Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The book of Isaias: a child of Hispanic immigrants seeks his own America

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
St. Martin's Press,
Pub. Date:
2016.
Language:
English
Description
"In a green town in the middle of America, a bright 18-year-old Hispanic student named Isaias Ramos sets out on the journey to college. Isaias, who passed a prestigious national calculus test as a junior and leads the quiz bowl team, is the hope of Kingsbury High in Memphis, a school where many students have difficulty reading. But Kingsbury's dysfunction, expensive college fees, and forms printed in a language that's foreign to his parents are all obstacles in the way of getting him to a university. Isaias also doubts the value of college and says he might go to work in his family's painting business after high school, despite his academic potential. Is Isaias making a rational choice? Or does he simply hope to avoid pain by deferring dreams that may not come to fruition? This is what journalist Daniel Connolly attempts to uncover in The Book of Isaias as he follows Isaias, peers into a tumultuous final year of high school, and, eventually, shows how adults intervene in the hopes of changing Isaias' life. Mexican immigration has brought the proportion of Hispanics in the nation's youth population to roughly one in four. Every day, children of immigrants make decisions about their lives that will shape our society and economy for generations. In the tradition of Friday Night Lights and A Hope in the Unseen, this engaging, poignant book captures an American microcosm and illustrates broader challenges for our collective future"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781250083067
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID4dba9337-4d35-12f8-bb25-befbe2e10853
Grouping Titlebook of isaias a child of hispanic immigrants seeks his own america
Grouping Authordaniel connolly
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-02-27 02:28:01AM
Last Indexed2021-02-27 04:01:38AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781250083067

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorConnolly, Daniel,
author_displayConnolly, Daniel
available_at_catalogCentral
Elk Grove
North Natomas
detailed_location_catalogCentral
Elk Grove
North Natomas
display_description"In a green town in the middle of America, a bright 18-year-old Hispanic student named Isaias Ramos sets out on the journey to college. Isaias, who passed a prestigious national calculus test as a junior and leads the quiz bowl team, is the hope of Kingsbury High in Memphis, a school where many students have difficulty reading. But Kingsbury's dysfunction, expensive college fees, and forms printed in a language that's foreign to his parents are all obstacles in the way of getting him to a university. Isaias also doubts the value of college and says he might go to work in his family's painting business after high school, despite his academic potential. Is Isaias making a rational choice? Or does he simply hope to avoid pain by deferring dreams that may not come to fruition? This is what journalist Daniel Connolly attempts to uncover in The Book of Isaias as he follows Isaias, peers into a tumultuous final year of high school, and, eventually, shows how adults intervene in the hopes of changing Isaias' life. Mexican immigration has brought the proportion of Hispanics in the nation's youth population to roughly one in four. Every day, children of immigrants make decisions about their lives that will shape our society and economy for generations. In the tradition of Friday Night Lights and A Hope in the Unseen, this engaging, poignant book captures an American microcosm and illustrates broader challenges for our collective future"--
format_catalogBook
format_category_catalogBooks
id4dba9337-4d35-12f8-bb25-befbe2e10853
isbn9781250083067
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b24364782.i74707735Central305.2351 R175zc 20161falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b24364782.i74707747North Natomas305.2351 R175zc 20161falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
ils:.b24364782.i74707759Elk Grove305.2351 R175zc 20161falsefalseOn Shelfelkag
itype_catalogAdult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed2021-02-27T12:01:38.947Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog305.2351 R175zc 2016
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCentral
Elk Grove
North Natomas
primary_isbn9781250083067
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b24364782BookBooksEnglishSt. Martin's Press, 2016.viii, 258 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b24364782.i74707735On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24364782.i74707747On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24364782.i74707759On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
subject_facetBiographies
Children of immigrants -- United States -- Biography
Memphis (Tenn.) -- Biography
Mexican American students -- Biography
Minority college students -- United States -- Biography
Ramos, Isaias
Talented students -- United States -- Biography
title_displayThe book of Isaias : a child of Hispanic immigrants seeks his own America
title_fullThe book of Isaias : a child of Hispanic immigrants seeks his own America / Daniel Connolly
title_shortThe book of Isaias
title_suba child of Hispanic immigrants seeks his own America
topic_facetChildren of immigrants
Mexican American students
Minority college students
Ramos, Isaias
Talented students