We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Orient

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for Orient

Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Publication Date:
2015
Language:
English

Description

Suspenseful and haunting, Bollen's thrilling novel Orient is a provocative take on the troubled American dream, in the vein of Lionel Shriver or AM Homes. At the eastern edge of Long Island, far from the hustle of New York City, stands Orient, a village that has been home to a few families for hundreds of years and is now - reluctantly - opening up to wealthy weekenders and artists from the city. On the last day of summer, a young man with a hazy past appears, and not long after comes a series of events that shatters the peace in this isolated community. A strange, twisted creature washes ashore on the Sound and then a human corpse is found floating in the water. A woman dies in bizarre circumstances and a house fire erupts out of nowhere. Fear and suspicion mount until everyone's secrets threaten to be exposed. But who is Mills Chevern? What is his real name and why is he here? As all eyes shift towards the orphan drifter, Mills elicits the support of Beth Shepherd, an Orient native who is hiding a secret of her own.

Also in This Series

More Like This

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

ISBN:
9780062329950
9780062329974
9780062404862

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID48404a4b-f651-b988-0588-9e19ba078f6e
Grouping Titleorient
Grouping Authorchristopher bollen
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-06-21 22:30:39PM
Last Indexed2024-06-21 22:32:48PM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Rahhal, Michael
author
Bollen, Christopher, 1975-
author2-role
Rahhal, Michael,reader
hoopla digital
author_display
Bollen, Christopher
available_at_catalog
Central
Fair Oaks
detailed_location_catalog
Central
Fair Oaks
display_description
Suspenseful and haunting, Bollen's thrilling novel Orient is a provocative take on the troubled American dream, in the vein of Lionel Shriver or AM Homes. At the eastern edge of Long Island, far from the hustle of New York City, stands Orient, a village that has been home to a few families for hundreds of years and is now - reluctantly - opening up to wealthy weekenders and artists from the city. On the last day of summer, a young man with a hazy past appears, and not long after comes a series of events that shatters the peace in this isolated community. A strange, twisted creature washes ashore on the Sound and then a human corpse is found floating in the water. A woman dies in bizarre circumstances and a house fire erupts out of nowhere. Fear and suspicion mount until everyone's secrets threaten to be exposed. But who is Mills Chevern? What is his real name and why is he here? As all eyes shift towards the orphan drifter, Mills elicits the support of Beth Shepherd, an Orient native who is hiding a secret of her own.
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
48404a4b-f651-b988-0588-9e19ba078f6e
isbn
9780062329950
9780062329974
9780062404862
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2024-06-22T05:32:48.509Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Bollen, C.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Central
Fair Oaks
primary_isbn
9780062329950
publishDate
2015
publisher
HarperAudio
HarperCollins
HarperCollins Publishers
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Crime -- Fiction
Detective and mystery fiction
Drifters -- Fiction
Electronic books
Fiction
Islands -- New York (State) -- Fiction
Literature -- Fiction
Orient (N.Y.) -- Social life and customs -- Fiction
Secrecy -- Fiction
Suspense fiction
Thrillers (Fiction)
title_display
Orient
title_full
Orient / Christopher Bollen
Orient : a novel [electronic resource] / Christopher Bollen
Orient A Novel
Orient [electronic resource] / Christopher Bollen
title_short
Orient
topic_facet
Crime
Drifters
Electronic books
Fiction
Islands
Literature
Secrecy
Social life and customs
Suspense
Thriller

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocationCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
hoopla:MWT12373108Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12373108?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
hoopla:MWT11588853Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11588853?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
ils:.b23658228.i72066015Fair OaksFICTION Bollen, C.1falsefalseOn Shelffaiag
ils:.b23658228.i72065965CentralFICTION Bollen, C.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
overdrive:c850ed5c-4050-47f4-b3ef-39e3711268d0-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT12373108eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins Publishers20151 online resource (640 pages)
hoopla:MWT11588853eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishHarperAudio20151 online resource (1 audio file (21hr., 37 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b23658228BookBooksEnglishHarperCollins2015612 pages ; 24 cm.
overdrive:c850ed5c-4050-47f4-b3ef-39e3711268d0eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2015

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT12373108Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT11588853Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b23658228.i72066015On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b23658228.i72065965On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
overdrive:c850ed5c-4050-47f4-b3ef-39e3711268d0-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse