Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Orient: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2015.
Language:
English
Description
Suspenseful and haunting, Bollen's thrilling novel Orient is a provocative take on the troubled American dream, in the vein of Lionel Shriver or AM Homes. At the eastern edge of Long Island, far from the hustle of New York City, stands Orient, a village that has been home to a few families for hundreds of years and is now - reluctantly - opening up to wealthy weekenders and artists from the city. On the last day of summer, a young man with a hazy past appears, and not long after comes a series of events that shatters the peace in this isolated community. A strange, twisted creature washes ashore on the Sound and then a human corpse is found floating in the water. A woman dies in bizarre circumstances and a house fire erupts out of nowhere. Fear and suspicion mount until everyone's secrets threaten to be exposed. But who is Mills Chevern? What is his real name and why is he here? As all eyes shift towards the orphan drifter, Mills elicits the support of Beth Shepherd, an Orient native who is hiding a secret of her own.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780062329950
9780062329974
9780062404862
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID48404a4b-f651-b988-0588-9e19ba078f6e
Grouping Titleorient
Grouping Authorchristopher bollen
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-20 02:41:34AM
Last Indexed2020-10-20 03:06:57AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781504611022

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Rahhal, Michael,
authorBollen, Christopher.
author2-roleRahhal, Michael,narrator.
hoopla digital.
author_displayBollen, Christopher
available_at_catalogCentral
North Highlands-Antelope
North Natomas
detailed_location_catalogCentral
North Highlands-Antelope
North Natomas
display_descriptionSuspenseful and haunting, Bollen's thrilling novel Orient is a provocative take on the troubled American dream, in the vein of Lionel Shriver or AM Homes. At the eastern edge of Long Island, far from the hustle of New York City, stands Orient, a village that has been home to a few families for hundreds of years and is now - reluctantly - opening up to wealthy weekenders and artists from the city. On the last day of summer, a young man with a hazy past appears, and not long after comes a series of events that shatters the peace in this isolated community. A strange, twisted creature washes ashore on the Sound and then a human corpse is found floating in the water. A woman dies in bizarre circumstances and a house fire erupts out of nowhere. Fear and suspicion mount until everyone's secrets threaten to be exposed. But who is Mills Chevern? What is his real name and why is he here? As all eyes shift towards the orphan drifter, Mills elicits the support of Beth Shepherd, an Orient native who is hiding a secret of her own.
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id48404a4b-f651-b988-0588-9e19ba078f6e
isbn9780062329950
9780062329974
9780062404862
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT12373108Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12373108Available Online
hoopla:MWT11588853Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11588853?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b23658228.i73757986North Highlands-AntelopeFICTION Bollen, C.1falsefalseOn Shelfnhiag
ils:.b23658228.i72065965CentralFICTION Bollen, C.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b23658228.i72066015North NatomasFICTION Bollen, C.1falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
overdrive:c850ed5c-4050-47f4-b3ef-39e3711268d0-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2020-10-20T10:06:57.944Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Bollen, C.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCentral
North Highlands-Antelope
North Natomas
primary_isbn9780062329950
publishDate2015
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
hoopla:MWT12373108eBookeBookEnglishHarper Collins Publishers, 2015.1 online resource
hoopla:MWT11588853eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishHarperAudio, 2015.1 online resource (1 audio file (21hr., 38 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b23658228BookBooksEnglishHarperCollins2015.612 pages ; 24 cm.
overdrive:c850ed5c-4050-47f4-b3ef-39e3711268d0eBookeBookEnglishHarper2015
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT12373108Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT11588853Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b23658228.i73757986On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b23658228.i72065965On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b23658228.i72066015On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
overdrive:c850ed5c-4050-47f4-b3ef-39e3711268d0-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetDrifters -- Fiction
Electronic books
Islands -- New York (State) -- Fiction
Orient (N.Y.) -- Social life and customs -- Fiction
Secrecy -- Fiction
Suspense fiction
title_displayOrient
title_fullOrient / Christopher Bollen
Orient : a novel [electronic resource] / Christopher Bollen
Orient A Novel
Orient [electronic resource] / Christopher Bollen
title_shortOrient
title_suba novel
topic_facetDrifters
Electronic books
Fiction
Islands
Literature
Secrecy
Social life and customs
Suspense
Thriller