiniest stars-Dr. Carmen Puliafito, the head of the prestigious medical school. Pringle, who'd long done battle with USC and its almost impenetrable culture of silence, knew reporting the story wouldn't be a walk in the park. USC is the largest private employer in the city of L.A., and it casts a long shadow. But what he couldn't have foreseen was that this tip would lead to the unveiling of not one major scandal at USC but two, wrapped in a web of crimes and cover-ups. The rot rooted out by Pringle and his colleagues at The Times would creep closer to home than they could have imagined-spilling into their own newsroom. Packed with details never before disclosed, Pringle goes behind the scenes to reveal how he and his fellow reporters triumphed over the city's debased institutions, in a narrative that reads like L.A. noir. This is L.A. at its darkest and investigative journalism at its brightest"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781250824080
9781250824097
9781250856586
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID5c3e7e64-306d-9d9c-2a6e-ffbbaf739326
Grouping Titlebad city peril and power in the city of angels
Grouping Authorpaul pringle
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-05-25 02:14:20AM
Last Indexed2024-05-25 03:04:33AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Petkoff, Robert
author
Pringle, Paul
author2-role
Petkoff, Robert,reader
hoopla digital
author_display
Pringle, Paul
available_at_catalog
Arcade
Carmichael
Central
Fair Oaks
North Highlands-Antelope
North Natomas
Pocket-Greenhaven
detailed_location_catalog
Arcade
Carmichael
Central
Fair Oaks
North Highlands-Antelope
North Natomas
Pocket-Greenhaven
display_description
"For fans of Spotlight and Catch and Kill comes a nonfiction thriller about corruption and betrayal radiating across Los Angeles from one of the region's most powerful institutions, a riveting tale from a Pulitzer-prize winning journalist who investigated the shocking events and helped bring justice in the face of formidable odds. On a cool, overcast afternoon in April 2016, a salacious tip arrived at the L.A. Times that reporter Paul Pringle thought should have taken, at most, a few weeks to check out: a drug overdose at a fancy hotel involving one of the University of Southern California's shiniest stars-Dr. Carmen Puliafito, the head of the prestigious medical school. Pringle, who'd long done battle with USC and its almost impenetrable culture of silence, knew reporting the story wouldn't be a walk in the park. USC is the largest private employer in the city of L.A., and it casts a long shadow. But what he couldn't have foreseen was that this tip would lead to the unveiling of not one major scandal at USC but two, wrapped in a web of crimes and cover-ups. The rot rooted out by Pringle and his colleagues at The Times would creep closer to home than they could have imagined-spilling into their own newsroom. Packed with details never before disclosed, Pringle goes behind the scenes to reveal how he and his fellow reporters triumphed over the city's debased institutions, in a narrative that reads like L.A. noir. This is L.A. at its darkest and investigative journalism at its brightest"--
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
5c3e7e64-306d-9d9c-2a6e-ffbbaf739326
isbn
9781250824080
9781250824097
9781250856586
itype_catalog
Adult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed
2024-05-25T10:04:33.670Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
362.29 P981zp 2022
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Arcade
Carmichael
Central
Fair Oaks
North Highlands-Antelope
North Natomas
Pocket-Greenhaven
primary_isbn
9781250824080
publishDate
2022
publisher
Celadon Books
Macmillan Audio
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Biographies
Corruption -- California -- Los Angeles -- Case studies
Drug abuse -- California -- Los Angeles -- Case studies
Editors
Investigative reporting -- California -- Los Angeles -- Case studies
Journalists
Puliafito, Carmen A., -- 1951- -- Drug use
Universities and colleges -- Corrupt practices -- California -- Los Angeles -- Case studies
University of Southern California -- Corrupt practices -- Case studies
White collar crimes
title_display
Bad city : peril and power in the City of Angels
title_full
Bad City : peril and power in the City of Angels [electronic resource] / Paul Pringle
Bad City Peril and Power in the City of Angels
Bad city : peril and power in the City of Angels / Paul Pringle
title_short
Bad city
title_sub
peril and power in the City of Angels
topic_facet
Biography & Autobiography
Corrupt practices
Corruption
Drug abuse
Drug use
Editors
Investigative reporting
Journalists
Nonfiction
Puliafito, Carmen A
True Crime
Universities and colleges
White collar crimes

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:92986299-5b4c-4ee9-ab5e-22762654660b-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books5falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:432168db-0949-45b2-89b6-b9edcaada617-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook5falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
ils:.b27181789.i87435366North Natomas362.29 P981zp 20221falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
ils:.b27181789.i87626718Arcade362.29 P981zp 20221falsefalseOn Shelfarcag
ils:.b27181789.i87435378Fair Oaks362.29 P981zp 20221falsefalseOn Shelffaiag
ils:.b27181789.i87626706Pocket-Greenhaven362.29 P981zp 20221falsefalseOn Shelfpocag
ils:.b27181789.i88825541Folsom Adult362.29 PRI 20221falsefalseOn Shelffola
ils:.b27181789.i87435354Central362.29 P981zp 20221falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b27181789.i87435391North Highlands-Antelope362.29 P981zp 20221falsefalseOn Shelfnhiag
ils:.b27181789.i8743538xCarmichael362.29 P981zp 20221falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
hoopla:MWT16056787Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/14508435?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:92986299-5b4c-4ee9-ab5e-22762654660beAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishMacmillan Audio2022
overdrive:432168db-0949-45b2-89b6-b9edcaada617eBookeBookEnglishCeladon Books2022
ils:.b27181789BookBooksFirst editionEnglishCeladon Books2022viii, 289 pages ; 25 cm
hoopla:MWT16056787eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishMacmillan Audio20221 online resource (1 audio file (9hr., 49 min.)) : digital.

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:92986299-5b4c-4ee9-ab5e-22762654660b-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:432168db-0949-45b2-89b6-b9edcaada617-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b27181789.i87435366On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b27181789.i87626718On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b27181789.i87435378On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b27181789.i87626706On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b27181789.i88825541On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b27181789.i87435354On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b27181789.i87435391On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b27181789.i8743538xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
hoopla:MWT16056787Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse