Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The eight mountains: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2018.
Language:
English
Description
"For fans of Elena Ferrante, Fredrik Backman, and Paulo Coelho comes the international sensation about the friendship between two young Italian boys from different backgrounds and how their incredibly strong connection evolves, changes, and challenges them throughout their lives. Pietro is a lonely boy living in Milan. With his parents becoming more distant each day, the only thing the family shares is their love for the Dolomites, the mountains that hug the northeastern border of Italy. While on vacation at the foot of the mountains, Pietro meets Bruno, an adventurous, spirited local boy. Together they spend many summers exploring the mountain's meadows and peaks and discover the similarities and differences in their lives, their backgrounds, and their futures. The two boys come to find the true meaning of friendship and camaraderie, even as their divergent paths in life-- Bruno's in the mountains, Pietro's in cosmopolitan cities across the world--test the strength and meaning of their connection. A modern Italian masterpiece, The Eight Mountains is a lyrical coming-of-age story about the power of male friendships and the enduring bond between fathers and sons. "There are no more universal themes than those of the landscape, friendship, and becoming adults, and Cognetti's writing becomes classical (and elegant) to best tell this story.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781501169885
9781508254928
9781501169908
9781508254942
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID56d4d134-6eb9-d7eb-f949-accd2d00794f
Grouping Titleeight mountains
Grouping Authorpaolo cognetti
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-02-27 02:28:01AM
Last Indexed2021-02-27 04:00:31AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Carnell, Simon, 1962-
Roy, Jacques,
Segre, Erica,
authorPaolo Cognetti
author2-roleCarnell, Simon,1962-translator.
Roy, Jacques,Narrator.
Segre, Erica,translator.
hoopla digital.
author_displayCognetti, Paolo
available_at_catalogCentral
Isleton
Martin Luther King Jr.
McKinley
detailed_location_catalogArden-Dimick
Central
Isleton
Martin Luther King, Jr.
McKinley
display_description"For fans of Elena Ferrante, Fredrik Backman, and Paulo Coelho comes the international sensation about the friendship between two young Italian boys from different backgrounds and how their incredibly strong connection evolves, changes, and challenges them throughout their lives. Pietro is a lonely boy living in Milan. With his parents becoming more distant each day, the only thing the family shares is their love for the Dolomites, the mountains that hug the northeastern border of Italy. While on vacation at the foot of the mountains, Pietro meets Bruno, an adventurous, spirited local boy. Together they spend many summers exploring the mountain's meadows and peaks and discover the similarities and differences in their lives, their backgrounds, and their futures. The two boys come to find the true meaning of friendship and camaraderie, even as their divergent paths in life-- Bruno's in the mountains, Pietro's in cosmopolitan cities across the world--test the strength and meaning of their connection. A modern Italian masterpiece, The Eight Mountains is a lyrical coming-of-age story about the power of male friendships and the enduring bond between fathers and sons. "There are no more universal themes than those of the landscape, friendship, and becoming adults, and Cognetti's writing becomes classical (and elegant) to best tell this story.
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id56d4d134-6eb9-d7eb-f949-accd2d00794f
isbn9781501169885
9781501169908
9781508254928
9781508254942
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b25402298.i77851894McKinleyFICTION Cognetti, P.1falsefalseOn Shelfmckag
ils:.b25402298.i77851900Arden-DimickFICTION Cognetti, P.1falsefalseDue Mar 6, 2021ardag
ils:.b25402298.i77851912CentralFICTION Cognetti, P.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b25402298.i77851948IsletonFICTION Cognetti, P.1falsefalseOn Shelfislag
ils:.b25402298.i77851924Martin Luther King, Jr.FICTION Cognetti, P.1falsefalseOn Shelfkinag
overdrive:f92a04e3-95a1-4c43-94b2-46665fa028ab-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:246a24b1-54df-4dca-afe3-12d7bb3ad1f2-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT12469887Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12469887?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-02-27T12:00:31.799Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Cognetti, P.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogArden-Dimick
Central
Isleton
Martin Luther King Jr.
McKinley
primary_isbn9781501169885
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b25402298BookBooksFirst Atria Books hardcover edition.EnglishAtria Books, 2018.215 pages ; 22 cm
overdrive:f92a04e3-95a1-4c43-94b2-46665fa028abeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishSimon & Schuster Audio2018
overdrive:246a24b1-54df-4dca-afe3-12d7bb3ad1f2eBookeBookEnglishAtria Books2018
hoopla:MWT12469887eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishSimon & Schuster Audio, 2018.1 online resource (1 audio file (6hr., 25 min.)) : digital.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b25402298.i77851894On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25402298.i77851900Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25402298.i77851912On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25402298.i77851948On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25402298.i77851924On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
overdrive:f92a04e3-95a1-4c43-94b2-46665fa028ab-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:246a24b1-54df-4dca-afe3-12d7bb3ad1f2-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT12469887Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetItaly -- Fiction
Male friendship -- Fiction
title_displayThe eight mountains : a novel
title_fullThe Eight Mountains A Novel
The eight mountains : a novel / Paolo Cognetti ; translated by Simon Carnell and Erica Segre
The eight mountains : a novel [electronic resource] / Paolo Cognetti
title_shortThe eight mountains
title_suba novel
topic_facetFiction
Literature
Male friendship