We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The eight mountains: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2018
Language:
English
Description
"For fans of Elena Ferrante, Fredrik Backman, and Paulo Coelho comes the international sensation about the friendship between two young Italian boys from different backgrounds and how their incredibly strong connection evolves, changes, and challenges them throughout their lives. Pietro is a lonely boy living in Milan. With his parents becoming more distant each day, the only thing the family shares is their love for the Dolomites, the mountains that hug the northeastern border of Italy. While on vacation at the foot of the mountains, Pietro meets Bruno, an adventurous, spirited local boy. Together they spend many summers exploring the mountain's meadows and peaks and discover the similarities and differences in their lives, their backgrounds, and their futures. The two boys come to find the true meaning of friendship and camaraderie, even as their divergent paths in life-- Bruno's in the mountains, Pietro's in cosmopolitan cities across the world--test the strength and meaning of their connection. A modern Italian masterpiece, The Eight Mountains is a lyrical coming-of-age story about the power of male friendships and the enduring bond between fathers and sons. "There are no more universal themes than those of the landscape, friendship, and becoming adults, and Cognetti's writing becomes classical (and elegant) to best tell this story.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781501169885
9781508254928
9781501169908
9781508254942
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID56d4d134-6eb9-d7eb-f949-accd2d00794f
Grouping Titleeight mountains
Grouping Authorpaolo cognetti
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-08-07 03:21:03AM
Last Indexed2022-08-07 03:53:00AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Carnell, Simon, 1962-
Roy, Jacques
Segre, Erica
author
Cognetti, Paolo, 1978-
author2-role
Carnell, Simon,1962-translator
Roy, Jacques,Narrator
Segre, Erica,translator
hoopla digital
author_display
Cognetti, Paolo
available_at_catalog
Carmichael
Martin Luther King Jr.
South Natomas
Valley Hi-North Laguna
detailed_location_catalog
Carmichael
Central
Martin Luther King, Jr.
South Natomas
Valley Hi-North Laguna
display_description
"For fans of Elena Ferrante, Fredrik Backman, and Paulo Coelho comes the international sensation about the friendship between two young Italian boys from different backgrounds and how their incredibly strong connection evolves, changes, and challenges them throughout their lives. Pietro is a lonely boy living in Milan. With his parents becoming more distant each day, the only thing the family shares is their love for the Dolomites, the mountains that hug the northeastern border of Italy. While on vacation at the foot of the mountains, Pietro meets Bruno, an adventurous, spirited local boy. Together they spend many summers exploring the mountain's meadows and peaks and discover the similarities and differences in their lives, their backgrounds, and their futures. The two boys come to find the true meaning of friendship and camaraderie, even as their divergent paths in life-- Bruno's in the mountains, Pietro's in cosmopolitan cities across the world--test the strength and meaning of their connection. A modern Italian masterpiece, The Eight Mountains is a lyrical coming-of-age story about the power of male friendships and the enduring bond between fathers and sons. "There are no more universal themes than those of the landscape, friendship, and becoming adults, and Cognetti's writing becomes classical (and elegant) to best tell this story.
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
56d4d134-6eb9-d7eb-f949-accd2d00794f
isbn
9781501169885
9781501169908
9781508254928
9781508254942
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2022-08-07T10:53:00.452Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Cognetti, P.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Carmichael
Central
Martin Luther King Jr.
South Natomas
Valley Hi-North Laguna
primary_isbn
9781501169885
publishDate
2018
publisher
Atria Books
Simon & Schuster Audio
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Italy -- Fiction
Male friendship -- Fiction
title_display
The eight mountains : a novel
title_full
The Eight Mountains A Novel
The eight mountains : a novel / Paolo Cognetti ; translated by Simon Carnell and Erica Segre
The eight mountains : a novel [electronic resource] / Paolo Cognetti
title_short
The eight mountains
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Fiction
Literature
Male friendship

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b25402298.i77851894South NatomasFICTION Cognetti, P.1falsefalseOn Shelfnatag
ils:.b25402298.i77851900CarmichaelFICTION Cognetti, P.1falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
ils:.b25402298.i77851948Valley Hi-North LagunaFICTION Cognetti, P.1falsefalseOn Shelfvalag
ils:.b25402298.i77851912CentralFICTION Cognetti, P.1falsefalseDue Aug 18, 2022cenag
ils:.b25402298.i77851924Martin Luther King, Jr.FICTION Cognetti, P.1falsefalseOn Shelfkinag
overdrive:f92a04e3-95a1-4c43-94b2-46665fa028ab-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
overdrive:246a24b1-54df-4dca-afe3-12d7bb3ad1f2-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
hoopla:MWT12469887Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12469887?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b25402298BookBooksFirst Atria Books hardcover editionEnglishAtria Books2018215 pages ; 22 cm
overdrive:f92a04e3-95a1-4c43-94b2-46665fa028abeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishSimon & Schuster Audio2018
overdrive:246a24b1-54df-4dca-afe3-12d7bb3ad1f2eBookeBookEnglishAtria Books2018
hoopla:MWT12469887eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishSimon & Schuster Audio20181 online resource (1 audio file (6hr., 25 min.)) : digital.

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b25402298.i77851894On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25402298.i77851900On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25402298.i77851948On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25402298.i77851912Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25402298.i77851924On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
overdrive:f92a04e3-95a1-4c43-94b2-46665fa028ab-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:246a24b1-54df-4dca-afe3-12d7bb3ad1f2-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT12469887Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse